Federal Council adopts FATCA dispatch

Bern, 10.04.2013 - At its meeting today, the Federal Council adopted the FATCA dispatch for the attention of parliament. The agreement will help Swiss financial institutions by means of simplifications in the implementation of the US tax legislation.

Both the FATCA agreement between Switzerland and the United States that was signed on 14 February 2013 and its legal implementation were widely accepted during the consultation procedure. While the extraterritorial US tax legislation was generally criticised, it was nevertheless acknowledged that, with the agreement, Switzerland had achieved simplifications in the implementation of the legislation for Swiss financial institutions.

With the enactment of FATCA, the United States wishes to ensure that all income earned worldwide by US taxpayers on accounts held abroad can be taxed by the United States. FATCA essentially requires foreign financial institutions to register with the US tax authorities (Internal Revenue Service, IRS) and report on identified US accounts or else to deduct and transfer a withholding tax.

The FATCA agreement enables Swiss financial institutions to exchange information with the IRS and provides for simplifications in implementing FATCA. The Final Regulations published by the US Treasury and the IRS on 17 January 2013 are applicable to Swiss financial institutions to the extent that the agreement and its annexes do not expressly make provision for derogations from the rules.

The agreement ensures that the accounts held by US persons with Swiss financial institutions are disclosed to the US tax authorities either with the consent of the account holder or through normal administrative assistance channels. Consequently, information will not be transferred automatically in the absence of consent, and instead will be exchanged only on the basis of the administrative assistance clause in the double taxation agreement.

As the United States will phase in FATCA from 1 January 2014, Swiss financial institutions will be forced to implement FATCA from this date, irrespective of an agreement between Switzerland and the United States, if they do not want to be excluded from the US capital market. The agreed simplifications will not apply if there is no agreement.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, SIF Communications
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-48430.html

Le Conseil fédéral adopte le message relatif à l'accord FATCA

Berne, 10.04.2013 - Lors de sa séance d'aujourd'hui, le Conseil fédéral a adopté le message relatif à l'accord FATCA destiné aux Chambres fédérales. Grâce à cet accord, les établissements financiers suisses pourront mettre en œuvre plus facilement la loi fiscale américaine.

L'accord FATCA signé par la Suisse et les Etats-Unis le 14 février 2013 et sa mise en œuvre au niveau de la loi ont été approuvés par une majorité des participants à la consultation.  Des critiques ont certes été formulées à l'encontre de la dimension extraterritoriale de la législation fiscale américaine, mais les facilités de mise en œuvre, que la Suisse a obtenues au travers de l'accord pour les établissements financiers suisses, ont été appréciées.

Par le biais du FATCA, les Etats-Unis entendent obtenir l'imposition aux Etats-Unis de tous les revenus provenant de comptes détenus dans tout pays étranger par des personnes soumises au fisc américain. Le FATCA exige en principe des établissements financiers étrangers qu'ils s'enregistrent auprès des autorités fiscales américaines (Internal Revenue Service, IRS), communiquent des renseignements sur les clients américains qu'ils ont identifiés ou retiennent un impôt à la source et le versent à l'IRS.

L'accord FATCA permet aux établissements financiers suisses d'échanger des renseignements avec l'IRS et leur garantit des simplications au niveau de la mise en œuvre. Les dispositions d'exécution définitives (Final Regulations) publiées le 17 janvier 2013 par le Trésor américain et l'IRS devront être appliquées par les établissements financiers suisses à moins que l'accord et ses annexes n'en disposent explicitement autrement.

L'accord garantit que les comptes détenus par des personnes américaines auprès d'établissements financiers suisses seront déclarés aux autorités fiscales américaines avec l'autorisation du titulaire du compte ou par le biais de l'assistance administrative ordinaire. En l'absence d'autorisation, les renseignements ne seront donc pas échangés automatiquement, mais uniquement sur la base de la clause d'assistance administrative prévue par la convention contre les doubles impositions.

Dès le 1er janvier 2014, indépendamment de la conclusion d'un accord entre la Suisse et les Etats-Unis, le FATCA entrera progressivement en vigueur aux Etats-Unis et les établissements financiers suisses seront tenus de le mettre en œuvre s'ils ne veulent pas être exclus du marché américain des capitaux. Faute d'accord, les facilités convenues ne s'appliqueraient pas.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Mario Tuor, Communication SFI
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch
Département fédéral des finances DFF



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-48430.html