FDFA welcomes Minsk agreement and calls for rigorous implementation

Bern, 12.02.2015 - The Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) welcomes the agreement reached in Minsk on the ceasefire in Ukraine. "It is now crucial that the agreement be implemented – this is essential in order to stabilise the situation in eastern Ukraine," says Federal Councillor Didier Burkhalter.

The FDFA is pleased to note that the "Normandy Format" negotiations in Minsk between the Presidents of Ukraine, Russia and France and the German Federal Chancellor have produced results. The agreement on a ceasefire, that will come into force on Sunday, and the strengthening of the September 2014 Minsk agreement are important signs that the spiral of military escalation can be broken and that there is a chance for a political solution. "It is now crucial that the agreement be implemented – this is essential in order to stabilise the situation in eastern Ukraine," says Federal Councillor Didier Burkhalter, the head of the FDFA. The FDFA calls on all sides to implement the agreed measures within the set deadlines.

The package of measures accepted today has been signed by all the signatories to the September 2014 Minsk agreement. As special representative of the Chairperson-in-Office of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) in the Trilateral Contact Group, Swiss ambassador Heidi Tagliavini put her signature to the document, to which the heads of state and government of the "Normandy Format" committed their full support in a joint declaration.

The agreements provide for the OSCE to play a central role in the implementation of these measures. Switzerland calls on all participating States to make every possible effort to ensure that the OSCE structures concerned, in particular the Special Monitoring Mission to Ukraine, receive the necessary political and financial support and the resources to fulfil this task.

Despite the new agreement the risk of further violence has not been eliminated. For this reason the FDFA calls on the sides involved to refrain from anything that could endanger today's agreements and instead to contribute constructively to the implementation of the agreed measures. Furthermore, the FDFA considers this to be the only way to achieve a political and therefore lasting solution to the Ukraine conflict – one to which Switzerland has long been committed, in particular during its 2014 OSCE Chairmanship.


Address for enquiries

Information FDFA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
Fax: +41 58 464 90 47
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch


Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-56217.html

Le DFAE salue l’accord trouvé à Minsk et demande sa pleine mise en œuvre

Berne, 12.02.2015 - Le Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE) salue l’accord trouvé à Minsk sur le respect du cessez-le-feu en Ukraine. Selon le conseiller fédéral Didier Burkhalter, «ce qui prime maintenant, c’est l’application de cet accord, car sans elle la situation ne se stabilisera pas dans l’est de l’Ukraine».

Le DFAE se félicite que les négociations au «format Normandie» menées à Minsk entre les présidents ukrainien, russe et français et la chancelière allemande aient abouti à un résultat. L’accord sur le respect du  cessez-le-feu qui prendra effet ce dimanche ainsi que la réaffirmation des accords de Minsk de septembre 2014 sont des signes encourageants laissant espérer que la spirale de l’escalade militaire pourra être rompue et qu’une issue politique au conflit sera possible. «Ce qui prime maintenant, c’est l’application de cet accord, car sans elle la situation ne se stabilisera pas dans l’est de l’Ukraine», a estimé le chef du DFAE, le conseiller fédéral Didier Burkhalter. Le DFAE appelle toutes les parties à mettre en œuvre, dans les délais fixés, les mesures convenues aujourd’hui.

Le paquet de mesures adopté aujourd’hui a été signé par tous les signataires des accords de Minsk de septembre 2014. En sa qualité d’envoyée spéciale du président en exercice de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) au sein du Groupe de contact trilatéral, l’ambassadrice suisse Heidi Tagliavini avait apposé sa signature sur le document, auquel les chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement du «format Normandie» avaient expressément apporté leur soutien dans une déclaration commune.

Ces accords prévoient pour l’OSCE un rôle essentiel dans la mise en œuvre de ces mesures. La Suisse appelle tous les Etats participants à se mobiliser avec détermination pour faire en sorte que les structures de l’OSCE concernées, en particulier la Mission spéciale d’observation en Ukraine, disposent du soutien politique et financier ainsi que des moyens dont elles ont besoin pour s’acquitter de cette mission.

Malgré l’accord trouvé à la table des négociations, le risque de nouvelles violences n’est pas écarté. Le DFAE appelle donc les parties impliquées à renoncer à tout ce qui pourrait compromettre les résultats obtenus aujourd’hui et à contribuer  de manière constructive à la mise en œuvre des mesures convenues. C’est ainsi seulement qu’il restera possible d’aboutir à une solution politique et donc durable du conflit en Ukraine, but auquel la Suisse a travaillé de longue date, en particulier pendant sa présidence de l’OSCE en 2014.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Information DFAE
Palais fédéral ouest
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE


Auteur

Département fédéral des affaires étrangères
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/dfae.html

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-56217.html