Federal Council commences work on implementing FATF recommendations

Bern, 18.04.2012 - At its meeting today, the Federal Council took note of and welcomed the revised international recommendations to combat financial crime. At the same time, the Federal Council appointed an interdepartmental working group under the leadership of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to draw up recommendations on implementing the revised recommendations of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and a consultation draft by the first quarter of 2013.

On 16 February 2012, the FATF approved a partial revision of the FATF standards on combating money laundering, terrorist financing and now also the financing of the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. Switzerland, which has been a member of the FATF since it was founded in 1989, was actively involved in the revisions.

The main changes are as follows:

  • Serious tax crimes will qualify as a predicate offence for money laundering
  • Clarification of the provisions on determining the beneficial owner of legal entities (in particular of legal entities with bearer shares) and trusts
  • Additional inclusion of domestic politically-exposed persons (PEPs) in the current recommendations
  • A new standard on implementing targeted financial sanctions within the scope of UN resolutions to prevent the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction
  • Establishment of the risk-based approach as the most efficient instrument for combating financial crime

The revised standards require modifications of the existing system in certain areas in Switzerland as well. The Federal Council has therefore appointed an interdepartmental working group under the leadership of the Federal Department of Finance to draw up a consultation draft by the start of 2013.

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) is the most important international body for cooperation against money laundering, terrorist financing and now the financing of the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. The task force was founded in 1989 in Paris. Its main task is to identify money laundering methods, terrorist financing and now the financing of weapons of mass destruction, to develop recommendations for effective countermeasures and to harmonise policies on combating money laundering at the international level by means of minimum requirements. 


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Communications, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters,
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-44173.html

Bundesrat leitet Umsetzungsarbeiten der revidierten FATF-Empfehlungen ein

Bern, 18.04.2012 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner heutigen Sitzung die revidierten internationalen Empfehlungen zur Bekämpfung der Finanzkriminalität zur Kenntnis genommen und begrüsst. Gleichzeitig hat der Bundesrat eine interdepartementale Arbeitsgruppe unter der Leitung des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements (EFD) eingesetzt. Sie soll Vorschläge zur Umsetzung der revidierten Empfehlungen der Financial Action Task Force (FATF) machen und bis im ersten Quartal 2013 eine Vernehmlassungsvorlage ausarbeiten.

Die FATF hat am 16. Februar 2012 eine Teilrevision der Standards zur Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei, der Terrorismusfinanzierung und neu zur Bekämpfung der Finanzierung von Massenvernichtungswaffen verabschiedet. Die Schweiz, die der FATF seit deren Gründung 1989 angehört, beteiligte sich aktiv an den Revisionsarbeiten.

Wichtigste Neuerungen sind namentlich:

  •  die Qualifizierung von schweren Steuerdelikten als Vortat zur Geldwäscherei,
  • die Klärung der Bestimmungen zur Ermittlung des wirtschaftlich Berechtigten von juristischen Personen (insbesondere juristische Personen mit Inhaberaktien) und Trusts,
  • der Einschluss auch von inländischen politisch exponierten Personen (PEPs) in die bestehenden Empfehlungen,
  • ein neuer Standard über die Umsetzung von gezielten Finanzsanktionen im Rahmen der UNO-Resolutionen zur Verhinderung der Proliferation von Massenvernichtungswaffen sowie
  • die Verankerung des risiko-basierten Ansatzes als effizientestes Instrument zur Bekämpfung der Finanzkriminalität.

Die revidierten Standards erfordern auch in der Schweiz in gewissen Bereichen eine Anpassung des bestehenden Dispositivs. Der Bundesrat hat deshalb unter der Leitung des EFD eine interdepartementale Arbeitsgruppe eingesetzt mit dem Auftrag, bis Anfang 2013 eine Vernehmlassungsvorlage auszuarbeiten.

Die FATF (Financial Action Task Force) bzw. GAFI (Groupe d'action financière sur le blanchiment de capitaux) ist das wichtigste internationale Gremium für die Zusammenarbeit gegen die Geldwäscherei, die Terrorismusfinanzierung und neu die Finanzierung von Massenvernichtungswaffen. Diese Task Force wurde 1989 in Paris gegründet. Ihre Hauptaufgabe ist es, Methoden der Geldwäscherei, der Terrorismusfinanzierung und neu der Finanzierung von Massenvernichtungswaffen aufzudecken, Empfehlungen für wirksame Gegenmassnahmen zu entwickeln und die Politik zur Geldwäschereibekämpfung auf internationaler Ebene mittels Minimalanforderungen zu vereinheitlichen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Mario Tuor, Kommunikation Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen,
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-44173.html