Situation in Ukraine: Federal Council extends measures to prevent the circumvention of sanctions

Bern, 06.03.2015 - In view of the situation in Ukraine, and following decisions taken by the EU, the Federal Council today decided to extend its measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions. It added the measures decreed by the EU last December following non-recognition of the annexation of the Crimea and Sevastopol to the ordinance on international sanctions of 27 August 2014. The Federal Council also added to Annex 3 of the ordinance the names of 28 further persons and entities who have had financial and travel restrictions imposed on them in the EU. The amended ordinance with supplemented annexes comes into effect at 6 pm today.

The Federal Council once again stressed that Swiss territory may not be misused to circumvent EU sanctions. It is continuing to pursue its current policy and today made amendments to the ordinance on the circumvention of international sanctions in relation to the situation in Ukraine. The Federal Council is thus taking measures necessary to prevent circumvention of the latest EU sanctions.

This decision by the Federal Council extends the measures introduced following Switzerland's non-recognition of Russia's annexation of the Crimea, an act which contravenes international law. All foreign investment in the Crimea and Sevastopol is now prohibited. Service bans apply in the investment and tourism branches, and in some other economic sectors. The existing ban on the export of key goods to the Crimea and Sevastopol has been extended to include further articles. In addition, the measures have been made more precise to accord with adjustments made to the EU sanctions.

Furthermore, 28 names have been added to the existing list of individuals and businesses with whom financial intermediaries may no longer enter into new business relationships. Anyone in Switzerland with an existing business dealings with any of these entities is required to report this relationship (Annex 3 of the ordinance).

The Federal Council is continuing to monitor the situation in Ukraine closely and reserves the right to introduce further measures.


Address for enquiries

Antje Baertschi, Head of Communications, SECO
Tel. 058 463 52 75


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-56478.html

Situation en Ukraine: le Conseil fédéral complète les mesures visant à empêcher le contournement de sanctions

Berne, 06.03.2015 - Se ralliant à la décision de l’UE et eu égard à la situation qui prévaut en Ukraine, le Conseil fédéral a décidé aujourd’hui de compléter les mesures visant à empêcher le contournement des sanctions internationales. Il a intégré à l’ordonnance du 27 août 2014 les sanctions imposées en décembre 2014 par l’UE en réponse à l’annexion illégale de la Crimée et de Sébastopol. Il a en outre ajouté dans l’annexe 3 de l’ordonnance les noms de 28 personnes ou entreprises nouvellement frappées par l’UE de sanctions financières et de restrictions de voyage. L’ordonnance modifiée et ses annexes complétées entrent en vigueur aujourd’hui à 18 heures.

Le Conseil fédéral a réaffirmé que la Suisse ne doit pas pouvoir être utilisée pour contourner les sanctions adoptées par l'UE. Il a décidé de maintenir sa ligne et a adapté aujourd'hui l'ordonnance du 27 août 2014 instituant des mesures visant à empêcher le contournement de sanctions internationales en lien avec la situation en Ukraine. Ce faisant, il a pris les mesures nécessaires pour empêcher le contournement des dernières sanctions édictées par l'UE.

D'une part, le Conseil fédéral a étendu les mesures prises du fait que la Suisse ne reconnaît pas l'annexion de la Crimée par la Russie, attendu qu'elle constitue une violation du droit international. Les investissements étrangers en Crimée et à Sébastopol sont à présent totalement défendus. Il est également interdit d'offrir certains services dans les domaines des investissements et du tourisme, ainsi que dans d'autres secteurs économiques. L'interdiction d'exporter des produits clés vers la Crimée ou Sébastopol a été élargie à d'autres biens. Les mesures ont également fait l'objet de précisions reflétant celles apportées par l'UE dans le cadre de ses sanctions.

D'autre part, 28 noms ont été ajoutés à la liste des personnes et des entreprises avec lesquelles les intermédiaires financiers ne sont pas autorisés à nouer de nouvelles relations d'affaires et dont les relations d'affaires existantes sont soumises à déclaration (annexe 3 de l'ordonnance).

Le Conseil fédéral, qui suit attentivement l'évolution de la situation en Ukraine, n'exclut pas de prendre des mesures supplémentaires le cas échéant.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Antje Baertschi, cheffe de la Communication du SECO
Tél. : 058 463 52 75



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral de l'économie, de la formation et de la recherche
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Département fédéral de l'économie, de la formation et de la recherche
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-56478.html