Macroprudential oversight in Switzerland

Bern, 12.03.2012 - The report on macroprudential oversight in Switzerland contains an analysis of the current structure of oversight of the Swiss financial system and makes concrete proposals with a view to strengthening it.

An oversight function geared to the solvency and stability of individual financial market participants, together with a monetary policy strategy of focusing on price stability, is no guarantee for the stability of the financial system. The latest financial crisis clearly demonstrated that. As a result of this finding, it is necessary to review the oversight of the Swiss financial system as a whole (so-called macroprudential oversight) and strengthen it as the case may be.

In April 2011, the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) instructed the "Financial Stability" working group to review the oversight of the Swiss financial system as a whole (so-called macroprudential oversight). The working group both examined the current structure of macroprudential oversight in Switzerland and drew up concrete proposals designed to strengthen it. In its report, the working group laid out the results of its analysis and the resulting recommendations.

The implementation of the individual measures proposed has already been initiated in part. For example, the FDF has conducted a hearing on the introduction of a countercyclical buffer as well as on increased requirements for the capital underpinning mortgage lending.


Address for enquiries

Communication FDF
Tel. +41 58 462 60 33
Mail: info@gs-efd.admin.ch



Publisher

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-43729.html

Surveillance macroprudentielle en Suisse

Berne, 12.03.2012 - Le rapport sur la surveillance macroprudentielle en Suisse analyse l’organisation actuelle de la surveillance du système financier helvétique et formule des propositions concrètes en vue de son renforcement.

Une surveillance orientée sur la solvabilité et la stabilité de certains acteurs du marché financier ainsi qu’une politique monétaire axée sur la stabilité des prix ne suffisent pas à garantir la stabilité du système financier. La récente crise financière en est la preuve éclatante. Partant de ce constat, il est nécessaire d’examiner la surveillance macroprudentielle – c’est-à-dire celle du système financier suisse dans son ensemble – et de la renforcer le cas échéant.

Le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) a mis en place en avril 2011 le groupe de travail «Stabilité financière» et l’a chargé de réexaminer la surveillance macroprudentielle en Suisse. Ce groupe de travail a tout à la fois analysé l’organisation actuelle de la surveillance du système financier suisse dans son ensemble et élaboré des propositions concrètes pour la renforcer. Son rapport renferme les résultats des analyses effectuées, avec les recommandations qui s’ensuivent. 

La mise en œuvre des mesures spécifiques proposées a en partie déjà commencé. Le DFF a ainsi mené deux auditions concernant l’introduction d’un volant anticyclique, d’une part, et des exigences renforcées pour la couverture des crédits hypothécaires, d’autre part.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Communication DFF
Tél. +41 58 462 60 33
Courriel: info@gs-efd.admin.ch



Auteur

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-43729.html