Fines and bribes paid to private individuals should not be tax-deductible

Bern, 18.12.2015 - Companies should not be able to deduct fines and other punitive financial sanctions from taxes. The Federal Council initiated the consultation on a corresponding bill today. The Luginb├╝hl motion entitled "Tax deductibility of fines" (14.3450) should be implemented with the proposal.

The motion calls for a clear statutory basis for the tax treatment of punitive financial sanctions. The Federal Council is responding to this request with the bill. With the exception of tax fines, the tax treatment of fines, financial penalties and financial administrative sanctions has not been explicitly regulated for companies up to now. In the future, punitive financial sanctions and associated procedural costs are to be expressly non-deductible for tax purposes. The same should also apply for other expenses associated with offences. In contrast, non-punitive profit disgorgement sanctions are to remain deductible.

Alignment with more stringent criminal law on corruption

Parliament adopted a more stringent form of criminal law on corruption in September, resolving to regulate the punishability of bribery payments to private individuals in the Criminal Code as offences prosecuted ex officio. This does not apply for minor cases, which are to be prosecuted only upon request. Previously, private sector bribery was punishable only if it led to a distortion of competition. In order to harmonise criminal and tax law, the bill is proposing that bribery payments to private individuals should no longer be allowed as expenses that are justified for business purposes.

The bill makes provision for amending both the Federal Act on Direct Federal Taxation (DFTA) and the Federal Act on the Harmonisation of Direct Taxation at Cantonal and Communal Levels (DTHA). This will create an explicit statutory basis for federal and cantonal taxes.


Address for enquiries

Communikation/Media
Eigerstrasse 65
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 464 90 00
E-Mail: media@estv.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60078.html

Les amendes et les commissions occultes versées à des particuliers ne doivent pas être déductibles des impôts

Berne, 18.12.2015 - Les entreprises ne doivent pas pouvoir déduire des impôts les amendes et les autres sanctions financières à caractère pénal. Le Conseil fédéral a ouvert aujourd’hui une procédure de consultation sur un projet de loi à cet effet. Ce projet vise à mettre en œuvre la motion Luginbühl «Déductibilité fiscale des amendes» (14.3450).

En présentant le projet de loi, le Conseil fédéral répond à la motion, selon laquelle le traitement fiscal des sanctions financières à caractère pénal doit être prévu dans une base légale claire. En effet, le traitement fiscal des amendes, des peines pécuniaires et des sanctions financières de nature administrative infligées aux entreprises n’est actuellement pas expressément réglementé, à l’exception du traitement des amendes fiscales. Le projet proposé prévoit explicitement que les sanctions financières à caractère pénal et les frais de procès correspondants ne seront pas déductibles. La même règle s’appliquera en outre aux autres dépenses liées aux infractions. Par contre, les sanctions visant à réduire le bénéfice qui n’ont pas un caractère pénal restent déductibles.

Modification suite au durcissement du droit pénal en matière de corruption

En septembre dernier, le Parlement a approuvé un durcissement du droit pénal en matière de corruption. A cette occasion, il a décidé de modifier le code pénal en y définissant le versement de commissions occultes à des particuliers comme une infraction poursuivie d’office. Font exception les cas peu graves, qui ne seront poursuivis que sur plainte. Actuellement, la corruption privée n’est punissable qu’en cas de distorsion de la concurrence. Afin d’harmoniser le droit pénal et le droit fiscal, le projet propose que les commissions occultes versées à des particuliers ne puissent plus constituer des charges justifiées par l’usage commercial.

Le projet prévoit de modifier la loi fédérale sur l’impôt fédéral direct (LIFD) et la loi fédérale sur l’harmonisation des impôts directs des cantons et des communes (LHID). Des bases légales explicites seront ainsi créées pour les impôts fédéraux et cantonaux.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Communication/Médias
Eigerstrasse 65
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.: +41 58 464 90 00
Courriel: media@estv.admin.ch



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60078.html