Federal Council wants better regulation of OTC derivatives trading and financial market infrastructure

Bern, 29.08.2012 - At its meeting today, the Federal Council decided to introduce new legal provisions for OTC derivatives trading. At the same time, the regulations in the area of financial market infrastructure are to be amended. The Federal Department of Finance has been instructed to prepare a draft consultation paper by spring 2013.

The financial crisis highlighted that the lack of transparency on the markets for derivatives traded over the counter (so-called OTC derivatives markets) can threaten the stability of the entire financial system due to their strong international integration and the heavy trading volume and default risks. Since then, international efforts have been afoot, in particular undertaken by the G20 and the Financial Stability Board (FSB), to improve transparency and stability in the OTC derivatives market.

The existing Swiss regulation of financial market infrastructure is no longer appropriate given the developments on the financial markets. Furthermore, it also no longer satisfies the new standards developed by international bodies for important financial market infrastructure institutions such as trading platforms, central settlement offices, securities depositories or trade repositories.

International standards in the areas of OTC derivatives trading and financial market infrastructure are currently being implemented in national legislation in several countries. The EU and the United States in particular are relatively far advanced here.

To safeguard the competitiveness of the Swiss financial centre and to strengthen financial stability, it is necessary for Switzerland to implement the G20 obligations and the FSB recommendations on OTC derivatives trading as fully as possible and at the same time as other financial centres. In addition, regulation in the area of financial market infrastructure has to be adapted to international standards. In order to ensure the competitiveness of Swiss market players and market access in the EU, regulation equivalent to that of the EU is to be sought in both areas.

Remarks on the text:

In September 2009, the G20 countries committed themselves to the following by the end of 2012:
• to ensure that standardised OTC derivative transactions, if appropriate, will be traded via stock markets or other electronic platforms;
• to have standardised OTC derivative contracts cleared by central counterparties; and
• to ensure that all OTC derivative transactions are reported to trade repositories.
• In addition, bilaterally settled OTC derivative transactions should be subject to more stringent capital requirements.

The FSB has issued implementing recommendations and regularly examines these for its member states. Switzerland is a member of the FSB.

 


Address for enquiries

Roland Meier, FDF Media Spokesperson,
+41 31 322 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-45737.html

Le Conseil fédéral entend améliorer la réglementation sur le négoce hors bourse de dérivés et l’infrastructure des marchés financiers

Berne, 29.08.2012 - Lors de sa séance d'aujourd'hui, le Conseil fédéral a décidé de mettre en chantier une nouvelle législation en matière de négoce hors bourse de dérivés. Parallèlement, la réglementation de l’infrastructure des marchés financiers sera adaptée. Le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) a été chargé d'élaborer un projet destiné à la consultation d'ici au printemps 2013.

La crise financière a montré que le manque de transparence sur les marchés des dérivés négociés hors bourse (dérivés négociés de gré à gré, appelés également dérivés OTC [over the counter]) pouvait déstabiliser l'ensemble du système financier en raison de la forte implication de ces dérivés au niveau international ainsi que du volume important des affaires et des risques de pertes. Depuis lors, les efforts se succèdent, en particulier au sein du G20 et du Conseil de stabilité financière (CSF), pour améliorer la transparence et la stabilité des marchés de dérivés OTC.

Eu égard aux changements intervenus sur les marchés financiers, l'actuelle réglementation suisse en matière d'infrastructure des marchés est dépassée. En outre, elle ne répond plus aux nouvelles exigences définies par les organismes internationaux pour les grandes infrastructures des marchés financiers que sont les plateformes de négoce, les chambres de compensation centralisées, les gardiens de valeurs et les référentiels centraux.

Plusieurs Etats intègrent actuellement dans leur législation les normes internationales en matière de négoce de dérivés hors bourse et d'infrastructure des marchés financiers. L'Union européenne et les Etats-Unis ont pris de l'avance sur ce point.

Afin de maintenir la compétitivité de sa place financière et de renforcer la stabilité financière, la Suisse doit mettre en œuvre, aussi complètement que possible et parallèlement aux autres pays abritant une place financière, les engagements du G20 et les recommandations du CSF concernant le négoce des dérivés de gré à gré. En outre, elle doit adapter aux normes internationales sa régulation en matière d'infrastructure des marchés financiers. Pour que les acteurs suisses du marché restent concurrentiels et que l'accès au marché de l'Union européenne demeure possible, une réglementation équivalente à celle de l'Union européenne doit être adoptée dans ces deux domaines.

Explications relatives au texte:
En septembre 2009, les Etats membres du G20 se sont engagés d'ici à fin 2012:
• à garantir que les contrats de gré à gré standardisés seront négociés, dans la mesure du possible, en bourse ou au moyen d'autres plateformes électroniques;
• à effectuer la compensation (clearing) de contrats standardisés de dérivés par des contreparties centrales;
• à prendre des mesures pour que tous les contrats de gré à gré standardisés soient déclarés auprès de bases centrales de données (trade repositories);
• à soumettre enfin à des exigences plus élevées en matière de fonds propres les contrats de gré à gré standardisés compensés bilatéralement.

Le CSF a émis des recommandations relatives à la mise en œuvre. Il contrôle régulièrement ses Etats membres, dont fait partie la Suisse.

 


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Roland Meier, porte-parole du DFF,
+41 31 322 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch


Auteur

Conseil fédéral
https://www.admin.ch/gov/fr/accueil.html

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-45737.html