Ukraine: Further measures to prevent circumvention of sanctions

Bern, 12.11.2014 - In view of the situation in Ukraine, and following decisions taken by the EU, the Federal Council today decided to adopt further measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions. It amended the relevant ordinance of 27 August 2014 to take account of the reinforced sanctions imposed by the EU in September. The revised ordinance enters into force at 6 pm today.

The Federal Council reiterated that Switzerland must not be used to circumvent EU sanctions. It is continuing to pursue its current policy and today amended the Ordinance on measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions in relation to the situation in Ukraine, so as to apply the necessary measures to prevent circumvention of the latest EU sanctions.

In the field of finance, trade in new financial instruments with a maturity exceeding 30 days (previously: exceeding 90 days) issued by five Russian banks and six companies, and the granting of loans with a maturity exceeding 30 days to those five banks and six companies, are subject to authorisation. Secondary trading in newly issued financial instruments from outside Switzerland and the EU with a maturity exceeding 30 days is subject to a duty to notify. Twenty-four names have been added to the existing list of persons and companies with whom financial intermediaries are prohibited from entering into new business relationships with, and whose existing business dealings are subject to a duty to notify.

With regard to specific military goods and dual-use goods subject to licence, the provision of services or technical assistance to nine newly listed mixed companies in Russia are subject to a duty to notify. Services in connection with aerospace are exempt. Certain services necessary for deep water oil exploration and production, arctic oil exploration and production and shale oil projects in Russia are subject to a duty to notify.

The Federal Council continues to monitor the situation in Ukraine closely and reserves the right to take further measures depending on how the situation develops.


Address for enquiries

Isabel Herkommer, press spokesperson SECO, Tel. 058 465 03 49


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-55198.html

Ukraine: mesures supplémentaires pour empêcher le contournement des sanctions

Berne, 12.11.2014 - En réponse aux nouvelles sanctions prononcées par l’UE et vu la situation qui prévaut en Ukraine, le Conseil fédéral a décidé aujourd’hui d’édicter des mesures supplémentaires pour empêcher le contournement des sanctions internationales. Dans ce contexte, il a complété l’ordonnance correspondante afin que les sanctions mises en place en septembre par l’UE soient également prises en compte. L’ordonnance modifiée entre en vigueur aujourd’hui à 18 heures.

Le Conseil fédéral a réaffirmé que la Suisse ne doit pas servir à contourner les sanctions adoptées par l'UE. Il a décidé de poursuivre sa politique actuelle et a adapté aujourd'hui l'ordonnance du 27 août 2014 instituant des mesures visant à empêcher le contournement de sanctions internationales en lien avec la situation en Ukraine. Ce faisant, il a pris les mesures nécessaires pour empêcher le contournement des dernières sanctions édictées par l'UE.

Concernant le marché financier, les émissions d'instruments financiers de cinq banques et de six entreprises russes sont désormais soumises à autorisation si leur échéance est supérieure à 30 jours (auparavant: 90 jours), de même que les prêts d'une durée de plus de 30 jours octroyés à ces cinq banques et à ces six entreprises russes. Les opérations de négoce sur le marché secondaire impliquant des instruments financiers nouvellement émis en dehors de la Suisse et de l'UE et dont l'échéance est supérieure à 30 jours sont soumises à déclaration. En outre, 24 noms ont été ajoutés à la liste des personnes et des entreprises avec lesquelles les intermédiaires financiers ne sont pas autorisés à nouer de nouvelles relations d'affaires et dont les relations d'affaires existantes sont soumises à déclaration.

Au chapitre des biens militaires spécifiques et des biens à double usage, la fourniture de services ou d'une assistance technique doit désormais être déclarée pour neuf nouveaux conglomérats en Russie. Cette obligation ne s'applique pas aux opérations destinées à l'industrie aéronautique et spatiale. De plus, certains services ayant trait à l'exploration ou à l'extraction pétrolière en haute mer ou dans l'Arctique ou à des projets dans le domaine du schiste bitumineux en Russie doivent désormais être déclarés.

Le Conseil fédéral continue de suivre de près l'évolution de la situation en Ukraine et édictera, le cas échéant, des mesures supplémentaires.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Isabel Herkommer, porte-parole du SECO, tél. 058 465 03 49



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral de l'économie, de la formation et de la recherche
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-55198.html