Federal Council presents overview of financial market policy

Bern, 19.12.2012 - During its meeting today, the Federal Council adopted an overview of financial market policy. Included are measures to boost the competitiveness of the financial centre and to combat abuses in a more targeted manner. All of the measures outlined in the report aim to maintain and improve the quality, stability and integrity of the financial centre.

The strategic orientation of Switzerland's financial market policy is geared towards boosting competitiveness, combating financial crime and the investment of untaxed assets in Switzerland more intensively, concluding international withholding tax agreements with more countries and enshrining standard-compliant administrative and mutual assistance in law. A package of measures, each consistently focused on the objectives of quality, stability and integrity, should help to ensure that the framework for the Swiss financial centre is optimised and respected internationally.

Strengthening competitiveness

Traditionally strong in wealth management, Switzerland's financial market has growth potential above all in the areas of asset management, pension funds and the capital market. In order to be able to better exploit this potential, the Federal Council is prepared to undertake an in-depth analysis of the business environment for the financial centre. Regulatory and tax adjustments should not only improve conditions for existing business areas, but also enable the private sector to develop new business areas.

Due diligence requirements and combating abuses

The Federal Council is stepping up its efforts to combat abuses in the area of money laundering and taxation. By swiftly implementing the revised Recommendations of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), Switzerland is emphasising that it attaches high priority to the obligations it assumes through its international commitments. Serious tax offences will now be punishable also under the heading of money laundering. In the event that they suspect serious tax offences, financial intermediaries must report these cases to the Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland.

Furthermore, withholding tax agreements, administrative and mutual assistance in accordance with the international standard and additional due diligence requirements represent effective and forward-looking means of combating abuses in the area of taxation. At the same time, they can help ensure that the legitimate need for protection of clients' privacy is preserved. Switzerland will therefore continue to consistently pursue the route that it has followed since 2009 to resolve problems in the area of taxation. The agreements with the United Kingdom and Austria should be followed by agreements with other countries both within and outside Europe.

When accepting new assets, financial intermediaries should take into account not only the risks of money laundering and terrorist financing, but also tax considerations. On 14 December 2012, the Federal Council instructed the FDF to present a corresponding consultation draft at the start of 2013. The aim of the due diligence requirements is to prevent the acceptance of untaxed assets. As with the due diligence requirements for combating money laundering and terrorist financing, the scope of the examination is based on the degree of risk posed by the contracting party. The consultation procedure on the improvement of due diligence requirements in the area of taxation will commence at the same time as that on the implementation of the revised FATF Recommendations.

Accompanying measures

The accompanying measures take particular account of the close ties between the financial sector and the wider economy. Both companies and households are reliant on a financial centre which functions properly and which can satisfy the various client needs with a cost-effective and multifaceted product range. This includes not only a developed capital market for corporate financing, but also regulations that ensure that clients are appropriately informed.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Head of SIF Communications
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47291.html

Le Conseil fédéral présente sa vue d’ensemble de la politique de la Confédération en matière de marchés financiers

Berne, 19.12.2012 - Lors de sa séance d'aujourd'hui, le Conseil fédéral a approuvé le rapport sur la politique de la Confédération en matière de marchés financiers. Celui-ci contient des mesures visant à améliorer la compétitivité de la place financière et à intensifier la lutte contre les abus. Toutes les mesures esquissées dans le rapport sont destinées à maintenir ainsi qu’ à améliorer la qualité, la stabilité et l'intégrité de la place financière.

L'orientation stratégique de la politique suisse en matière de marchés financiers consiste à améliorer la compétitivité, à renforcer la lutte contre la criminalité financière et contre le placement d'avoirs non fiscalisés en Suisse, à conclure des accords internationaux en matière d'imposition à la source avec d'autres Etats et à introduire dans le droit suisse les règles d'une assistance administrative et d'une entraide judiciaire conformes aux normes internationales. Des trains de mesures focalisés sur la qualité, la stabilité et l'intégrité permettront d'optimiser les conditions cadres de la place financière suisse et d'en assurer le respect sur le plan international.

Amélioration de la compétitivité

Le potentiel de croissance de la place financière suisse, dont l'atout traditionnel est la gestion de fortune, réside essentiellement dans les domaines de la gestion d'actifs, de la prévoyance et du marché des capitaux. Pour exploiter au mieux ce potentiel, le Conseil fédéral est prêt à analyser en détail les conditions cadres de la place financière. Par des adaptations d'ordre réglementaire et fiscal, il s'agit non seulement d'améliorer les conditions régissant des domaines déjà exploités, mais encore de permettre au secteur privé de développer de nouveaux champs d'activité.

Lutte contre les abus et obligations de diligence

Le Conseil fédéral intensifie sa lutte contre les abus visant à blanchir de l'argent ou à frauder le fisc. En mettant rapidement en œuvre les recommandations révisées du Groupe d'action financière (GAFI), la Suisse confirme qu'elle attache une grande importance aux engagements qu'elle a souscrits au niveau international. De graves délits fiscaux tomberont  à l'avenir aussi sous le coup des dispositions réprimant le blanchiment d'argent. S'ils soupçonnent de graves délits fiscaux, les intermédiaires financiers devront signaler les infractions au Bureau de communication en matière de blanchiment d'argent.

Les accords sur l'imposition à la source, les dispositions sur l'assistance administrative et l'entraide judiciaire conformes aux normes internationales ainsi que les obligations de diligence supplémentaires constituent des instruments efficaces et prometteurs de la lutte contre les abus en matière fiscale. Simultanément, ils permettent de répondre aux besoins légitimes de protection de la sphère privée des clients. Ainsi, la Suisse poursuivra résolument sur la voie dans laquelle elle s'est engagée en 2009 pour résoudre les problèmes rencontrés dans le domaine fiscal. Les accords conclus avec le Royaume-Uni et l'Autriche seront suivis d'accords avec d'autres Etats membres et non membres de l'UE.

En acceptant de nouveaux avoirs, les intermédiaires financiers devront se préoccuper tant des risques de blanchiment d'argent et de financement du terrorisme que des aspects fiscaux. Le 14 décembre 2012, le Conseil fédéral a chargé le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) de lui soumettre, au début de l'année 2013, un projet de loi correspondant destiné à la consultation . Les obligations de diligence ont pour but d'empêcher l'acceptation d'avoirs non fiscalisés. Par analogie à ce que prévoient les obligations de diligence visant à lutter contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement du terrorisme, la portée de l'examen nécessaire dans ce contexte est définie en fonction du risque que représente la partie contractante. La procédure de consultation relative au renforcement des obligations de diligence en matière fiscale sera lancée en même temps que celle qui concerne la mise en œuvre des recommandations révisées du GAFI.

Mesures d'accompagnement

Les mesures d'accompagnement tiennent particulièrement compte des relations étroites qui existent entre le secteur financier et l'économie dans son ensemble. Les entreprises et les ménages sont tributaires d'une place financière performante qui prenne en considération les divers besoins de la clientèle tout en offrant un large éventail de produits avantageux. Cela implique un marché des capitaux bien étoffé assurant le financement des entreprises, mais également des règles garantissant une information appropriée de la clientèle.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Mario Tuor, responsable de la communication du SFI
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47291.html