Federal Council adopts dispatch on implementation of revised FATF recommendations

Bern, 13.12.2013 - During its meeting today, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the new Federal Act for Implementing the Revised Financial Action Task Force (FATF) Recommendations for the attention of parliament. The bill aims to enhance the effectiveness of the fight against money laundering and takes into account developments in international financial crime. In addition, the Federal Council decided to appoint an interdepartmental working group.

Based on the results of the consultation procedure, the Federal Council is proposing in its revised bill changes in the three following areas: transparency in the case of bearer shares, introduction of predicate offences in the area of tax and the suspicious activity reporting system. A series of technical changes proposed by the cantons and interested parties have also been taken into consideration. The law introduces changes in seven areas as follows:

  • Improved transparency in the case of legal entities and bearer shares, whereby the requirements of the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes are also met
  • More stringent obligations for financial intermediaries when identifying the beneficial owners of legal entities
  • Extension of the term "politically exposed person" (PEP) to include domestic PEPs and international organisation PEPs, as well as introduction of corresponding risk-based due diligence obligations
  • Introduction of a predicate offence for serious cases in the area of direct taxation and extension of the existing criminal offence of smuggling in the customs area to indirect taxation
  • Mandatory involvement of a financial intermediary for cash payments of more than CHF 100,000 for purchases of movable or immovable property
  • Increased effectiveness of the system for reporting suspicious activity
  • Improved implementation of the FATF standard regarding financial sanctions related to terrorism and terrorist financing.

Switzerland attaches great importance to maintaining a morally sound financial centre, which guarantees its appeal for international investors. It regularly adapts its legislation for combating money laundering and terrorist financing in order to take account of new risks and the development of international standards.

Switzerland has a robust and comprehensive system for combating money laundering. However, certain adjustments are needed in order to effectively implement the revised recommendations of 2012 in Switzerland and remedy some of the deficiencies identified during the FATF country evaluation of 2005. The FATF will again conduct a mutual evaluation in Switzerland in 2015 in order to examine the technical compliance of Switzerland's system with the 40 revised recommendations. Moreover, the new round of evaluations, which will be carried out in all FATF member states, will focus particularly on the effectiveness of the systems for combating money laundering and will examine how well they take account of the risks in the area of money laundering and terrorist financing.

Interdepartmental working group

The Federal Council also decided to strengthen the coordination of the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing within the Confederation. To this end, it has appointed a permanent interdepartmental working group under the leadership of the Federal Department of Finance and made up of representatives of the affected authorities. The working group will commence its work in 2014. One of its key tasks will be to assess the relevant risks at national level.

By means of this measure, the Federal Council will implement the corresponding FATF recommendation regarding national risk assessment. This new instrument will also enable Switzerland to optimise its system by strengthening the areas with high risk potential in a targeted manner and relieving those where the risk potential is lower. Finally, the analyses carried out by the working group will serve to support financial intermediaries in their risk assessment efforts.


Address for enquiries

Anne C├ęsard, Communications, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF
Tel. +41 31 322 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-51377.html

Le Conseil fédéral adopte le message relatif à la mise en œuvre des recommandations révisées du GAFI

Berne, 13.12.2013 - Lors de sa séance d'aujourd'hui, le Conseil fédéral a adopté et transmis au Parlement le message relatif à la nouvelle loi sur la mise en œuvre des recommandations révisées du Groupe d'action financière (GAFI). Le projet vise à renforcer l'efficacité du dispositif suisse en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent et permet de tenir compte de l'évolution de la criminalité financière. En outre, le Conseil fédéral a décidé de créer un groupe de travail interdépartemental.

Tenant compte des avis exprimés lors de la consultation, le Conseil fédéral propose dans son projet révisé des modifications sur trois points: transparence des actions au porteur, introduction d'infractions préalables en matière fiscale et système de communication des soupçons. Le Conseil fédéral a également retenu toute une série de modifications techniques proposées par les cantons et les milieux intéressés. La nouvelle loi introduit des modifications sur les sept points suivants:

  • amélioration de la transparence des personnes morales et des actions au porteur, ce qui permet également de répondre aux exigences du Forum mondial sur la transparence et l'échange de renseignements à des fins fiscales;
  • renforcement des obligations des intermédiaires financiers, lors de l'identification des ayants droit économiques de personnes morales;
  • extension de la définition des personnes politiquement exposées (PPE) aux PPE nationales ainsi qu'aux PPE d'organisations intergouvernementales et introduction d'obligations de diligence correspondantes fondées sur les risques;
  • introduction d'une infraction préalable pour des cas graves dans la fiscalité directe et élargissement de l'actuelle infraction de contrebande douanière dans la fiscalité indirecte;
  • obligation de recourir à un intermédiaire financier pour les paiements en espèces, lors d'opérations de vente immobilières et mobilières dépassant 100'000 francs;
  • renforcement de l'efficacité du système de communication de soupçons;
  • amélioration de la mise en œuvre de la norme du GAFI relative aux sanctions financières liées au terrorisme et au financement du terrorisme.

La Suisse accorde une grande importance au maintien d'une place financière intègre, garante de son attractivité auprès des investisseurs internationaux. Elle adapte régulièrement sa législation en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement du terrorisme afin de tenir compte des nouvelles menaces et de l'évolution des normes internationales dans ce domaine.

La Suisse dispose d'un système de lutte anti-blanchiment solide et complet. Certaines adaptations sont toutefois nécessaires pour qu'elle puisse mettre en œuvre de manière efficace les recommandations du GAFI révisées en 2012 et corriger certains points relevés lors de son examen par le GAFI en 2005. Ce dernier procédera à une nouvelle évaluation de la Suisse en 2015 afin d'examiner sa conformité technique avec les 40 recommandations révisées. En outre, ce nouveau cycle d'évaluation - qui concerne tous les pays membres du GAFI - mettra tout particulièrement l'accent sur l'efficacité des dispositifs anti-blanchiment et leur capacité à prendre en compte les risques en matière de blanchiment d'argent et de financement du terrorisme.

Groupe de travail interdépartemental

Le Conseil fédéral a par ailleurs décidé de renforcer la coordination au sein de l'administration fédérale en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement du terrorisme. A cet effet, il crée un groupe de travail interdépartemental permanent, piloté par le Département fédéral des finances et composé des autorités concernées. L'une des tâches principales de ce groupe de travail, qui débutera ses travaux en 2014, consistera à évaluer au niveau national les risques dans ce domaine.

Par cette mesure, le Conseil fédéral met en œuvre la recommandation correspondante du GAFI en matière d'évaluation nationale des risques. Ce nouvel outil permettra également à la Suisse d'optimiser son dispositif, en renforçant celui-ci dans les domaines où le risque est identifié comme élevé et en l'allégeant dans ceux où le risque est plus faible. Les analyses effectuées par le groupe de travail serviront aussi à soutenir les efforts des intermédiaires financiers en matière d'évaluation des risques.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Anne Césard, Communication du Secrétariat d'Etat aux questions financières internationales SFI
Tél. +41 31 322 62 91, anne.césard@sif.admin.ch


Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-51377.html