Directory scams: Swiss Federal Supreme Court rules in favour of SECO

Bern, 29.10.2009 - On 1 October 2009 the Swiss Federal Supreme Court, as the court of last instance, upheld a civil suit filed by the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO against the directory company NovaChannel AG for unfair competition. The ruling prohibits the company from continuing to use misleading application forms.

NovaChannel AG operates a TouristDirectory which offers dubious benefits. Until just recently it had been sending out a single page form to businesses people based abroad. The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO has received a flood of complaints against NovaChannel AG from foreign businesses people. In the belief that the offering was free they signed the form and subsequently received a bill from NovaChannel AG and its collection agency to pay the questionable amount.

The opening text of the form gives the impression that the offering is free and that the Tour-istDirectory is the ideal platform for attracting new customers. The terms of the contract are found right at the end of the form: anyone signing the form and returning it to NovaChannel AG is concluding a minimum three year contract for which payment is required. The company’s advertisement appears on a CD. The signatory of the form is required to pay an annual fee of €989 for the advertisement and €98 for the CD. This gives a total sum of €3,261 over a three year period. At the end of the three years the agreement is tacitly renewed for one year unless it is terminated by giving three months’ notice to the end of the calendar year.

On 28 December 2006 SECO filed a civil suit on behalf of the Swiss Confederation with the District Court of Lucerne-City against NovaChannel AG for breach of the Unfair Competition Act. The purpose of the suit was to ban the use of the misleading forms.

On 1 October the Swiss Federal Supreme Court upheld the previous rulings by the District Court of Lucerne-City dated 14 April 2008 and by the Superior Court of Lucerne dated 16 January 2009. The ruling prohibits NovaChannel AG from continuing to use its misleading forms and asserting its monetary claims associated with its forms. In addition, it authorises the SECO to publish the operative part of the ruling in the Swiss Official Gazette of Commerce as well as in a daily newspaper in the following countries, with the costs being awarded against NovaChannel AG: Belgium, China, Denmark, Germany, Finland, France, Greece, Great Britain, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Slovenia, Sweden, Spain, South Africa, The Czech Republic, Turkey, Hungary and USA.

The precise grounds for the ruling by the Swiss Federal Supreme Court have not yet been published.


Address for enquiries

Ressort Recht, SECO, Tel. 031 322 77 70


Publisher

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs
http://www.seco.admin.ch

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-29779.html

Arnaque à l’annuaire: le SECO obtient gain de cause au Tribunal fédéral

Berne, 29.10.2009 - Le 1er octobre 2009, le Tribunal fédéral a tranché en dernière instance en faveur du Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie SECO dans le cadre d’une action civile ouverte par ce dernier contre la société NovaChannel AG pour concurrence déloyale. Le jugement interdit à cette société de continuer à utiliser des formulaires trompeurs.

NovaChannel AG gère un registre (TouristDirectory) d’une utilité douteuse. Il y a peu, la société envoyait encore des formulaires d'une page à des commerçants établis à l’étranger. Le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie SECO a reçu une multitude de plaintes de commerçants étrangers contre NovaChannel AG. Pensant que l’offre était gratuite, ils ont signé le formulaire, pour recevoir par la suite des sommations de paiement de la part de NovaChannel AG et de sa société de recouvrement.

Le texte figurant sur le formulaire donne l’impression qu'il s'agit d'une offre gratuite, et que le TouristDirectory constitue une plate-forme idéale pour se faire de nouveaux clients. Les clauses contractuelles se situent tout en bas du formulaire : la personne qui signe le formulaire et le retourne à NovaChannel AG conclut un contrat, qui est loin d’être gratuit, pour une durée minimum de trois ans. L’annonce de l’entreprise est publiée sur un CD. Elle coûte au signataire 989 euros par an, tandis qu’il doit payer 98 euros par an pour le CD. Sur trois ans, les coûts s’élèvent donc à 3261 euros au total. Après trois ans, le contrat est automatiquement renouvelé d’une année s’il n’est pas dénoncé dans un délai de trois mois pour la fin d’une année civile.

Le 28 décembre 2006, le SECO a ouvert une action civile au nom de la Confédération suisse devant le Tribunal d’arrondissement de Lucerne-Ville contre NovaChannel AG pour infraction à la loi fédérale contre la concurrence déloyale. Il avait pour objectif de faire cesser l’utilisation des formulaires trompeurs.

Le Tribunal fédéral a confirmé le 1er octobre les décisions rendues le 14 avril 2008 par le Tribunal d’arrondissement de Lucerne-Ville et le 16 janvier 2009 par le Tribunal cantonal de Lucerne. Le jugement interdit à NovaChannel AG de continuer à utiliser ses formulaires trompeurs, d’une part, et de faire valoir le paiement des montants dus en rapport avec ces formulaires, d’autre part. Il autorise par ailleurs le SECO à publier le dispositif du jugement, aux frais de NovaChannel AG, dans la Feuille officielle suisse du commerce et dans un quotidien dans les pays suivants : Afrique du Sud, Allemagne, Belgique, Cambodge, Canada, Chine, Croatie, Danemark, Espagne, Etats-Unis, Finlande, France, Grande-Bretagne, Grèce, Hongrie, Indonésie, Irlande, Italie, Lettonie, Lituanie, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Pérou, Portugal, République tchèque, Slovénie, Suède et Turquie.

Les considérants du jugement du Tribunal fédéral ne sont pas encore publiés.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Secteur droit, SECO, Tél : 031 322 77 70


Auteur

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie
http://www.seco.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-29779.html