International Code of Conduct for Private Security Service Providers – consensus on oversight mechanism

Bern, 22.02.2013 - Agreement has been reached on the Charter for the Oversight Mechanism of the International Code of Conduct for Private Security Service Providers (ICoC). A large group of representatives from signatory companies, civil society and governments were involved in the successful negotiations, which were held in Montreux from 19 and 22 February 2013.

The purpose of this independent governance and oversight mechanism, which will be based in Geneva, is to ensure the effective implementation of the ICoC through the certification and monitoring of private security providers, as well as through the adoption of a third-party complaint process. The Code of Conduct explicitly prohibits a number of activities, including the use of force (except in self-defence), torture, discrimination and human trafficking.

The ICoC initiative was launched by Switzerland on 9 November 2010 and is based on the “Montreux Document on pertinent international legal obligations and good practices for States related to operations of private military and security companies during armed conflict” of 17 September 2008. Its aim is to ensure that the actions of private security providers do not contravene human rights or international humanitarian law. To date, almost 600 private security companies have signed the ICoC.

The Swiss government would like to thank everyone who was involved in the negotiations, as well as the Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces (DCAF) for contributing to the successful outcome of the talks.


Address for enquiries

FDFA Communication
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47889.html

Code de conduite des entreprises de sécurité privées – Mécanisme de contrôle négocié avec succès

Berne, 22.02.2013 - La Charte du mécanisme de gouvernance et de contrôle du Code de conduite international des entreprises de sécurité privées (ICoC) est sous toit. Elle a été négociée par un important groupe de représentants d’entreprises de sécurité privées, d’organisations de la société civile et d’Etats qui étaient réunis du 19 au 22 février 2013 à Montreux.

Ce mécanisme de gouvernance et de contrôle sera basé à Genève. Il prévoit des fonctions pour la certification des entreprises de sécurité privées, le monitoring et le traitement des plaintes, afin d’assurer la mise en œuvre effective de l’ICoC. Le Code interdit explicitement certaines activités, notamment le recours à la force à l’exception des cas de légitime défense, la torture, la discrimination et la traite des êtres humains.

L’ICoC est une initiative qui avait été lancée par la Suisse le 9 novembre 2010, sur la base du « Document de Montreux sur les obligations juridiques pertinentes et les bonnes pratiques pour les États en ce qui concerne les opérations des entreprises militaires et de sécurité privées opérant pendant les conflits armés » du 17 septembre 2008. Son objectif est de garantir le respect des droits de l’homme et du droit international humanitaire par les entreprises de sécurité privées. Actuellement, près de 600 d’entre elles ont signé l’ICoC.

Le gouvernement suisse tient à remercier tous les participants, ainsi que le Centre pour le Contrôle Démocratique des Forces Armées (DCAF), pour avoir activement contribué à ce résultat.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Communication DFAE
Palais fédéral ouest
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE



Auteur

Département fédéral des affaires étrangères
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/dfae.html

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47889.html