Ukraine: List of persons extended

Bern, 02.05.2014 - On 1 May 2014 the Federal Department of Economic Affairs EAER added a further 15 individuals to the list of persons annexed to the ordinance on measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions connected with the situation in Ukraine. The measures come into force at 6 pm on 2 May 2014.

Following developments in Ukraine, the European Union (EU) decided on 28 April 2014 to add the names of a further 15 individuals to the list of persons subject to targeted sanctions. The EAER has acknowledged this decision and subsequently added the same individuals to its own list of persons subject to sanctions, which is annexed to the ordinance of 2 April 2014 on measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions connected with the situation in Ukraine. This brings the total number of individuals named on the list annexed to the ordinance to 48.

Financial intermediaries based in Switzerland may no longer enter into new business relationships with the individuals named in the annex to the ordinance. This is intended to ensure that the named individuals do not transfer assets to Switzerland. Existing business relationships involving the named individuals are not subject to this ban. However, the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO must be notified of such business relationships. By invoking an obligation to notify the Federal Council aims to gain an overview of the business relationships that the persons concerned have in Switzerland and of the assets they hold here, so as to be able to decide on further measures if necessary.

The travel restrictions imposed by the EU on these 48 private individuals also have an effect on Switzerland via the Schengen Association Agreement. Consequently, no special measures are needed to prevent the circumvention of these sanctions.

In its statement of 26 March 2014 on the situation in Ukraine, the Federal Council acknowledged the sanctions imposed by certain members of the international community. It decided that Switzerland would take the measures required to ensure that its national territory cannot be misused to circumvent the sanctions imposed by the international community.


Address for enquiries

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern
Tel. +41 58 462 56 56
Fax +41 58 462 56 00



Publisher

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs
http://www.seco.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52856.html

Ukraine: adaptation de la liste des personnes frappées par les sanctions

Berne, 02.05.2014 - Le 1er mai 2014, le Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR) a ajouté quinze personnes physiques à la liste des personnes visées par les sanctions annexée à l’ordonnance instituant des mesures visant à empêcher le contournement de sanctions internationales en lien avec la situation en Ukraine. Les mesures entrent en vigueur le 2 mai 2014, à 18 heures.

A la suite des développements en Ukraine, l’Union européenne (UE) a décidé, le 28 avril 2014, d’ajouter quinze personnes physiques à la liste des personnes frappées par les sanctions. Le DEFR a pris acte de cette décision et adapté en conséquence la liste de personnes annexée à l’ordonnance du 2 avril 2014 instituant des mesures visant à empêcher le contournement de sanctions internationales en lien avec la situation en Ukraine. Le nombre de personnes physiques figurant dans l’annexe à l’ordonnance s’élève à présent à 48.

Les intermédiaires financiers établis en Suisse ne peuvent plus nouer de nouvelles relations d’affaires avec les personnes physiques citées dans l’annexe à l’ordonnance, cela afin d’empêcher que ces dernières ne transfèrent des avoirs en Suisse. Les relations d’affaires existantes avec les personnes visées ne sont pas frappées par l’interdiction, mais doivent être signalées sans délai au SECO. Cette mesure vise à permettre au Conseil fédéral d’avoir une vue d’ensemble des relations d’affaires que les personnes visées entretiennent en Suisse ou des avoirs qu’elles y détiennent, afin de pouvoir, le cas échéant, décider de prendre des mesures plus poussées.

Les restrictions de voyage décidées par l’UE à l’encontre de ces 48 personnes physiques déployant également leurs effets sur la Suisse par le biais de l’accord d’association à Schengen, il n’y a pas lieu de prendre d’autres mesures pour éviter le contournement de ces sanctions.

Lors de sa séance du 26 mars 2014 au sujet du conflit ukrainien, le Conseil fédéral avait pris note des sanctions adoptées par une partie de la communauté internationale. Il avait décidé que la Suisse prendrait les mesures nécessaires afin que son territoire national ne puisse pas servir à contourner les sanctions de la communauté internationale.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Berne
tél. +41 58 462 56 56
fax +41 58 462 56 00



Auteur

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie
http://www.seco.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52856.html