The Federal Council adopts the dispatch to Parliament concerning a federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets of foreign politically exposed persons

Bern, 21.05.2014 - Today, the Federal Council has adopted the dispatch to Parliament concerning a federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets of foreign politically exposed persons (PEPs). The draft law takes over existing legislation and practice and reworks them into a single body of law. In parallel to the legislative work, the Federal Council has stepped up its efforts to establish a more efficient framework for international cooperation on the restitution of illicitly acquired assets of PEPs.

In connection with the events of the Arab Spring, the Federal Council issued several freezing orders against PEPs directly based on the Federal Constitution at the beginning of 2011. In March 2011, the Federal Parliament adopted a motion obliging the Federal Council to create a formal legislative basis on the freezing of such assets. The Federal Council then instructed the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs to draw up a draft law to this effect. In May 2013, the consultation procedure was launched on the first draft of a federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets of PEPs.

The draft law comprehensively governs the freezing, confiscation and restitution of illicit assets of PEPs, thus reflecting Switzerland's current practice in this area. It is designed to be applied in cases where leading figures enrich themselves through corruption or other criminal means and deposit these illicitly acquired assets in offshore financial centres. It contains provisions on preventive freezing for the purpose of temporarily securing PEPs assets, and it lays down the conditions under which such illicit assets can be confiscated by a court within the framework of an administrative procedure as well as the principles on which confiscated assets can be returned to the country of origin. Lastly, the draft law provides for the possibility of taking targeted measures to support the country of origin in its efforts to recover illicitly acquired assets. In addition, it establishes two further developments on matters of practice to take concrete experiences into account. The draft law has also been considerably reworked on several points to take account of the comments and issues raised during the consultation procedure. These concern in particular implementation of the duty to report with regard to frozen assets (creation of a single point of contact with the Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland) and the exchange of information with foreign authorities.

With the new federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets, the Federal Council will have a formal legal basis to deal with cases of illicitly acquired assets of foreign PEPs. The new law strengthens the democratic legitimacy of the Federal Council's policy in this field. It enumerates the conditions that must be fulfilled to order the freezing of assets, thus meeting the requirements demanded by Parliament and other circles. It enhances legal certainty and the transparency of the actions of the state. Following the prolongation in January 2014 of the constitutionally based freeze on the assets of members of the entourage of ousted presidents Ben Ali (Tunisia) and Mubarak (Egypt), the Federal Council is legally obliged to submit the dispatch concerning a federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets of foreign PEPs to the Federal Parliament before the summer recess.

Parallel to the legislative work, the Federal Council has stepped up its efforts to improve international coordination in cases of illicitly acquired assets of PEPs. Switzerland has gained much experience in this area over the last 25 years. It would like to use this experience to participate in setting future standards of cooperation among financial centres in the field of the restitution of the illicit assets of PEPs and to structure this work more efficiently. It bases its work on two UN mandates dating from 2013 which are largely based on Switzerland's proposals. The first set of guidelines was developed within the framework of an expert seminar that Switzerland organised together with its partners, the International Centre for Asset Recovery and the Stolen Asset Recovery Initiative of the World Bank, in Lausanne from 26 to 28 January 2014.

In addition to the federal act, the Federal Council has also approved a strategy on the freezing, confiscation and restitution of assets of foreign PEPs (asset recovery). It is designed for use by those units of the federal administration that deal with the illicit assets of PEPs and serves to optimise coordination among Swiss authorities.


Address for enquiries

INFO DFAE
phone +41 (0)58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-53048.html

Le Conseil fédéral adopte le message relatif à la loi sur le blocage et la restitution des valeurs patrimoniales d’origine illicite de personnes politiquement exposées à l’étranger

Berne, 21.05.2014 - Le Conseil fédéral a adopté aujourd’hui le message relatif à la loi sur le blocage et la restitution des valeurs patrimoniales d’origine illicite de personnes politiquement exposées à l’étranger (loi sur les valeurs patrimoniales d’origine illicite, LVP). Le projet de loi reprend les bases légales existantes et reflète la pratique actuelle, qu’il intègre dans un acte législatif unique. Parallèlement à ses travaux d’ordre législatif, le Conseil fédéral a intensifié ses efforts en vue d’améliorer l’efficacité de la coopération internationale en matière de restitution d’avoirs de potentats.

Suite aux événements du Printemps arabe survenus au début 2011, le Conseil fédéral a édicté plusieurs ordonnances de blocage contre des personnes politiquement exposées, fondées directement sur la Constitution. En mars 2011, les Chambres fédérales ont adopté une motion obligeant le Conseil fédéral à créer une base légale formelle pour prononcer de tels blocages de valeurs patrimoniales. Sur cette base le Conseil fédéral a donné mandat au DFAE de préparer le projet de loi correspondant. Un avant-projet de loi fédérale sur le blocage et la restitution des valeurs patrimoniales d’origine illicite liées à des personnes politiquement exposées (LBRV) a ensuite été mis en consultation en mai 2013.

Le projet de loi réglemente de façon complète le blocage, la confiscation et la restitution d’avoirs de potentats et reflète ainsi la pratique actuelle de la Suisse dans ce domaine. Il est destiné à s’appliquer à des situations où des personnalités dirigeantes se sont enrichies indûment en s’appropriant des valeurs patrimoniales par des actes de corruption ou d’autres crimes puis en les détournant vers d’autres places financières. Le projet comprend des dispositions permettant le blocage préventif de valeurs patrimoniales de personnes politiquement exposées à des fins conservatoires. Il fixe les conditions auxquelles les avoirs de potentats peuvent faire l’objet d’une confiscation judiciaire dans le cadre d’une procédure relevant du droit administratif, ainsi que les principes selon lesquels des avoirs confisqués sont restitués aux Etats d’origine. Enfin, le projet prévoit des mesures d’assistance destinées à soutenir l’Etat d’origine dans ses efforts visant à obtenir la restitution de valeurs patrimoniales d’origine illicite. En outre, le projet incorpore deux développements tirés de la pratique sur la base des expériences concrètes faites jusqu’à ce jour. Le projet de loi a été retravaillé de façon substantielle sur plusieurs points afin de prendre en compte les préoccupations exprimées lors de la procédure de consultation. Ces changements portent principalement sur les modalités de l’obligation d’effectuer des communications concernant les valeurs patrimoniales bloquées (création d’un « guichet unique » auprès du Bureau de communication en matière de blanchiment d’argent MROS) ainsi que sur la communication d’informations à l’Etat d’origine.

Grâce à la LVP, le Conseil fédéral disposera désormais d’une base légale formelle pour traiter les cas d’avoirs de potentats. Celle-ci renforcera la légitimité démocratique de la politique du Conseil fédéral dans ce domaine. La nouvelle loi énumère les conditions qui doivent être remplies pour pouvoir ordonner un blocage d’avoirs et répond par là aux exigences du Parlement et d’autres cercles. La loi renforce la sécurité juridique et la transparence de l’action publique. Après la prolongation en janvier 2014 des ordonnances de blocage fondées sur la Constitution à l’égard des présidents déchus Ben Ali (Tunisie) et Moubarak (Egypte) ainsi que de leur entourage, le Conseil fédéral est tenu, en vertu du droit en vigueur, de transmettre le message relatif à la LVP aux Chambres fédérales avant les vacances d’été.

Parallèlement à ses travaux d’ordre législatif, le Conseil fédéral a intensifié ses efforts en vue d’améliorer l’efficacité de la coopération internationale en matière de restitution d’avoirs de potentats. La Suisse a acquis une grande expérience dans ce domaine durant les 25 dernières années. Elle pourra compter sur cet atout pour prendre une part active à l’élaboration de futurs standards internationaux relatifs à la coopération entre places financières dans le domaine de la restitution d’avoirs de potentats et améliorer l’efficacité dans ce domaine. Pour ce faire, la Suisse peut se fonder sur deux mandats adoptés en 2013 au sein de l’ONU pour partie à son initiative. Les premières lignes directrices ont été élaborées à l’occasion d’un séminaire international réunissant de nombreux experts à Lausanne du 26 au 28 janvier 2014. Ce séminaire a été organisé par la Suisse et ses partenaires de l’International Center for Asset Recovery (ICAR) et de la Stolen Asset Recovery Initiative (StAR) de la Banque mondiale.

Outre la loi, le Conseil fédéral a approuvé une stratégie de la Suisse en matière de blocage, de confiscation et de restitution des avoirs de potentats (« Asset Recovery »). Celle-ci a été élaborée à l’intention des services de l’administration appelés à traiter de telles affaires et contribue à garantir une coordination optimale entre les autorités suisses.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

INFO DFAE
tél. +41 (0)58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des affaires étrangères
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/home/recent/media.html

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-53048.html