Federal Council appoints Jörg Gasser as State Secretary for International Financial Matters in the FDF

Bern, 20.04.2016 - During its meeting today, the Federal Council appointed Jörg Gasser, Secretary General of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF), as the State Secretary for International Financial Matters in the FDF. He succeeds State Secretary Jacques de Watteville, who reaches retirement age at the end of June and will continue in his role in the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) as chief negotiator for all negotiations with the EU. Jörg Gasser will take up office on 1 July 2016.

A person with many years of professional and leadership experience in administration or the financial sector and with strong connections in politics, administration and the financial sector was sought as Jacques de Watteville's successor.

Jörg Gasser is 46 years old and graduated from the University of Zurich in 1996 with a degree in economics and international relations. He then joined the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), where, between 1996 and 2007 (including a four-year break), he was responsible for leading many challenging negotiations in positions which included deputy chief delegate in Pakistan and Iraq and division head at the ICRC headquarters in Geneva.

After his initial experience as a policy analyst in two federal offices, Jörg Gasser was sought by the Head of the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) in 2009 to work as an economic and financial affairs expert in the FDJP. His subsequent career as ad interim Director of the Federal Office for Migration and Secretary General of the FDJP and, since the start of 2011, of the FDF enabled him to gain extensive experience as well as in-depth knowledge of the Federal Administration and of political structures and processes. In the FDF, Jörg Gasser has actively contributed to shaping the affairs of the SIF and the regulation projects of the Legal Services division under the General Secretariat for five years. He has thus played a very influential role in all important international financial, tax and monetary policy matters.

Given his professional career, Jörg Gasser is very familiar with political relations and economic ties in Switzerland and abroad and therefore has the necessary expertise. Thanks to his many years' experience in key positions in two departments, he has strong connections in politics, business and administration, and excellent knowledge of SIF-related topics.


Address for enquiries

Roland Meier, Media Spokesperson FDF
Tel. +41 58 462 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch

Federal Department of Finance FDF


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61430.html

Bundesrat ernennt Jörg Gasser zum Staatssekretär für internationale Finanzfragen im EFD (Letzte Änderung 20.04.2016)

Bern, 20.04.2016 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner heutigen Sitzung Jörg Gasser, Generalsekretär im Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD), zum Staatssekretär für internationale Finanzfragen im EFD ernannt. Er tritt die Nachfolge von Staatssekretär Jacques de Watteville an, der Ende Juni das Pensionsalter erreichen und im Eidgenössischen Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) die Funktion als Chefunterhändler für die Gesamtheit der Verhandlungen mit der EU fortführen wird. Jörg Gasser wird sein neues Amt am 1. Juli 2016 antreten.

Für die Nachfolge von Jacques de Watteville als Leiter des Staatssekretariats für internationale Finanzfragen (SIF) wurde eine Persönlichkeit mit langjähriger Führungs- und Berufserfahrung in der Verwaltung oder im Finanzsektor gesucht, welche in der Politik, Verwaltung und in der Finanzbranche gut vernetzt ist.

Jörg Gasser ist 46-jährig und schloss im Jahr 1996 sein Studium der Volkswirtschaft und der Internationalen Beziehung an der Universität Zürich mit dem Lizentiat ab. Anschliessend trat er in die Dienste des Internationalen Komitees vom Roten Kreuz (IKRK) ein, wo er – mit einem Unterbruch von vier Jahren - von 1996-2007 unter anderem als stellvertretender  Chefdelegierter in Pakistan und im Irak, später dann auch als Abteilungsleiter am Sitz des IKRK in Genf zahlreiche anspruchsvolle Verhandlungsführungen verantwortete.

Nach ersten Erfahrungen als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in zwei Bundesämtern wurde Jörg Gasser 2009 von der damaligen Vorsteherin des Eidgenössischen Justiz- und Polizeidepartements (EJPD) als Referent für Wirtschafts- und Finanzfragen ins Departement geholt. In seiner nachfolgenden Karriere als Direktor a.i. im Bundesamt für Migration sowie anschliessend als Generalsekretär im EJPD und ab Anfang 2011 im Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD) erwarb sich Jörg Gasser umfassende Führungserfahrungen wie auch intime Kenntnisse der Bundesverwaltung sowie der politischen Strukturen und Prozesse. Im EFD gestaltete Jörg Gasser während fünf Jahren die Dossiers des SIF und die Regulierungsgeschäfte des dem Generalsekretariat unterstellten Rechtsdiensts aktiv mit. Er war damit in alle wichtigen internationalen finanz-, steuer- und währungspolitischen Geschäfte massgeblich involviert.

Jörg Gasser ist aufgrund seiner beruflichen Laufbahn mit den politischen Verhältnissen und den wirtschaftlichen Zusammenhängen im In- und Ausland bestens vertraut und deckt damit die erforderlichen Kompetenzen optimal ab. Dank seiner langjährigen Tätigkeit an Schlüsselstellen zweier Departemente ist er in Politik, Wirtschaft und Verwaltung sehr gut vernetzt und verfügt über ausgezeichnete Kenntnisse der das SIF betreffenden Themenbereiche.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Roland Meier, Mediensprecher EFD
Tel. +41 58 462 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch


Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61430.html