Federal Council adopts dispatch on inheritance tax agreement with France

Bern, 04.09.2013 - At its meeting today, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the new inheritance tax agreement with France for the attention of parliament. The agreement will prevent a legal vacuum that is detrimental to taxpayers. It also constitutes a first concrete step in the tax dialogue with France.

On 11 July 2013 in Paris, Federal Councillor Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf and the French Finance Minister, Pierre Moscovici, decided to engage in a dialogue on outstanding bilateral tax and financial issues. They signed the new double taxation agreement in the area of inheritance on this occasion.

This agreement will enter into force after it has been approved by parliament in both countries and the referendum deadline has expired in Switzerland. France has refrained from requesting that the new text be applied from 1 January 2014. The draft agreement largely follows the principles of the OECD and Switzerland's agreement policy in both formal and material terms.

The current agreement dates from 1953 and has not been revised since then. It reflects the principles pursued by the two contracting states at that time, but it is no longer in line with France's current policy in this area. In 2011, France notified Switzerland that it wished to denounce the 1953 agreement. Switzerland informed the French authorities that it preferred a revision over a legal vacuum and the associated risk of double taxation. Negotiations were subsequently held by the two countries.

While the new agreement does indeed increase the tax burden for taxpayers in France, it ensures legal certainty and prevents the risk of double taxation, unlike a situation without any agreement. In the event of a legal vacuum, taxpayers would automatically suffer the consequences of any change in the domestic laws of the two countries and be exposed to the risk of double taxation. Moreover, they would not benefit from any system allowing for the amicable settlement of possible disputes in the area of inheritance. Worse conditions would apply for the taxation of heirs resident in France and there would be no exceptions for some real estate companies held by the deceased or his or her relatives.


Address for enquiries

Anne C├ęsard, SIF Communications
+ 41 31 322 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50107.html

Le Conseil fédéral adopte le message relatif à la convention sur les successions avec la France

Berne, 04.09.2013 - Lors de sa séance d’aujourd’hui, le Conseil fédéral a adopté à l’intention des Chambres fédérales le message relatif à la nouvelle convention sur les successions entre la Suisse et la France. Cette convention évitera un vide juridique préjudiciable aux contribuables. Elle constitue aussi un premier pas concret dans le dialogue fiscal avec la France.

Le 11 juillet 2013, la conseillère fédérale Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf et le ministre français de l'économie et des finances Pierre Moscovici ont décidé à Paris d'entamer un dialogue sur les questions bilatérales encore ouvertes en matière fiscale et financière. Ils ont signé, à cette occasion, la nouvelle convention contre les doubles impositions en matière de successions.

Cette convention entrera en vigueur après approbation par les Parlements respectifs des deux Etats et une fois le délai référendaire expiré en Suisse. La France a renoncé à demander à ce que le nouveau texte s'applique à partir du 1er janvier 2014. Le projet suit dans l'ensemble, tant sur le plan formel que matériel, les principes définis par l'OCDE en la matière ainsi que la pratique conventionnelle suisse.

La convention actuelle date de 1953 et n'a jamais été révisée depuis. Elle reflète les principes suivis à l'époque par les deux Etats contractants, mais ne correspond plus à la politique actuelle de la France dans ce domaine. En 2011, cette dernière a fait savoir à la Suisse qu'elle souhaitait dénoncer le texte de 1953. La Suisse a informé les autorités françaises qu'elle préférait pour sa part une révision à un vide juridique, qui risquait d'ouvrir la voie à des doubles impositions. Les négociations ont ensuite pu avoir lieu entre les deux pays.

Certes, la  nouvelle convention alourdit notamment la charge d'imposition pour les contribuables résidant en France. Toutefois, par rapport à une situation sans convention, elle garantit une sécurité juridique et évite les risques de double imposition. En cas de vide juridique, les contribuables subiraient en effet automatiquement toute évolution du droit interne des deux Etats, courraient des risques de double imposition et ne bénéficieraient d'aucun dispositif permettant de régler à l'amiable les différends éventuels en matière de successions. En outre, l'imposition des héritiers établis en France aurait lieu à des conditions péjorées et certaines sociétés immobilières détenues par le défunt ou ses proches ne bénéficieraient pas d'exceptions.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Anne Césard, Communication SFI
+ 41 31 322 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50107.html