Negotiations on linking of Swiss and EU emission trading schemes concluded

Bern, 25.01.2016 - Negotiations between Switzerland and the European Union (EU) on linking their emissions trading schemes have concluded. Bruno Oberle, Director of the Federal Office for the Environment (until the end of 2015), Dominique Paravicini, Deputy Director of the Directorate for European Affairs (DEA), and Jos Delbeke, Director General of the EU’s Directorate-General for Climate Action, have initialled the agreement. The expansion of the international CO2 market by linking national or regional emissions trading schemes can provide an effective means of combating climate change.

An emissions-trading scheme is a market-based climate-policy instrument. Its purpose is to induce companies to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions (see box). Both Switzerland and the EU operate their own emissions trading schemes and have been negotiating the linking of these schemes since 2011. This involves the mutual recognition of emission rights granted under the two schemes.

The linking of the schemes will also enable companies and operators in the Swiss system to trade emission rights on the considerably larger and more liquid European market. This will result in comparable prices for emission rights on both markets and create a level playing field, particularly for Swiss companies vis-à-vis their European competitors. Aircraft operators shall also be included in the Swiss emissions trading scheme. The linking of the two schemes will result in the strengthening of emission trading as an important tool in the efforts to combat global climate change.

Bruno Oberle, Director of the FOEN until the end of 2015, Dominique Paravicini, Deputy Director of the DEA, and Jos Delbeke, Director General of the EU's Directorate-General for Climate Action, have initialled the agreement. Despite various differences between Switzerland and the EU, it was possible to reach an agreement in this area.

For the treaty to enter into force, it must be signed and ratified by both sides. The timetable for this is open.


INSET
What is emission trading?

The EU's international emissions trading scheme is the oldest in the world and is currently the largest in terms of the volume of emissions involved. In Switzerland certain companies are required to surrender emission rights annually based on their effective greenhouse gas emissions. In the EU certain aircraft operators are also required to participate in the system. An emission right entitles the holder to emit one tonne greenhouse-gas equivalents (CO2-eq). The volume covered by the state-granted emission rights is overall limited and reduced annually. If the volume of greenhouse gases emitted by an operator exceed the rights it holds, it must purchase the additional emission rights on the market. Alternatively, if it is more cost-effective,  the operator can also invest in low-carbon technologies and processes. If the volume of greenhouse gases an operator emits is lower than the rights held, it can sell the surplus rights on the emissions trading market. In this way a market-based price is established for greenhouse gas emissions so they can be reduced where it is most cost-efficient to do so.


Address for enquiries

Media Section
Telephone: +41 58 462 90 00
E-mail: mediendienst@bafu.admin.ch



Publisher

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
http://www.bafu.admin.ch/en

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60425.html

Couplage des systèmes d'échange de quotas d'émission Suisse-UE: fin des négociations

Berne, 25.01.2016 - Les négociations entre la Suisse et l'Union européenne (UE) pour coupler leurs systèmes d'échange de quotas d'émission ont abouti. MM. Bruno Oberle, directeur de l'OFEV (jusqu'à fin 2015), Dominique Paravicini, directeur suppléant de la Direction des affaires européennes (DAE), et Jos Delbeke, directeur général de la Direction générale Climat de la Commission européenne, ont paraphé l'accord. L'élargissement du marché international du CO2 par le couplage de systèmes d'échange nationaux ou régionaux peut être un moyen de lutte efficace contre le changement climatique.

Le système d'échange de quotas d'émission est un instrument économique de la politique climatique qui doit amener les entreprises à réduire leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre (voir encadré). La Suisse et l'UE ont chacune leur propre système d'échange, mais négocient leur couplage depuis 2011 avec pour objectif la reconnaissance mutuelle des droits d'émission.

Le couplage des systèmes permettra aux entreprises et aux exploitants participant au système suisse d'accéder au marché européen, qui est nettement plus grand et plus liquide. Il en résultera une harmonisation des prix des droits d'émission sur les deux marchés et un rapprochement des conditions concurrentielles pour les entreprises suisses face à leurs homologues européens. Il est également prévu d'inclure les compagnies aériennes dans le système suisse d'échange de quotas d'émission. Le couplage renforcera le commerce des droits d'émission, qui est un instrument essentiel dans la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique.

MM. Bruno Oberle, directeur de l'OFEV, Dominique Paravicini, directeur suppléant de la DAE, et Jos Delbeke, directeur général de la Direction générale Climat de la Commission européenne, ont paraphé l'accord, confirmant ainsi la clôture des négociations. La Suisse et l'UE ont donc réussi à obtenir un résultat dans ce domaine malgré leurs divergences.

Pour que le traité puisse entrer en vigueur, il doit être signé et ratifié par les deux parties. Le calendrier n'a pas encore été fixé.

ENCADRE
Comment fonctionne l'échange des quotas d'émission?

Le système international d'échange de quotas d'émission de l'UE est le plus ancien et le plus grand au monde en terme d'émissions prises en compte. En Suisse, certaines entreprises sont soumises à l'obligation de compenser leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre en utilisant les droits d'émission qui leur sont attribués chaque année. Dans l'UE, certaines compagnies aériennes sont également tenues de participer au système d'échange. Un droit d'émission autorise l'émission d'une tonne d'équivalent CO2 de gaz à effet de serre (éq. CO2). Le nombre de droits d'émission distribués par l'Etat est globalement limité et réduit chaque année. Lorsqu'un exploitant émet plus de gaz à effet de serre qu'il ne possède de droits d'émission, il doit acheter les droits manquants sur le marché. Comme alternative, il peut investir dans des technologies et des processus propres si cette variante est plus avantageuse. À l'inverse, lorsque l'exploitant émet moins de gaz à effet de serre, il peut vendre les droits excédentaires. Le prix de l'émission de gaz à effet de serre est ainsi fixé par les lois du marché, ce qui permet d'opter pour les mesures de réduction des émissions qui présentent le meilleur rapport coût-efficacité.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Section Médias OFEV
Téléphone: +41 58 462 90 00
Courriel: mediendienst@bafu.admin.ch



Auteur

Office fédéral de l'environnement OFEV
http://www.bafu.admin.ch/fr

Département fédéral des affaires étrangères
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/dfae.html

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60425.html