Tax agreement: the FDF takes note of the decision of Germany's Bundesrat

Bern, 23.11.2012 - The Federal Department of Finance (FDF) has taken note of today's decision by Germany's Bundesrat on the bilateral withholding tax agreement. Following approval by the Bundestag, the agreement did not receive the required number of "yes" votes in the Bundesrat.

The President of the Swiss Confederation and Head of the FDF, Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf, stated that "Switzerland remains prepared to bring the ratification process with Germany to a successful conclusion". There are no obstacles to ratification on the Swiss side, given that parliament approved the agreement in June and the referendum did not take place. The procedure has not yet been completed in Germany. The outcome of a conciliation committee that may be convened - comprising members of both the Bundestag and the Bundesrat -remains to be seen.

The withholding tax agreement concluded between Switzerland and Germany makes it possible to solve the long-standing problem of untaxed German funds in Switzerland and thereby to improve bilateral relations. The agreement ensures implementation of Germany's legitimate tax claims and at the same time protects the privacy of bank clients.

The ratification process with the United Kingdom and Austria has already been concluded. The President of the Swiss Confederation, Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf, emphasised that "Switzerland will in any case bring the withholding tax agreements with the United Kingdom and Austria into force on 1 January 2013". Furthermore, Switzerland is currently holding negotiations with Italy and Greece on agreements of this nature. Other countries both within and outside Europe have also shown an interest in this model.


Address for enquiries

Roland Meier, Media Spokesperson FDF
+41 31 322 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch
Mario Tuor, SIF Communications
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch


Publisher

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46841.html

Accord fiscal: le DFF prend acte de la décision du Bundesrat d'Allemagne

Berne, 23.11.2012 - Le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) a pris acte de la décision prise aujourd'hui par le Bundesrat (Chambre des Länder) d'Allemagne concernant l'accord bilatéral sur l'imposition à la source. Après avoir été approuvé par le Bundestag, l'accord n'a pas obtenu le nombre de voix nécessaires au Bundesrat.

Comme l'a relevé la présidente de la Confédération et cheffe du DFF, Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf, la Suisse reste disposée à œuvrer conjointement avec l'Allemagne à l'aboutissement du processus de ratification. Du côté de la Suisse, rien ne s'oppose à la ratification, le Parlement ayant approuvé l'accord en juin et la demande de référendum n'ayant pas abouti. Le processus n'est pas encore achevé en Allemagne. Il reste à connaître les conclusions d'une éventuelle commission de conciliation comprenant des représentants des deux Chambres (Bundestag et Bundesrat).

L'accord sur l'imposition à la source conclu entre la Suisse et l'Allemagne permet de résoudre le problème récurrent des fonds allemands non fiscalisés et déposés en Suisse et par là d'améliorer les relations bilatérales entre les deux pays. Il garantit la satisfaction des prétentions fiscales justifiées de l'Allemagne tout en préservant la sphère privée des clients des banques.

Les processus de ratification avec la Grande-Bretagne et avec l'Autriche sont déjà achevés. La présidente de la Confédération Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf précise que, quoiqu'il advienne, la Suisse mettra en vigueur au 1er janvier 2013 les accords conclus avec la Grande-Bretagne et l'Autriche sur l'imposition à la source. Par ailleurs, la Suisse mène actuellement des négociations avec l'Italie et la Grèce concernant des accords du même genre. D'autres Etats européens et extra européens s'intéressent également à ce modèle.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Roland Meier, porte-parole du DFF
+41 31 322 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch
Mario Tuor, Communication SFI
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch


Auteur

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46841.html