Federal Council opens consultation on introduction of new fund category

Bern, 26.06.2019 - During its meeting on 26 June 2019, the Federal Council initiated the consultation on an amendment to the Collective Investment Schemes Act (CISA). This is intended to create a new, unregulated fund category reserved exclusively for qualified investors This is intended to strengthen the competitiveness of Switzerland as a fund centre. The consultation will last until 17 October 2019.

The amendment to the CISA is intended to create a new fund category, a so-called Limited Qualified Investor Fund (L-QIF), which is neither authorised nor approved nor supervised by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA). The Federal Council is thus responding to a concern of the financial sector. On 5 September 2018, it instructed the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to draw up a corresponding consultation draft.

The fact that an L-QIF is reserved only for qualified investors, such as financial intermediaries or pension funds, recognises investor protection. Moreover, such investors can already invest today in unsupervised foreign funds. In addition, an L-QIF must be managed by an institution that is supervised by FINMA. This institution risks being subject to supervisory measures if it seriously violates its obligations.

Surely, since an L-QIF requires neither authorisation nor approval, it can be offered on the market more quickly and cheaply than other funds. Liberal yet transparent investment rules also promote innovative and flexible products. The new fund category is intended to offer a Swiss alternative to similar foreign products and to ensure that more collective investment schemes are launched in Switzerland in the future.


Address for enquiries

Anne C├ęsard, Co-Head of Communications, State Secretariat for International Finance SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-75601.html

Bundesrat eröffnet Vernehmlassung zur Einführung einer neuen Fondskategorie

Bern, 26.06.2019 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 26. Juni 2019 die Vernehmlassung für eine Änderung des Kollektivanlagengesetzes (KAG) eröffnet. Mit dieser soll eine neue, nicht beaufsichtigte Fondskategorie geschaffen werden, die ausschliesslich qualifizierten Anlegern vorbehalten ist. Dadurch soll die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Fondplatzes Schweiz gestärkt werden. Die Vernehmlassung dauert bis zum 17. Oktober 2019.

Mit der Änderung des KAG soll neu eine Fondskategorie – ein sogenannter Limited Qualified Investor Fund (L-QIF) – geschaffen werden, die von der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) weder bewilligt oder genehmigt noch beaufsichtigt wird. Damit geht der Bundesrat auf ein Anliegen der Finanzbranche ein. Er hatte das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD) am 5. September 2018 beauftragt, eine entsprechende Vernehmlassungsvorlage zu erarbeiten.

Die Tatsache, dass ein L-QIF nur qualifizierten Anlegern – wie etwa Finanzintermediären oder Vorsorgeeinrichtungen– vorbehalten ist, trägt dem Anlegerschutz Rechnung. Solche Anleger können im Übrigen bereits heute in nicht beaufsichtigte ausländische Fonds investieren.  Zudem muss ein L-QIF von einem Institut verwaltet werden, das von der FINMA beaufsichtigt wird. Verletzt dieses seine Pflichten in schwerwiegender Weise, so drohen ihm aufsichtsrechtliche Massnahmen.

Da für einen L-QIF weder eine Bewilligung noch eine Genehmigung notwendig ist, kann er rascher und kostengünstiger auf dem Markt angeboten werden als andere Fonds. Durch liberale, aber transparente Anlagevorschriften werden zudem innovative und flexible Produkte gefördert. Die neue Fondskategorie soll eine Schweizer Alternative zu ähnlichen ausländischen Produkten bieten und dafür sorgen, dass inskünftig vermehrt kollektive Kapitalanlagen in der Schweiz aufgelegt werden.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Anne Césard, Co-Leiterin Kommunikation, Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-75601.html