Revised FATF recommendations: consultation results and follow-up work

Bern, 04.09.2013 - Today, the Federal Council took due note of the results of the consultation on the Federal Act for Implementing the revised Financial Action Task Force (FATF) recommendations of 2012. The aim of the new act is to enhance the fight against money laundering. The Federal Council has determined the direction to be taken in follow-up work based on the results of the consultation and instructed the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to prepare a dispatch for the attention of parliament by the end of 2013.

The consultation conducted from 27 February to 1 July 2013 revealed that the vast majority of participants welcomed the implementing draft and deemed it necessary in view of the development of international financial crime. They believe that the draft boosts the credibility, attractiveness and stability of the financial centre. During the consultation, however, it was also proposed that some measures be more practice-oriented and desired that the regulatory level of competing financial centres be taken into consideration.

The Federal Council has taken on a whole series of technical changes proposed during the consultation but generally maintained its concept of 27 February 2013. In the following three areas, in contrast, the Federal Council is envisaging changes in order to factor in the opinions of those who participated in the consultation procedure:

  • Bearer shares: Supplementing the measures proposed on 27 February, the Federal Council is examining the introduction of an alternative transparency measure in the event of dematerialised bearer shares being deposited with a third party (i.e. in the form of electronic registration). In contrast, it will not pursue the share immobilisation model (i.e. (physical deposit), as its introduction at the present time would interfere with the revision of company law.
  • Tax offences as predicate offences to money laundering: In the area of direct taxes, it is proposed to examine incorporating the predicate offence to money laundering in the Criminal Code rather than in the criminal law relating to tax offences. In this way, account is taken of the opinion of most consultation participants, who believe the implementation of tax offences as predicate offences should not interfere with the revision of criminal law relating to tax offences. The proposal of 27 February is maintained for indirect taxes, however.
  • Reporting system in the event of suspicions: The Federal Council is maintaining its main proposal of using the deferred freezing of assets to improve the effectiveness of the reporting system in the event of suspicions. Regarding the duty to report, however, the Federal Council has taken on the consultation proposals of setting a deadline for the analyses of the Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland (MROS) in order to limit the burden for financial intermediaries when performing their duties. Moreover, the right to report is maintained, thereby preserving a tried and tested system.

The dispatch also contains the legislative changes needed to implement the revised FATF recommendations regarding the freezing of assets held by terrorists or terrorist organisations. With this amendment of the Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA), the current system is merely set out in a formal procedure that creates legal certainty for financial intermediaries and improves the implementation of the corresponding FATF recommendation.


Address for enquiries

Anne C├ęsard, SIF Communications
031 322 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50108.html

Revidierte Empfehlungen der GAFI: Vernehmlassungsergebnisse und Folgearbeiten

Bern, 04.09.2013 - Der Bundesrat hat heute die Ergebnisse der Vernehmlassung zum Bundesgesetz zur Umsetzung der 2012 revidierten Empfehlungen der Groupe d'action financière (GAFI) zur Kenntnis genommen. Das neue Gesetz strebt eine intensivere Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei an. Der Bundesrat hat gestützt auf die Vernehmlassungsergebnisse die Stossrichtung der Folgearbeiten festgelegt und das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD) beauftragt, bis Ende 2013 eine Botschaft an die Eidgenössischen Räte auszuarbeiten.

Die vom 27. Februar bis 1. Juli 2013 durchgeführte Vernehmlassung hat ergeben, dass die grosse Mehrheit der Teilnehmer die Umsetzungsvorlage begrüsst und sie angesichts der Entwicklung der internationalen Finanzkriminalität für notwendig erachtet. Sie ist der Meinung, dass die Vorlage die Glaubwürdigkeit, die Attraktivität und die Stabilität des Finanzplatzes stärkt. In der Vernehmlassung wurde jedoch auch eine praxisgerechtere Ausgestaltung einiger Massnahmen vorgeschlagen und gewünscht, dass das Regulierungsniveau der konkurrierenden Finanzplätze berücksichtigt wird.

Der Bundesrat nimmt eine ganze Reihe von technischen Änderungsvorschlägen aus der Vernehmlassung auf, behält jedoch grundsätzlich sein Konzept vom 27. Februar 2013 bei. In folgenden drei Punkten sieht Bundesrat hingegen eine Veränderung vor, um den Stellungnahmen der Vernehmlassungsteilnehmenden Rechnung zu tragen:

  • Inhaberaktien: In Ergänzung zu den am 27. Februar vorgeschlagenen Massnahmen, prüft der Bundesrat die Einführung einer alternativen Transparenzmassnahme im Fall der Hinterlegung von Inhaberaktien in dematerialisierter Form (d.h. in der Form einer elektronischen Registrierung) bei einem Dritten. Hingegen verzichtet er auf die Weiterverfolgung des Modells der Immobilisierung (d.h. physische Hinterlegung) der Aktien aufgrund der Tatsache, dass seine Einführung zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt in die Revision des Gesellschaftrechts vorgreifen würde.
  • Steuerdelikte als Vortaten zur Geldwäscherei: Bei den direkten Steuern wird vorgeschlagen, das Einfügen einer Vortat zur Geldwäscherei im Strafgesetzbuch statt im Steuerstrafrecht zu prüfen. Dabei wird der Meinung einer Mehrheit der Vernehmlassungsteilnehmenden Rechnung getragen, dass die Umsetzung der Steuervortat nicht in die Revision des Steuerstrafrechts vorgreifen darf. Bei den indirekten Steuern wird hingegen am Vorschlag vom 27. Februar festgehalten.
  • Meldesystem bei Verdacht: Der Bundesrat bleibt bei seinem Hauptantrag, mit der aufgeschobenen Vermögenssperre eine Verbesserung der Wirksamkeit des Meldesystems bei Verdacht anzustreben. Bei der Meldepflicht übernimmt der Bundesrat dagegen Vorschläge aus der Vernehmlassung: Der Meldestelle für Geldwäscherei (MROS) wird für ihre Analysen eine Frist gesetzt, um den Aufwand der Finanzintermediäre bei der Erfüllung ihrer Aufgabe zu begrenzen. Zudem wird das Melderecht gewahrt und damit ein bewährtes System beibehalten.

In der Botschaft werden ferner die gesetzlichen Änderungen aufgenommen, mit welchen die revidierten Vorgaben der GAFI betreffend der Sperrung von Vermögenswerten im Besitz von Terroristen oder terroristischen Organisationen umgesetzt werden. Mit dieser Änderung des Geldwäschereigesetzes (GwG) wird die bisherige Praxis lediglich in einem förmlichen Verfahren abgebildet, das für die Finanzintermediäre Rechtssicherheit schafft und die Umsetzung der entsprechenden GAFI-Empfehlung verbessert.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Anne Césard, Kommunikation SIF
031 322 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50108.html