International Roadmap for a Green Economy

Bern, 03.11.2011 - On 1 November 2011 Switzerland submitted its contribution to the paper which will form the basis of negotiations at the UN Conference on Sustainable Development (UNCSD) in Rio de Janeiro in June 2012. The submission includes a proposal for the adoption of an international roadmap towards a green economy. Information about the conference can be found on the website launched today: www.rio20.ch.

The fourth major conference to address the issue of sustainable development will take place in Rio de Janeiro from 4 to 6 June 2012. The UN Conference on Sustainable Development will be held under the heading Rio+20, as twenty years ago the UN Conference on Environment and Development (Earth Summit) was also held in Rio. At Rio+20 the international community wants to renew its commitment to sustainable development. The two main themes of the conference are the green economy in the context of sustainable development and poverty eradication and the institutional framework for sustainable development (see box).

Switzerland is also actively involved in this process. The Federal Council has appointed the Federal Office for the Environment FOEN to coordinate the work. Over the past few months, the FOEN has worked with other federal offices and representatives of the cantons, communes and environment, development and youth organisations, political parties, business associations and academics to draw up a Swiss submission to contribute to preparations for the conference. The actual mandate for negotiations will be approved by the Federal Council at the beginning of 2012.

Renewing commitment to Sustainable Development

On 1 November 2011 Switzerland submitted its proposal to the Secretariat of the Rio+20 Conference within the set deadline. The submission, along with those of other countries, civil society, scientific and economic organisations, will now be incorporated by the conference secretariat into an initial draft of the negotiating text. This will be elaborated at regular negotiation sessions in the run up to the conference in Rio.

With regard to the green economy, Switzerland proposes a Green Economy Roadmap which will help the international community towards developing a greener economy. The roadmap is to contain a political part with a shared vision, common goals and clear milestones. At an operative level, the roadmap will suggest instruments necessary for achieving the transition to a green economy, which contributes to all aspects of sustainable development. According to the Swiss submission, this will require national strategies, national data on environmental pollution caused by production and consumption, ecologically transparent markets and trade, education, sustainable agriculture and resource-efficient and clean production techniques. We also need to move away from our dependence on fossil fuels.

Improvement to institutional framework

The current structures for achieving sustainable development policy are inefficient at all levels and in all areas. Switzerland therefore proposes a comprehensive review and reform of structures at the international level. Among these, the UN Commission for Sustainable Development (CSD) should be restructured and have a stronger focus on monitoring and supporting national sustainable development policies and encouraging the greater involvement of civil society. Switzerland would like to see a stronger international environment policy. It also stresses the importance of national and local governance.

www.rio20.ch: Swiss website on the UNCSD

To coincide with the submission of the Swiss proposal, the www.rio20.ch website went online on 3 November. This site provides an overview of the themes and objectives of the conference, along with up-to-date news on the main issues. It provides a platform on which the major actors (federal, cantonal and communal authorities; environmental, development and youth organisations, political parties, business associations and academics) can present their activities related to Rio+20.


BOX:
The themes of Rio+20

In terms of a green economy, the question is how to achieve economic development while using resources sparingly and generating as little environmental pollution as possible, thereby contributing to a sustainable development and poverty reduction. In terms of the institutional framework for sustainable development, the aim is to discuss how the UN's sustainability and environment bodies can be more efficiently organised and how civil society can play a more active role.


Address for enquiries

Media Section
Telephone: +41 58 462 90 00
E-mail: mediendienst@bafu.admin.ch



Publisher

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
http://www.bafu.admin.ch/en

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation
http://www.deza.admin.ch/index.php?langID=1

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs
http://www.seco.admin.ch

Federal Office for Spatial Development
https://www.are.admin.ch/are/en/home.html

Swiss Federal Office for Agriculture
http://www.blw.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-42066.html

Feuille de route internationale pour une économie verte

Berne, 03.11.2011 - La Suisse a remis le 1er novembre 2011 sa proposition pour les délibérations de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le développement durable qui se tiendra en juin 2012 à Rio de Janeiro. La proposition englobe entre autres l’adoption d’une feuille de route internationale pour la transition vers une économie verte. Le site Internet www.rio20.ch, qui a été mis en ligne aujourd’hui, fournit des informations sur la conférence.

Du 4 au 6 juin 2012 aura lieu à Rio de Janeiro la 4e grande conférence de l'ONU sur les questions de durabilité. Son titre, Rio+20, fait référence à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'environnement et le développement - ou Sommet de la Terre - qui s'était tenue à Rio en 1992, et traduit la volonté des Etats de renouveler leur engagement pour le développement durable. La conférence sera consacrée à deux thèmes majeurs: l'économie verte, axée sur le développement durable et la lutte contre la pauvreté, et la gouvernance pour un développement durable (voir encadré).

La Suisse participe activement au processus. Le Conseil fédéral a chargé l'Office fédéral de l'environnement (OFEV) de coordonner les travaux. L'OFEV a élaboré au cours des derniers mois un document préparatoire pour la conférence en collaboration avec de nombreux autres acteurs: offices fédéraux, cantons, communes, organisations environnementales et de développement, mouvements de jeunesse, partis politiques, associations économiques et milieux scientifiques. Le mandat de négociation définitif sera adopté par le Conseil fédéral début 2012.

Renouveler l'engagement pour le développement durable

La Suisse a remis sa proposition au Secrétariat de la conférence le 1er novembre 2011. Ce document, au même titre que les propositions provenant d'autres Etats, d'organisations de la société civile ou encore des milieux scientifiques ou économiques, servira à l'élaboration d'une première version du texte de négociation. A partir de janvier 2012, ce projet de texte sera concrétisé lors de négociations qui se tiendront à intervalles réguliers, en vue de la conférence de Rio.

Pour ce qui est de l'économie verte, la Susse propose pour Rio+20 une feuille de route internationale (Green Economy Roadmap) montrant la voie vers une économie verte. Ce document contient un volet politique, formulant une vision et des objectifs communs et définissant un calendrier et des échéances. Au niveau opérationnel, il propose des instruments pour transformer l'économie en une économie verte et renforcer ainsi chacun des piliers du développement durable. Selon la proposition suisse, la transition doit reposer sur des stratégies nationales, des données nationales sur l'impact de la production et de la consommation sur l'environnement, la transparence écologique des marchés et du commerce, la formation, une agriculture durable, une production propre peu gourmande en ressources ainsi que la fin de la dépendance aux énergies fossiles.

Meilleures structures de gouvernance

Les structures actuelles pour concrétiser le développement durable manquent d'efficacité à tous les niveaux et dans tous les domaines. C'est pourquoi la Suisse propose un réexamen et une refonte des structures au plan international. La Commission du développement durable des Nations Unies (CSD) doit notamment être restructurée afin de mettre davantage l'accent sur le contrôle et le suivi des politiques nationales en matière de développement durable et sur une meilleure intégration de la société civile. La Suisse estime également que le renforcement de la politique environnementale internationale est primordial. Elle souligne par ailleurs l'importance de la gouvernance aux échelons national et local.

www.rio20.ch: un site Internet suisse sur la Conférence Rio+20

Parallèlement à la remise de la proposition suisse à l'ONU, le site Internet www.rio20.ch a été mis en ligne le 3 novembre 2011. Il donne un aperçu des thèmes et objectifs de la Conférence Rio+20, contient des informations d'actualité et fournit aux acteurs impliqués (Confédération, cantons, communes, organisations de protection de l'environnement et de développement, mouvements de jeunesse, partis politiques, associations économiques et milieux scientifiques) une plate-forme sur laquelle ils peuvent présenter leurs activités.


ENCADRÉ :
Les thèmes de Rio+20

En matière d'économie verte, il s'agit de montrer comment obtenir un développement économique qui ménage les ressources et affecte le moins possible l'environnement, concourant ainsi au développement durable et à la lutte contre la pauvreté. Quant aux débats sur la gouvernance durable, ils doivent esquisser les possibilités d'améliorer le fonctionnement des institutions onusiennes qui œuvrent en faveur du développement durable et de l'environnement et indiquer comment mieux y intégrer la société civile.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Section Médias OFEV
Téléphone: +41 58 462 90 00
Courriel: mediendienst@bafu.admin.ch



Auteur

Office fédéral de l'environnement OFEV
http://www.bafu.admin.ch/fr

Département fédéral des affaires étrangères
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/dfae.html

Direction du développement et de la coopération
http://www.deza.admin.ch/index.php?langID=2

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie
http://www.seco.admin.ch

Office fédéral du développement territorial
https://www.are.admin.ch/are/fr/home.html

Office fédéral de l'agriculture
http://www.blw.admin.ch

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-42066.html