Swiss convoy to aid civilian population in eastern Ukraine reaches Donetsk

Bern, 15.05.2015 - On 15 May 2015 Switzerland sent a convoy carrying 300 tonnes of chemical water treatment products to eastern Ukraine to supply approximately 3.5 million people in need in the Donetsk region with clean drinking water. This is the first humanitarian convoy of its size to have crossed the contact line between the government-controlled area and that under the control of non-government forces since the armed conflict began in the region. The convoy is being accompanied by Manuel Bessler, the Federal Council Delegate for Swiss Humanitarian Aid.

A 15-truck convoy organised by Swiss Humanitarian Aid reached the city of Donetsk in eastern Ukraine today. After a journey of several hours from Dnipropetrovsk through areas on both sides of the contact line, the convoy delivered approximately 300 tonnes of chemicals to the Donetsk water company. As soon as the convoy reached the company, the water treatment chemicals – mainly aluminium sulphate – were pumped into the waterworks reservoir to supply the population on both sides of the contact line with clean drinking water. Swiss Humanitarian Aid organised this delivery because the drinking water supply in the conflict zone no longer meets health standards owing to a lack of disinfection capacities, resulting in the spread of diseases like hepatitis A.

This humanitarian convoy, which is being accompanied by Manuel Bessler, the Federal Council Delegate for Swiss Humanitarian Aid, is the first of its size to have crossed the contact line between the government-controlled area and that under the control of non-government forces since the armed conflict first broke out in the region. It is also the first time that the government in Kyiv has collaborated with a third country in carrying out a major relief operation both in the area controlled by the government and the area under the control of non-government forces.

In addition to the programmes which the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) and the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) have long been supporting in Ukraine, Swiss Humanitarian Aid has been providing aid on both sides of the contact line since the conflict erupted in Ukraine at the beginning of 2014. Swiss Humanitarian Aid initially concentrated its efforts on providing funding and support staff for multilateral organisations (UNHCR, WFP, ICRC) active on both sides of the contact line.

In addition, Swiss Humanitarian Aid has made available a budget of CHF 3 million in 2015 for four bilateral lines of action to assist civilians in need. Besides water-treatment assistance, Swiss Humanitarian Aid is also providing emergency assistance for those most in need via the Czech partner organisation People in Need which is, for example, repairing damaged homes. Swiss Humanitarian Aid is also supporting the supply of medicines and medical supplies to the area under the control of non-government forces and of medical equipment to the government-controlled area. In order to improve the coordination and efficiency of humanitarian relief efforts on the ground, Switzerland has also seconded Swiss Humanitarian Aid Unit specialists to the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) and made a financial contribution of CHF 500,000 to the WHO.


Address for enquiries

Information FDFA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
Fax: +41 58 464 90 47
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-57284.html

Schweizer Hilfskonvoi für die Menschen in der Ostukraine erreicht Donetsk

Bern, 15.05.2015 - Die Schweiz hat am 15. Mai 2015 einen Konvoi mit 300 Tonnen chemischen Produkten zur Trinkwasseraufbereitung in den Osten der Ukraine geschickt, um in der Region Donetsk rund 3,5 Mio. notleidende Menschen mit sauberem Trinkwasser zu versorgen. Dieser humanitäre Konvoi ist der erste seiner Grösse, welcher die Kontaktlinie zwischen regierungs- und nichtregierungskontrolliertem Gebiet seit Beginn des bewaffneten Konflikts in der Region überquert. Begleitet wird der Konvoi von Manuel Bessler, dem Delegierten des Bundesrats für Humanitäre Hilfe.

Organisiert von der Humanitären Hilfe des Bundes haben 15 Lastwagen mit Hilfsgütern heute die Stadt Donetsk im Osten der Ukraine erreicht. Nach mehrstündiger Fahrt von Dnipropetrovsk durch Gebiete beiderseits der Kontaktlinie brachte der Hilfskonvoi rund 300 Tonnen Chemikalien in die Wasserwerke Donetsk. Die Chemikalien – hauptsächlich Aluminiumsulfat – werden für die Aufbereitung von Trinkwasser benötigt und wurden heute unmittelbar nach der Ankunft in die Wasserwerke Donetsk eingespeist, um die Bevölkerung beider Seiten der Kontaktlinie mit sauberem Trinkwasser beliefern zu können. Die Humanitäre Hilfe des Bundes organisierte diese Lieferung, da das Trinkwasser im Konfliktgebiet aufgrund mangelnder Desinfektionsmöglichkeiten nicht mehr den Normen entspricht und für die Ausbreitung von Krankheiten wie etwa Hepatitis A verantwortlich ist.

Dieser humanitäre Konvoi, der vom Delegierten des Bundesrates für humanitäre Hilfe, Manuel Bessler, begleitet wird, ist der erste seiner Grösse, welcher die Kontaktlinie zwischen regierungs- und nichtregierungskontrolliertem Gebiet seit Beginn des bewaffneten Konflikts in der Region überquert. Zum ersten Mal auch hat die Regierung in Kiew mit einem Drittstaat bei der Durchführung einer grossangelegten Hilfsaktion durch das regierungskontrollierte Gebiet und das nichtregierungskontrollierte Gebiet zusammengearbeitet.

Ergänzend zu den Programmen, die die Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit DEZA sowie das Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO seit langem in der Ukraine unterstützen, engagiert sich die Humanitäre Hilfe des Bundes seit dem Ausbruch des Konflikts in der Ukraine Anfang 2014 beidseits der Kontaktlinie. Dabei konzentrierte sie sich zunächst auf die finanzielle und personelle Unterstützung multilateraler Organisationen (UNHCR, WFP, IKRK), die beidseitig der Kontaktlinie tätig sind.

2015 stellt die Humanitäre Hilfe zusätzlich ein Budget von CHF 3 Mio. für vier bilaterale Aktionslinien zur Verfügung, welche der notleidenden Bevölkerung zugutekommen. Neben der Hilfe zur Trinkwasseraufbereitung ermöglicht die Humanitäre Hilfe der Schweiz Nothilfe für Meistbedürftige, welche über die tschechische Partnerorganisation „People in Need“ zum Beispiel durch die Reparatur von beschädigten Wohnhäusern geleistet wird. Sie unterstützt ausserdem die Lieferung von Medikamenten und medizinischem Verbrauchsmaterial in das nichtregierungskontrollierte Gebiet, sowie auch die Lieferung von medizinischen Apparaten in die regierungskontrollierte Region. Um die Koordination und die Effizienz der humanitären Hilfe vor Ort zu verbessern, stellt die Schweiz Experten des Schweizerischen Korps für Humanitäre Hilfe dem Amt für die Koordinierung humanitärer Angelegenheiten (United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, UN-OCHA) zur Verfügung und leistet ausserdem einen Finanzbeitrag an die WHO von CHF 500‘000.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
Fax: +41 58 464 90 47
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-57284.html