Federal Council commences work on implementing FATF recommendations

Bern, 18.04.2012 - At its meeting today, the Federal Council took note of and welcomed the revised international recommendations to combat financial crime. At the same time, the Federal Council appointed an interdepartmental working group under the leadership of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to draw up recommendations on implementing the revised recommendations of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and a consultation draft by the first quarter of 2013.

On 16 February 2012, the FATF approved a partial revision of the FATF standards on combating money laundering, terrorist financing and now also the financing of the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. Switzerland, which has been a member of the FATF since it was founded in 1989, was actively involved in the revisions.

The main changes are as follows:

  • Serious tax crimes will qualify as a predicate offence for money laundering
  • Clarification of the provisions on determining the beneficial owner of legal entities (in particular of legal entities with bearer shares) and trusts
  • Additional inclusion of domestic politically-exposed persons (PEPs) in the current recommendations
  • A new standard on implementing targeted financial sanctions within the scope of UN resolutions to prevent the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction
  • Establishment of the risk-based approach as the most efficient instrument for combating financial crime

The revised standards require modifications of the existing system in certain areas in Switzerland as well. The Federal Council has therefore appointed an interdepartmental working group under the leadership of the Federal Department of Finance to draw up a consultation draft by the start of 2013.

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) is the most important international body for cooperation against money laundering, terrorist financing and now the financing of the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. The task force was founded in 1989 in Paris. Its main task is to identify money laundering methods, terrorist financing and now the financing of weapons of mass destruction, to develop recommendations for effective countermeasures and to harmonise policies on combating money laundering at the international level by means of minimum requirements. 


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Communications, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters,
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-44173.html

Le Conseil fédéral lance les travaux de mise en œuvre des recommandations révisées du GAFI

Berne, 18.04.2012 - Lors de sa séance d'aujourd'hui, le Conseil fédéral a pris connaissance des recommandations révisées en matière de lutte internationale contre la criminalité financière et les a accueillies favorablement. Il a également institué un groupe de travail interdépartemental dirigé par le Département fédéral des finances (DFF). Ce groupe est chargé de présenter des propositions pour la mise en œuvre des recommandations révisées du Groupe d'action financière (GAFI) et d'élaborer un projet destiné à la consultation d'ici au premier trimestre 2013.

Le 16 février 2012, le GAFI a adopté une révision partielle de ses normes sur la lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux, le financement du terrorisme et désormais le financement de la prolifération des armes de destruction massive. Membre du GAFI depuis sa création en 1989, la Suisse a participé activement aux travaux de révision.

Les principales nouveautés sont les suivantes:

  • les infractions fiscales graves sont désormais considérées comme des infractions préalables au blanchiment d'argent;
  • les dispositions visant à déterminer l'ayant droit économique de personnes morales (notamment avec des actions au porteur) et de trusts ont été clarifiées;
  • les recommandations s'appliquent désormais aussi aux personnes politiquement exposées sur le plan national;
  • une nouvelle recommandation a été formulée concernant la mise en œuvre de sanctions financières ciblées dans le cadre de résolutions des Nations Unies en matière de lutte contre la prolifération d'armes de destruction massive;
  • l'approche fondée sur les risques a été renforcée afin de lutter encore plus efficacement contre la criminalité financière.

Les recommandations révisées exigent une adaptation du dispositif suisse dans certains domaines. Par conséquent, le Conseil fédéral a constitué un groupe de travail interdépartemental, placé sous la direction du DFF, et l'a chargé d'élaborer d'ici au début de 2013 un projet destiné à la consultation.

Le Groupe d'action financière (GAFI) est l'organisme international le plus important en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux, le financement du terrorisme et désormais aussi le financement de la prolifération des armes de destruction massive. Créé en 1989 à Paris, le GAFI a pour mission d'identifier les méthodes de blanchiment de capitaux, de financement du terrorisme et de financement de la prolifération des armes de destruction massive. En outre, il élabore des recommandations pour des contre-mesures efficaces et harmonise au niveau international la politique en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux en fixant des exigences minimales.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Mario Tuor, Communication du Secrétariat d'Etat aux questions financières internationales,
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-44173.html