Federal Council presents report on compatibility of QIA with banking secrecy

Bern, 10.10.2012 - During its meeting today, the Federal Council adopted a report on the compatibility of the so-called Qualified Intermediary Agreement (QIA) with Swiss bank client confidentiality. The Federal Council stated that banking secrecy would not be violated by the Swiss banks' agreement with the United States. With this report, the Federal Council fulfils a mandate from the Control Committees of the National Council and Council of States from 2010.

On 30 May 2010, in their report on the disclosure of UBS client data, the Control Committees of the National Council and Council of States instructed the Federal Council to clarify questions on the application of Article 271 of the Criminal Code (SCC) and on the compatibility of the QIA with Swiss banking secrecy.

This request from the Control Committees of the National Council and Council of States was prompted by the general authorisation in accordance with Article 271 para. 1 of the Swiss Criminal Code issued in 2000 by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) for those persons dealing with the enforcement of the QIA concluded between the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and Swiss banks or securities dealers. The FDF authorisation allowed those persons dealing with the application of the QIA, i.e. employees of banks and securities dealers, to carry out withholding tax deductions, in particular, based on US law.

According to the current qualified intermediary system, non-US persons do not have to disclose their identity to the IRS, whereas since 1 January 2001, US persons have been allowed to hold US securities only if they were prepared to sign a so-called W-9 form. The information on the form allows the qualified intermediary (QI) to disclose income earned on the securities to the IRS and thereby disclose the identity of the US person. The QI had to obtain the approval of clients to disclose their identity or obtain their consent that no US securities were being held for them. Due to the options that exist, the Federal Council concluded that the QIA does not violate banking secrecy.  

With regard to the authorisation granted in 2000 in accordance with Article 271 para. 1 of the Swiss Criminal Code, the Federal Council is of the opinion that, as things currently stand, authorisations of such political relevance as this case come under its authority and a generally abstract ruling on an individual authorisation with an undefined target group would have been preferable.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Communications, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters (SIF), tel.
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46272.html

Le Conseil fédéral publie son rapport concernant la compatibilité du QIA avec le secret bancaire

Berne, 10.10.2012 - Au cours de sa séance d’aujourd'hui, le Conseil fédéral a adopté le rapport concernant la compatibilité de l'accord d’intermédiaire qualifié («Qualified Intermediary Agreement», QIA) avec le secret bancaire suisse. Selon lui, l’accord conclu entre les banques suisses et les Etats-Unis ne viole pas le secret bancaire. Le rapport du Conseil fédéral répond à la demande formulée en 2010 par les Commissions de gestion du Conseil national et du Conseil des Etats.

Dans leur rapport du 30 mai 2010 concernant la transmission de données de clients d'UBS, les Commissions de gestion (CdG) du Conseil national et du Conseil des Etats avaient chargé le Conseil fédéral de répondre à certaines questions relatives à l'application de l'art. 271 du Code pénal (CP) et à la compatibilité du QIA avec le secret bancaire suisse.

Les CdG ont formulé leur demande suite à l'octroi par le Département fédéral des finances (DFF), en 2000, d'une autorisation fondée sur l'art. 271, al. 1, CP et destinée à l'ensemble des personnes chargées de l'exécution des QIA conclus entre l'autorité fiscale américaine («Internal Revenue Service», IRS) et des banques ou des négociants en valeurs mobilières suisses. L'autorisation du DFF permettait aux personnes chargées d'appliquer le QIA - notamment des employés de banque et des négociants en valeurs mobilières - de procéder en particulier au prélèvement de l'impôt à la source selon le droit américain.

Selon le système de l'intermédiaire qualifié en vigueur, les «non-U.S. persons» ne sont pas tenues de dévoiler leur identité à l'IRS, tandis que les «U.S. persons» ne peuvent, depuis le 1er janvier 2001, détenir des titres américains que si elles sont disposées à signer le formulaire W-9. Les indications figurant sur ce formulaire permettent à l'intermédiaire qualifié de communiquer à l'IRS les revenus provenant des titres détenus et de divulguer ainsi l'identité des «U.S. persons». L'intermédiaire qualifié doit obtenir du client qu'il accepte la divulgation de son identité ou l'interdiction qui lui est faite de détenir des titres américains. Le client ayant le choix entre plusieurs options, le Conseil fédéral conclut que le QIA ne viole pas le secret bancaire.

En ce qui concerne l'autorisation octroyée en 2000 sur la base de l'art. 271, ch. 1, CP, le Conseil fédéral estime aujourd'hui que les autorisations revêtant une telle importance politique relèvent de sa compétence et qu'il aurait été préférable d'opter dans ce cas pour une réglementation générale et abstraite plutôt que pour une autorisation particulière en faveur d'un cercle de destinataires indéterminé.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Mario Tuor, Communication du Secrétariat d’Etat aux questions financières internationales (SFI)
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46272.html