Federal Council adopts dispatch on Financial Market Infrastructure Act

Bern, 03.09.2014 - Today, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FMIA). The act will adjust the regulation of financial market infrastructures and derivatives trading in line with market developments and international requirements. This will sustainably strengthen the stability and competitiveness of Switzerland's financial centre.

The FMIA governs the organisation and operation of financial market infrastructures. The provisions that are currently dispersed in various federal acts will be combined consistently in a single law and adjusted in line with changed market conditions and international standards. The stock exchange regulations are largely the same as those already contained in the Stock Exchange Act. In particular, the existing principle of self-regulation, which has proved its worth in this area, will be maintained.

The very vague term "institution which is similar to a stock exchange", which is outdated by international standards, will be replaced by the precisely defined and more easily distinguishable terms of "multilateral trading facility" and "organised trading facility". Multilateral trading facilities differ from stock exchanges in that, although they admit securities for trading, there is no listing. They are subject to regulations which are similar to those for stock exchanges. In contrast, organised trading facilities are not considered as independent financial market infrastructures; instead, their operation remains with banks, securities dealers, stock exchanges and multilateral trading facilities. Certain specific obligations, particularly regarding organisation and trading transparency, are imposed on the operator of an organised trading facility. The transparency requirements for multilateral and organised trading facilities also address the problem of dark pools, i.e. trading venues that have lacked transparency until now. Moreover, the FMIA will establish the basis for regulating high-frequency trading, and restricting it if necessary.

In the area of financial market infrastructures, a general licensing requirement will additionally be introduced for central counterparties, central depositaries, trade repositories and payment systems. Licensing conditions and obligations which are specifically tailored to these financial market infrastructures are also set out. Until now, FINMA could subject central counterparties, central depositaries and payment systems to the Banking Act or Stock Exchange Act in certain cases. There was no regulation at all for trade repositories.

Aside from the supervisory law requirements for financial market infrastructures, the FMIA contains all of the regulations that apply in relation to securities and derivatives trading for all market participants (market rules of conduct). These include the provisions on the disclosure of shareholdings, public offers, insider trading and market manipulation which are currently enshrined in the Stock Exchange Act, as well as the new regulations for derivatives trading, which are in line with international standards.

The vast majority of Swiss derivatives trading is currently cross-border and largely takes place with the EU. The proposed derivatives regulations are thus based primarily on EU law. Consequently, the three key obligations for derivatives trading should apply in Switzerland too in the future: clearing via a central counterparty, reporting to a trade repository and risk mitigation. Unlike in the EU, however, exceptions are to be created for smaller contracting parties in the financial sector for reasons of proportionality and with reference to the corresponding US regulations. In terms of the obligation to conduct derivatives transactions via a stock exchange or another trading facility, the bill sets out the corresponding legal basis. However, the obligation should not come into force until it has also been introduced in the partner states.

Furthermore, the FMIA will replace the administrative assistance provisions that are currently provided for in various financial market laws with a uniform set of regulations in the Financial Market Supervision Act. This is in line with international requirements in the area and, just like the regulations in the Tax Administrative Assistance Act, makes provision for the possibility of restricting the client procedure if the purpose of the administrative assistance and the effective performance of the requesting authority's tasks would be compromised by prior notification of the client. In addition, an explicit basis is established for cooperation with international organisations and bodies.


Address for enquiries

Roland Meier, Media Spokesperson FDF
Tel. +41 58 462 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54305.html

Le Conseil fédéral approuve le message relatif à la loi sur l'infrastructure des marchés financiers

Berne, 03.09.2014 - Le Conseil fédéral a adopté aujourd'hui le message concernant la loi sur l'infrastructure des marchés financiers (LIMF). Cette loi vise à adapter la réglementation des infrastructures des marchés financiers et de la négociation de dérivés aux évolutions des marchés et aux directives internationales. Elle permettra de renforcer durablement la stabilité et la compétitivité de la place financière suisse.

La LIMF règle l'organisation et l'exploitation des infrastructures des marchés financiers. Elle réunit, pour des raisons de cohérence, les dispositions dispersées aujourd'hui dans plusieurs lois fédérales tout en les adaptant à la nouvelle situation des marchés ainsi qu'aux normes internationales. De manière générale, la réglementation des bourses correspond à celle de l'actuelle loi sur les bourses. Le principe de l'autorégulation, notamment, est maintenu, car il a fait ses preuves dans ce domaine.

Le terme actuel d'organisation analogue aux bourses, très vague et dépassé sur le plan international, sera ainsi remplacé par les notions mieux définies de système multilatéral de négociation et de système organisé de négociation. Les systèmes multilatéraux de négociation ne se distinguent des bourses que par le fait qu’ils admettent à la négociation les valeurs mobilières, mais ne les cotent pas. Ils sont assujettis à des règles analogues à celles des bourses. Les systèmes organisés de négociation ne sont pas recensés comme des infrastructures autonomes des marchés financiers, mais leur exploitation est réservée aux banques, aux négociants en valeurs mobilières, aux bourses et aux systèmes multilatéraux de négociation. L’exploitant d’un système organisé de négociation doit cependant remplir certaines obligations spécifiques, notamment en matière d’organisation et de transparence. Les prescriptions sur la transparence applicables aux systèmes de négociation multilatéraux ou organisés visent la problématique des dark pools, c’est-à-dire des plates-formes de négociation qui n’étaient guère transparentes jusqu’à présent. De plus, la LIMF pose les bases nécessaires à la réglementation et, le cas échéant, à la limitation de la négociation à haute fréquence. 

En ce qui concerne les infrastructures des marchés financiers, la LIMF instaure un régime général d’autorisation ainsi que des conditions d’autorisation et des obligations spécifiques pour les contreparties centrales, les dépositaires centraux, les référentiels centraux et les systèmes de paiement. Jusqu’à présent, la FINMA pouvait, dans certains cas précis, assujettir les contreparties centrales, les dépositaires centraux et les systèmes de paiement à la loi sur les banques ou à la loi sur les bourses. Il n’existait aucune réglementation pour les référentiels centraux. 

Outre les dispositions prudentielles applicables aux infrastructures des marchés financiers, la LIMF contient toutes les règles auxquelles sont soumis les participants aux marchés financiers dans le contexte de la négociation de titres et de dérivés (règles dites de comportement sur le marché). Il s’agit, d’une part, des prescriptions concernant la publicité des participations, les offres publiques d’acquisition, les opérations d’initiés et la manipulation de cours, qui sont actuellement inscrites dans la loi sur les bourses, et, d’autre part, des règles sur la négociation de dérivés, qui correspondent aux nouvelles normes internationales.  

En Suisse, la majeure partie de la négociation de dérivés s’effectue par delà les frontières et prioritairement avec l’Union européenne (UE). La réglementation proposée s’inspire donc principalement du droit de l’UE. Par conséquent, les trois obligations centrales de la négociation de dérivés devront également s’appliquer en Suisse à l’avenir: l’obligation de compenser par l’intermédiaire d’une contrepartie centrale, l’obligation de déclarer à un référentiel central et l’obligation de réduire les risques. Contrairement à ce que prévoit la réglementation européenne, des exceptions ont été définies pour les plus petits cocontractants du secteur financier. Ces exceptions ont été introduites pour des raisons de proportionnalité et par analogie avec les dispositions américaines correspondantes. Le projet de loi contient les bases légales concernant l’obligation de réaliser les opérations sur dérivés par l’intermédiaire d’une bourse ou d’un autre système de négociation, mais elles n’entreront en vigueur que lorsque cette obligation aura également été instaurée dans les Etats partenaires.

Enfin, le projet remplace les dispositions concernant l’assistance administrative, contenues actuellement dans les différentes lois sur les marchés financiers, par une réglementation uniforme contenue dans la loi sur la surveillance des marchés financiers. Celle-ci s’inspire des directives internationales dans ce domaine et, comme les dispositions de la loi sur l’assistance administrative fiscale, prévoit la possibilité de restreindre la procédure relative au client si l’information préalable de ce dernier compromet l’efficacité de l’assistance administrative et le bon déroulement des tâches de l’autorité requérante. De plus, une base explicite concernant la collaboration avec des organisations et organes internationaux est ajoutée à la législation.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Roland Meier, porte-parole du DFF
Tél. +41 58 462 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54305.html