Switzerland and Angola sign agreement on the restitution of Angolan assets

Bern, 17.12.2012 - Switzerland will repatriate monies of Angolan origin of about USD 43 million to Angola. The assets will be used to fund development projects that directly benefit the population. On 17 December 2012, Secretary of State Yves Rossier and his Angolan counterpart Carlos Alberto Fonseca signed a corresponding agreement.

The backdrop to the restitution are judicial proceedings of the Genevan judicial authorities regarding alleged money laundering, which at the end of 2008 led to the confiscation of the assets now to be restituted. 

According to the terms of the agreement, the assets will be used for development projects designed to benefit the Angolan people. Switzerland and Angola will implement the agreement jointly. The Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) is responsible for its implementation on behalf of Switzerland.  

For over 20 years, Switzerland has been committed to preventing its financial centre from being misused as a safe haven for illicitly acquired assets. Internationally, it plays a pioneering role in the restitution to the countries of origin of assets stolen by politically exposed persons. The World Bank estimates that worldwide about USD 5 billion were repatriated to the countries concerned over the last fifteen years. With over CHF 1.7 billion, Switzerland contributed a good one third of this, more than any other financial centre. Switzerland ensures that the assets are restituted transparently and used to make a concrete contribution to improving the living conditions of the population in the affected countries.  

Further enquiry:

Information FDFA, +41 (0)31 322 31 53, info@eda.admin.ch


Address for enquiries

FDFA Information
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47233.html

La Suisse et l'Angola signent un accord sur la restitution de valeurs patrimoniales angolaises

Berne, 17.12.2012 - La Suisse va restituer à l'Angola des fonds d'origine angolaise évalués à environ 43 millions de dollars américains. Ces valeurs patrimoniales seront affectées à des projets de développement qui profiteront directement à la population angolaise. Le secrétaire d'Etat Yves Rossier et son homologue angolais Carlos Alberto Fonseca ont signé un accord en ce sens le 17 décembre 2012.

Cette restitution intervient au terme d'une procédure judiciaire engagée par la justice genevoise pour présomption de blanchiment d'argent, qui avait conduit fin 2008 à la confiscation des fonds restitués aujourd'hui. 

Selon les termes de l'accord, les valeurs patrimoniales serviront à financer des projets de développement en faveur de la population angolaise. La mise en application de cet accord sera menée conjointement par l'Angola et par la Suisse, cette dernière étant représentée par la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC).  

Depuis plus de 20 ans, la Suisse met tout en œuvre pour éviter que sa place financière ne serve de refuge à des avoirs d’origine illicite. Au niveau international, elle fait office de pionnier dans la restitution de fonds acquis illégalement par des personnes politiquement exposées. La Banque mondiale estime à près de 5 milliards de dollars américains le montant des avoirs restitués à leurs pays d'origine au cours des quinze dernières années. En restituant plus d'un tiers de cette somme, soit 1,7 milliard de francs suisse, la Suisse s'est engagée plus que toute autre place financière dans cette entreprise. Elle veille à ce que les fonds soient restitués en toute transparence et investis de manière concrète dans l'amélioration des conditions de vie des populations vivant dans les pays d'origine.  

Demande de précisions:

Information DFAE, +41 (0)31 322 31 53, info@eda.admin.ch


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Information DFAE
Palais fédéral ouest
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE



Auteur

Département fédéral des affaires étrangères
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/home/recent/media.html

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47233.html