Revised FATF recommendations: consultation results and follow-up work

Bern, 04.09.2013 - Today, the Federal Council took due note of the results of the consultation on the Federal Act for Implementing the revised Financial Action Task Force (FATF) recommendations of 2012. The aim of the new act is to enhance the fight against money laundering. The Federal Council has determined the direction to be taken in follow-up work based on the results of the consultation and instructed the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to prepare a dispatch for the attention of parliament by the end of 2013.

The consultation conducted from 27 February to 1 July 2013 revealed that the vast majority of participants welcomed the implementing draft and deemed it necessary in view of the development of international financial crime. They believe that the draft boosts the credibility, attractiveness and stability of the financial centre. During the consultation, however, it was also proposed that some measures be more practice-oriented and desired that the regulatory level of competing financial centres be taken into consideration.

The Federal Council has taken on a whole series of technical changes proposed during the consultation but generally maintained its concept of 27 February 2013. In the following three areas, in contrast, the Federal Council is envisaging changes in order to factor in the opinions of those who participated in the consultation procedure:

  • Bearer shares: Supplementing the measures proposed on 27 February, the Federal Council is examining the introduction of an alternative transparency measure in the event of dematerialised bearer shares being deposited with a third party (i.e. in the form of electronic registration). In contrast, it will not pursue the share immobilisation model (i.e. (physical deposit), as its introduction at the present time would interfere with the revision of company law.
  • Tax offences as predicate offences to money laundering: In the area of direct taxes, it is proposed to examine incorporating the predicate offence to money laundering in the Criminal Code rather than in the criminal law relating to tax offences. In this way, account is taken of the opinion of most consultation participants, who believe the implementation of tax offences as predicate offences should not interfere with the revision of criminal law relating to tax offences. The proposal of 27 February is maintained for indirect taxes, however.
  • Reporting system in the event of suspicions: The Federal Council is maintaining its main proposal of using the deferred freezing of assets to improve the effectiveness of the reporting system in the event of suspicions. Regarding the duty to report, however, the Federal Council has taken on the consultation proposals of setting a deadline for the analyses of the Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland (MROS) in order to limit the burden for financial intermediaries when performing their duties. Moreover, the right to report is maintained, thereby preserving a tried and tested system.

The dispatch also contains the legislative changes needed to implement the revised FATF recommendations regarding the freezing of assets held by terrorists or terrorist organisations. With this amendment of the Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA), the current system is merely set out in a formal procedure that creates legal certainty for financial intermediaries and improves the implementation of the corresponding FATF recommendation.


Address for enquiries

Anne C├ęsard, SIF Communications
031 322 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50108.html

Recommandations révisées du GAFI: résultat de la consultation et suivi des travaux

Berne, 04.09.2013 - Le Conseil fédéral a pris connaissance aujourd’hui du résultat de la procédure de consultation relative à la loi fédérale sur la mise en œuvre des recommandations du Groupe d’action financière (GAFI), révisées en 2012. Cette nouvelle loi contient des propositions de réglementation visant à renforcer la lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent. Le Conseil fédéral a décidé, sur la base des résultats de la consultation, de l’orientation à prendre et a chargé le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) d’élaborer un message à l’attention des Chambres fédérales d’ici à fin 2013.

La consultation, qui a duré du 27 février au 1er juillet 2013, révèle que les participants, dans leur grande majorité, saluent le projet de mise en œuvre et le jugent indispensable, au vu de l'évolution de la criminalité financière internationale. Ils estiment qu'il favorise la crédibilité, l'attractivité et la stabilité de la place financière suisse. Dans la consultation, les participants ont toutefois proposé de rendre certaines mesures plus proches de la pratique et souhaité que le niveau de réglementation tienne compte du niveau de réglementation des places financières concurrentes.

Le Conseil fédéral reprend toute une série de modifications techniques proposées par les intéressés, tout en maintenant sur le fond son concept du 27 février 2013. Pour prendre en compte les avis exprimés durant la consultation, le Conseil fédéral prévoit, en revanche, des modifications sur les trois sujets suivants:

  • Actions au porteur: en complément aux mesures proposées le 27 février, le Conseil fédéral examine une mesure de transparence alternative, en cas de dépôt de titres au porteur sous forme dématérialisée (sous forme d'enregistrement électronique) auprès d'un tiers. Il renonce par contre à donner suite au modèle d'immobilisation (dépôt physique) des actions, du fait que son introduction à ce stade empièterait sur la réforme du droit des sociétés.
  • Infractions fiscales préalables au blanchiment d'argent: s'agissant de la fiscalité directe, il est proposé d'examiner l'introduction d'une infraction préalable au blanchiment d'argent dans le code pénal plutôt que de modifier le droit pénal fiscal. Ainsi, il est tenu compte de l'avis exprimé par la majorité, selon lequel la mise en œuvre de l'infraction préalable fiscale ne doit pas empiéter sur la réforme du droit pénal fiscal. En ce qui concerne la fiscalité indirecte, le Conseil fédéral s'en tient à sa proposition du 27 février.
  • Système de communication de soupçons: le Conseil fédéral maintient sa proposition principale sur le blocage différé des fonds afin d'améliorer l'efficacité du système de communication des soupçons. En revanche, en ce qui concerne l'obligation de communiquer, le Conseil fédéral reprend la proposition des participants d'introduire un délai maximum pour les analyses du bureau de communication en matière de blanchiment d'argent (MROS) afin d'éviter d'alourdir la tâche des intermédiaires financiers. De plus, le droit de communication est maintenu, ce qui permet de conserver un système qui a fait ses preuves.

Le message inclura également les modifications légales requises qui permettent la mise en œuvre des recommandations révisées du GAFI relatives au blocage des avoirs appartenant à des terroristes ou à des organisations terroristes. Cette modification de la loi sur le blanchiment d'argent (LBA) permet simplement de formaliser la pratique, assurant la sécurité juridique aux intermédiaires financiers, tout en améliorant la mise en œuvre de la recommandation du GAFI en la matière.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Anne Césard, Communication SFI
031 322 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50108.html