"1914-2014": The President of the Swiss Confederation, Mr Didier Burkhalter, launches competition for young people

Bern, 31.03.2014 - Young people are at the heart of the presidency of the Confederation in 2014. The First World War began 100 years ago and destroyed the future of millions of young people in the years after 1914. To mark this anniversary year, the President of the Swiss Confederation, Mr Didier Burkhalter, is inviting young people to take part in a competition that offers an opportunity for constructive dialogue. Post-compulsory-school classes are invited to submit projects about the First World War in a format of their choice. The class with the best project from each of Switzerland's linguistic regions will win a three-day trip to Ypres in Belgium. The registration deadline for the competition is 31 May 2014.

One hundred years after the outbreak of the First World War, the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) is launching a competition for post-compulsory schools (e.g. upper-secondary vocational schools, cantonal schools/Matura schools, upper-secondary specialised schools) in order to engage in a dialogue with school students about conflict prevention, peacebuilding, disarmament and respect for international humanitarian law.
Young people are one of the priorities of President Burkhalter, the head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs, in 2014.

Goal and themes of the competition
The goal of the competition is to raise awareness and stimulate reflection among young people and to encourage them to engage in a fruitful exchange of ideas. The school projects can focus on concrete aspects that shed light on this critical period in modern world history. The students are free to choose both the format and theme of their project. Possible formats include text, blogs, film, audio recordings and painting. The projects may deal with themes such as a specific event, a speech, an image, a literary work, a piece of music, a newspaper article, a plan, the personal story of a family member, etc. For example:

• Food supply for the population. What was on the menu?
• What was the status of the law of war and international humanitarian law?
• What role do educational institutions and youth organisations play in indoctrinating young men and whipping up enthusiasm for war among them?
• What social consequences did the war have on everyday life?

The prize
A jury of experts will judge the projects submitted by the deadline under exclusion of the public. In each of Switzerland's linguistic regions, the class that submits the best project will win a three-day trip to Ypres in Belgium.  The city of Ypres in neutral Belgium was drawn into the conflict against its will and became one of the most important theatres of the First World War. Much of the city was destroyed and half a million people lost their lives. Chemical weapons were first used in Ypres. The trip will take place from 13 to 15 November 2014. On 14 November, the winning classes will have an opportunity to exchange views about the First World War with the President of the Swiss Confederation and a group of experts.
In addition to the main prize, lots will be drawn to select up to ten classes – irrespective of the project they submitted – to take part in a visit to international Geneva (Palais des Nations, International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum). During this visit, which will probably take place at the beginning of September, the students will meet the President of the Swiss Confederation and talk with FDFA and UN employees about issues related to war and peace, conflict prevention and humanitarian responsibility.
Participating schools undertake to ensure that their classes will take part in the trips in the event that they win one of the prizes. A further condition is that each school class may submit only one project. The results will be communicated directly to the schools and published at www.unesco.ch.

Registration and information
Participating school classes may register for the competition by 31 May 2014 and submit their projects with an accompanying letter by 10 October 2014. The letter may not be more than 10 pages long and should provide information about the approach chosen for the project, how it was carried out, and the lessons learned. Numerous information resources are available on the internet for teachers supervising participating school classes. Further information about the competition is available at www.unesco.ch .


Contact information to teachers and registration:
Lukas Schifferle
Email: info@unesco.ch
Tel.: +41 31 32 31236


Address for enquiries

FDFA Information
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52492.html

«1914-2014»: le président de la Confédération Didier Burkhalter lance un concours pour les jeunes

Berne, 31.03.2014 - Les jeunes sont au cœur de la présidence de la Confédération en 2014. Il y a 100 ans commençait la Première Guerre mondiale qui, dans les années qui suivirent, allait détruire l’avenir de millions de jeunes. A l’occasion de cet anniversaire, le président de la Confédération Didier Burkhalter invite les jeunes à un dialogue constructif, dans le cadre d’un concours. Les écoles post-obligatoires peuvent présenter, dans un format libre, des travaux de classe sur le thème de la Première Guerre mondiale. Une classe lauréate par région linguistique sera invitée à participer à un voyage de trois jours à Ypres, en Belgique. Le délai d’inscription au concours est fixé au 31 mai 2014.

Cent ans après le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, le Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE) lance un concours s’adressant aux écoles post-obligatoires (par exemple, les écoles professionnelles, les écoles cantonales/gymnases, les écoles de culture générale), afin d’engager avec les écoliers un dialogue sur des thèmes comme la prévention des conflits, la consolidation de la paix, le désarmement et le respect du droit international humanitaire.
Les jeunes comptent parmi les priorités que s’est données le président de la Confédération Didier Burkhalter, chef du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères, pour cette année présidentielle.

Objectif et thème du concours
Ce concours vise à sensibiliser les jeunes, à les inciter à la réflexion et à les amener à participer à un échange fructueux. Au travers d’aspects concrets, les classes peuvent, dans leurs travaux, aider à la compréhension de ces années décisives de l’époque moderne. Elles peuvent choisir librement le format comme le thème de leurs travaux, qu’elles peuvent présenter sous forme de texte, de blog, de film, d’enregistrement sonore ou de tableau, par exemple. Divers thèmes peuvent être abordés, tels que : événement particulier, discours, photo ou tableau, œuvre littéraire, morceau de musique, article de presse, plan ou histoire personnelle d’un membre de sa famille. Par exemple:

• Approvisionnement de la population en denrées alimentaires. Quels étaient les aliments disponibles?
• Quel était l’état d’avancement du droit de la guerre et du droit international humanitaire?
• Quel rôle les établissements de formation et les organisations de jeunesse ont-ils joué dans l’endoctrinement des jeunes gens et dans la stimulation de leur enthousiasme guerrier?
• Quelles étaient, au quotidien, les conséquences sociales de la guerre?

Prix
Un jury spécialisé examinera à huis clos les travaux présentés dans les délais. Dans chaque région linguistique, une classe lauréate choisie pour la qualité de sa réalisation gagnera un voyage de trois jours dans la ville belge d’Ypres. Dans une Belgique neutre, la ville d’Ypres, entraînée malgré elle dans le conflit, a été  l’un des principaux champs de bataille de la Première Guerre mondiale. Un demi-million de personnes y a  trouvé la mort et la ville a été presque entièrement détruite. C’est là aussi que les armes chimiques ont  été utilisées pour la première fois. Le voyage aura lieu du 13 au 15 novembre 2014. Le 14 novembre, les classes lauréates auront la possibilité d’échanger sur la Première Guerre mondiale avec le président de la Confédération et des experts.
Outre les lauréats du premier prix, dix classes au maximum seront tirées au sort, indépendamment des travaux présentés. Elles participeront, probablement début septembre, à une visite de la Suisse internationale à Genève (Palais des Nations, Musée international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge). Au cours de cette visite, les écoliers rencontreront le président de la Confédération et pourront s’entretenir avec des membres du personnel du DFAE et de l’ONU de questions ayant trait à la guerre et à la paix, à la prévention des conflits et à la responsabilité humanitaire.
Les écoles participantes s’engagent à ce que les classes lauréates puissent effectuer le voyage qu’elles ont remporté. Par ailleurs, il est exigé qu’un seul travail soit présenté par classe. Les résultats seront communiqués directement aux écoles et publiés à l’adresse www.unesco.ch.

Inscription et informations
Les classes participantes peuvent s’inscrire au concours jusqu’au 31 mai 2014 et déposer leurs travaux jusqu’au 10 octobre 2014. La lettre d’accompagnement jointe doit présenter, sur dix pages au maximum, l’approche choisie, le résultat des réflexions et les modalités de réalisation des travaux. Le personnel enseignant qui dirige les travaux peut trouver de nombreuses sources d’informations sur Internet. De plus amples informations sur le concours figurent sur le site www.unesco.ch.


Contact pour les enseignants et inscription:
Lukas Schifferle
Courriel: info@unesco.ch
Téléphone: +41 31 32 31236


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Communication DFAE
Palais fédéral ouest
CH-3003 Berne
Tél. Service de communication: +41 58 462 31 53
Tél. Service de presse: +41 58 460 55 55
E-Mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE



Auteur

Département fédéral des affaires étrangères
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/dfae.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52492.html