1MDB case: criminal proceedings opened against the BSI SA bank

Bern, 24.05.2016 - The Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland (OAG) has opened criminal proceedings against the BSI SA bank. The decision to open proceedings is based on information revealed by the criminal proceedings in the 1MDB case and on issues raised in the FINMA decision of 23 May 2016. The OAG suspects deficiencies in the internal organisation of the BSI SA bank. It is believed that due to these deficiencies, the bank was unable to prevent the commission of offences currently under investigation in the criminal proceedings relating to 1MDB.

Swiss law (Art. 102 para. 2 of the Swiss Criminal Code, SCC) allows the prosecution of a company that is suspected of not taking all the reasonable organisational measures that are required to prevent third parties from committing offences, and in particular money laundering or corruption offences.

 

The criminal proceedings opened on 23.05.2016 against BSI SA are based on information revealed by the criminal proceedings related to 1MDB and on issues raised in the FINMA decision of 23 May 2016. The information suggests that the offences of money laundering (Art. 305bis SCC) and bribery of foreign public officials
(Art. 322septies SCC) currently under investigation in the context of the 1MDB case could have been prevented had BSI SA been adequately organised.

 

For further information relating to the OAG’s criminal proceedings in the 1MDB case, the earlier press releases issued on 29.01.2016 and 12.04.2016 are still available on the OAG website of the.

 

As in the case of natural persons, the presumption of innocence also applies to legal entities.


Address for enquiries

André Marty, Head of Communication & Public Affairs of the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland; info@ba.admin.ch



Publisher

Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland
http://www.ba.admin.ch/

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61830.html

Affaire 1MDB: ouverture d’une procédure pénale à l’encontre de la banque BSI SA

Berne, 24.05.2016 - Le Ministère public de la Confédération (MPC) a ouvert une procédure pénale à l’encontre de la banque BSI SA. Cette décision d’ouverture se base sur les éléments révélés par la procédure pénale menée dans le cadre de l’affaire 1MDB ainsi que sur ceux de la décision de la FINMA du 23 mai 2016. Le MPC soupçonne l’existence de défaillances dans l’organisation interne de la banque BSI SA. En raison de ces défaillances, la banque n’aurait pas été en mesure d’empêcher la commission des infractions actuellement sous enquête dans le cadre de la procédure pénale liée à 1MDB.

Le droit suisse (art. 102 al. 2 du Code pénal, CP) permet de poursuivre pénalement une entreprise s’il est suspecté qu’elle n’a pas pris toutes les mesures d'organisation raisonnables et nécessaires pour empêcher la commission, par des tiers, de l’infraction de blanchiment d’argent ou de corruption, notamment.

 

L’ouverture de la procédure pénale le 23.05.2016 à l’encontre de BSI SA se fonde sur les éléments révélés par la procédure pénale liée à 1MDB ainsi que sur ceux de la décision de la FINMA du 23 mai 2016. Ces éléments permettent de soupçonner que les infractions de blanchiment d’argent (art 305bis CP) et de corruption d’agents publics étrangers (art. 322septies CP), actuellement sous enquête dans le cadre de l’affaire 1MDB, auraient pu être empêchées par une organisation adéquate de BSI SA.

 

Pour toutes questions relatives à la procédure pénale du MPC menée dans le cadre de l’affaire 1MDB, les précédents communiqués de presse diffusés les 29.01.2016 et 12.04.2016 sont toujours disponibles sur le site internet du MPC.

 

A l’instar des personnes physiques, la présomption d’innocence vaut également pour les personnes morales.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

André Marty, chef de l‘information du Ministère public de la Confédération; info@ba.admin.ch



Auteur

Ministère public de la Confédération
http://www.ba.admin.ch/ba/fr/home.html

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61830.html