Double taxation agreement between Switzerland and Ghana in force

Bern, 04.01.2010 - The agreement between Switzerland and Ghana for the prevention of double taxation of income, wealth and capital gains is now in force. This follows from its ratification also by Ghana and official notification of Switzerland to this effect. The double taxation agreement (DTA) will be applied from 1 January 2010.

The agreement comprises provisions for preventing double taxation and contributes to the favourable development of bilateral economic relations. Specifically, Swiss direct investment in Ghana will be encouraged, and withholding tax on dividends, interest, licence royalties and service fees will be limited.

The agreement was signed on 23 July 2008 in Accra and, in line with the Swiss practice at that time, includes an article on the exchange of information necessary for the agreement's application. Because both contracting states wished to bring the agreement into effect with the minimum of delay, the renegotiation of extended administrative assistance according to OECD standards has been suspended for the time being.


Address for enquiries

François Bastian, Division for International Affairs, Federal Tax Administration, tel. +41 (0)31 322 71 52



Publisher

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-30927.html

Entrée en vigueur de la Convention de double imposition entre la Suisse et le Ghana

Berne, 04.01.2010 - La Convention entre la Suisse et le Ghana en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions en matière d’impôts sur le revenu, sur la fortune et sur les gains en capital est entrée en vigueur après la notification à la Suisse de son approbation par le Ghana. Elle s’applique depuis le 1er janvier 2010.

La Convention contient des dispositions pour éviter la double imposition et tient compte de l’évolution favorable des relations économiques bilatérales. Elle facilite les investissements directs suisses au Ghana et limite les impôts à la source sur les dividendes, les intérêts, les redevances et les rémunérations de services.

Conformément à la pratique suisse au moment de sa signature à Accra le 23 juillet 2008, la Convention contient un article sur l’échange de renseignements en vue de son application. Pour qu’elle entre en vigueur le plus rapidement possible, les Etats contractants ont renoncé pour l’instant à négocier une clause d’assistance administrative élargie selon la norme de l’OCDE.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

François Bastian, division des affaires internationales, Administration fédérale des contributions, tél. 031 322 71 52



Auteur

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-30927.html