Situation in Ukraine: Federal Council decides on further measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions

Bern, 27.08.2014 - In view of the situation in Ukraine, the Federal Council has today decided to take further measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions. It has amended the Ordinance of 2 April 2014 on measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions in relation to the situation in Ukraine to include the sanctions imposed by the EU in July. The revised ordinance enters into force at 6 pm today.

During its discussions on the situation in Ukraine of 13 August 2014, the Federal Council decided to widen its current policy and to take all the measures required to ensure that the most recent sanctions imposed by the European Union cannot be circumvented via Swiss territory. Today the Federal Council decided on the necessary measures.

In the field of finance, issues of long term financial instruments by five Russian banks will be made subject to authorisation. In future, authorisation for new issues will only be granted if they are within the average financial engagement of the past three years. The subsidiaries of these Russian banks in Switzerland are exempt from the authorisation requirement as long as they are not acting on behalf of, or on the instructions of their parent companies. The EU's restrictive measures also allow a similar exemption for subsidiaries of the Russian banks in question on its territory. Secondary trading in financial instruments newly issued outside Switzerland and the EU will be subject to a duty to notify. Eleven names have been added to the existing list of natural persons and businesses with whom financial intermediaries are prohibited from entering into new business relationships and whose existing business relations are subject to a duty to notify.

With regard to specific military goods and dual-use goods subject to licence, the Federal Council decided to add a further criterion for rejecting the application for an export licence to the existing list of criteria in goods control legislation. An application may now be refused if goods are intended to be used exclusively or partially for military purposes, or if they are intended for a military end user. With regard to war material, the Federal Council decided that a ban on imports of such goods from Russia and Ukraine should apply. The Federal Council also decided to introduce a duty to notify for exports of certain goods used in the extraction of oil in deep sea, Arctic or shale gas projects in Russia.

As a result of Switzerland's decision not to recognise the annexation of Crimea by Russia constituing a breach of international law, the Federal Council has imposed a ban on imports and a ban on exports of certain key goods used in the extraction of oil and gas, as well as restrictions on investments for Crimea and Sevastopol.

The Federal Council has acknowledged the measures taken by Russia in respect of agricultural goods. It stresses that Switzerland is not engaged in any state measures to promote additional Swiss exports to Russia.

The Federal Council continues to monitor the situation in Ukraine closely and reserves the right to take further measures depending on how the situation develops


Address for enquiries

Antje Baertschi, Head of Communications, SECO
Tel. 058 463 52 75


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54221.html

Situation en Ukraine: le Conseil fédéral prend des mesures supplémentaires visant à empêcher le contournement de sanctions

Berne, 27.08.2014 - Etant donné la situation qui prévaut en Ukraine, le Conseil fédéral a décidé aujourd’hui d’édicter des mesures supplémentaires visant à empêcher le contournement de sanctions internationales. Dans ce contexte, il a complété l’ordonnance du 2 avril 2014 instituant des mesures visant à empêcher le contournement de sanctions internationales en lien avec la situation en Ukraine afin que les sanctions mises en place en juillet par l’UE soient également prises en compte. La version révisée de l’ordonnance entre en vigueur aujourd’hui à 18 heures.

A l'issue de son échange de vues du 13 août 2014 portant sur la situation en Ukraine, le Conseil fédéral a décidé d'étendre sa politique actuelle au vu de la situation qui prévaut dans ce pays. Il a par ailleurs confirmé qu'il entend prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour que le territoire suisse ne puisse pas servir à contourner les récentes sanctions adoptées par l'UE. Les mesures nécessaires à cet effet ont été édictées aujourd'hui.

Concernant le marché financier, les émissions d'instruments financiers à long terme de cinq banques russes seront soumises à autorisation. Les autorisations liées à de nouvelles émissions ne seront plus accordées que si celles-ci ne dépassent pas la valeur moyenne des trois années précédentes. Les filiales de ces banques russes qui sont établies en Suisse ne sont pas soumises à autorisation dans la mesure où elles n'agissent pas au nom ou selon les directives de leur société mère. Les mesures édictées par l'UE prévoient par ailleurs une exception similaire pour les filiales des banques russes en question qui sont établies sur leur territoire. Les opérations de négoce sur le marché secondaire impliquant des instruments financiers nouvellement émis en dehors de la Suisse et de l'UE seront soumises à déclaration. Onze noms ont en outre été ajoutés à la liste des personnes et des entreprises avec lesquelles les intermédiaires financiers ne sont pas autorisés à nouer de nouvelles relations d'affaires et dont les relations d'affaires existantes sont soumises à déclaration.

En ce qui concerne les biens militaires spécifiques soumis à autorisation et les biens à double usage, le Conseil fédéral a décidé de définir un critère de refus d'exportation additionnel par rapport à la législation sur le contrôle des biens. Ce critère supplémentaire permet de refuser l'exportation de biens qui sont destinés, en totalité ou en partie, à des fins militaires ou à un utilisateur final militaire. Concernant le matériel de guerre, le Conseil fédéral a estimé qu'il convient désormais d'ordonner la suspension des importations de tels biens en provenance de Russie ou d'Ukraine. Il a en outre décidé de soumettre à déclaration l'exportation de certains biens destinés à l'extraction pétrolière en haute mer ou dans l'Arctique, ou à des projets liés à l'huile de schiste en Russie.

La Suisse ne reconnaissant pas l'annexion de la Crimée par la Russie, qui constitue une violation du droit international, le Conseil fédéral a édicté une interdiction d'importation, une interdiction d'exportation portant sur certains produits clés destinés à l'extraction du pétrole et du gaz ainsi qu'une limitation des investissements en Crimée et à Sébastopol.

Le Conseil fédéral a pris acte des mesures édictées par la Russie en matière agricole. Il souligne par ailleurs que la Suisse ne prend aucune mesure étatique visant à encourager les exportations suisses vers la Russie.

Le Conseil fédéral, qui suit attentivement l'évolution de la situation en Ukraine, se réserve le droit de prendre des mesures additionnelles.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Antje Baertschi, cheffe de la Communication du SECO
tél. 058 463 52 75



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral de l'économie, de la formation et de la recherche
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Département fédéral des affaires étrangères
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/dfae.html

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54221.html