Switzerland provides mutual legal assistance in the Abacha case - To date, USD 645 million have been frozen in Switzerland

Bern, 21.01.2000 - Switzerland is supporting the criminal investigations of the Nigerian authorities into the embezzlement of government funds during the regime of the former head-of-state, Sani Abacha. The Federal Office for Police (FOP) has examined the formal request for mutual legal assistance from Nigeria and decided that such assistance is admissible in this case. Furthermore, the FOP has ordered the additionnal freeze of bank accounts and the production of bank documents.

The Nigerian request for mutual legal assistance involves the former head-of-state, Sani Abacha, and 14 other persons (including various family members and representatives of his regime). The Nigerian authorities suspect that they "systematically plundered" the Nigerian central bank for some years. They are accused of having committed a series of property crimes (including embezzlement, fraud, forgery and money laundering). The Nigerian authorities are asking that assets held in Switzerland be frozen, that bank documents be handed over and that the assets be returned.

The FOP itself is deciding on the execution of mutual legal assistance. The revised mutual legal assistance act authorizes the FOP to handle itself cases which are complex or particularly important. In the Abacha case, the FOP is working closely together with the Geneva investigating magistrate's office, which has already initiated criminal proceedings for money laundering and which has frozen some USD 645 million to date. This amount may increase, as Article 9 of the Federal Act on the Prevention of Money Laundering requires the banks and other financial intermediaries to report any cases where they have grounds to believe that assets deposited with them originate from criminal sources, are held by a criminal organization or could be connected with money laundering. In view of the sums involved, which Nigeria claims have been embezzled, the banks will probably investigate not only members of the Abacha family, but also third parties not directly mentioned in the Nigerian request for mutual legal assistance.

On 13 October 1999, the FOP extended the provisional freeze of accounts until the end of the mutual legal assistance proceedings. The USD 80 m in assets frozen as a result of these provisional measures are part of the assets also frozen in connection with the Swiss proceedings. Furthermore, the FOP ordered that additional accounts be frozen; this concerns three banks in Geneva and four in Zurich. The FOP further asked the Geneva investigating magistrate to obtain the relevant bank documents and to question officers of these banks as witnesses. The investigating magistrate was also requested to hand over to the FOP information from his criminal proceedings which could be useful in the further mutual legal assistance proceedings.


Address for enquiries

Federal Office of Justice, T +41 31 322 77 88


Publisher

Federal Office of Justice
http://www.bj.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-22828.html

Affaire Abacha : la Suisse accorde l'entraide judiciaire - Les avoirs bloqués en Suisse se montent actuellement à 645 millions de dollars US

Berne, 21.01.2000 - La Suisse apporte son soutien à l'enquête pénale ouverte par les autorités nigérianes sur les détournements de fonds publics effectués sous le régime de Sani Abacha, ancien chef de l'état. L'Office fédéral de la police (OFP), après avoir examiné la demande formelle d'entraide judiciaire présentée par le Nigéria, l'a jugée recevable. Il a en outre ordonné le blocage d'autres comptes et la saisie de documents bancaires.

La demande nigériane d'entraide judiciaire est dirigée contre Sani Abacha, ancien chef de l'état et quatorze autres personnes (dont plusieurs membres et représentants de son ancien régime). Les autorités nigérianes le soupçonnent d'avoir, des années durant, "systématiquement pillé" la Banque Centrale du Nigéria. Les faits reprochés consistent en une série de délits patrimoniaux (notamment abus de confiance, escroquerie, faux dans les titres et blanchiment d'argent). Les autorités nigérianes demandent à la Suisse de bloquer les avoirs déposés en Suisse, de produire la documentation bancaire correspondante et de restituer les avoirs incriminés.

L'OFP assume lui-même l'exécution de la demande d'entraide judiciaire. Cette possibilité lui est donnée par la loi révisée sur l'entraide judiciaire lorsqu'il s'agit d'affaires complexes ou d'une importance particulière. Dans l'affaire Abacha, l'OFP travaille en étroite collaboration avec le Cabinet des juges d'instruction de Genève, lequel a déjà ouvert, dans le cadre de la même affaire, une procédure d'enquête pénale pour blanchiment d'argent et ordonné le gel de quelque 645 millions de dollars US. Ce montant est encore susceptible d'augmenter dès lors qu'en application de l'article 9 de la loi sur le blanchiment d'argent, les banques et autres intermédiaires financiers ont l'obligation de dénoncer tout soupçon fondé de ce que les valeurs déposées dans leurs livres proviennent d'un crime, d'une organisation criminelle ou sont liées au blanchiment d'argent. Compte tenu de l'ampleur des détournements allégués par le Nigeria, il est probable que les intermédiaires financiers ne pourront limiter leur examen aux seuls membres de la famille Abacha, mais qu'elles pourront être amenées à dénoncer des tiers, non directement mentionnés par la demande d'entraide du Nigeria.

L'OFP a prolongé jusqu'à la fin de la procédure d'entraide le blocage provisoire des comptes effectué le 13 octobre 1999. Les valeurs patrimoniales bloquées sur la base de ces mesures préventives, qui représentent environ 80 millions de dollars US, sont une partie des valeurs bloquées également dans la procédure suisse. L'OFP a en outre ordonné le blocage de comptes supplémentaires. Des banques concernées, trois se trouvent à Genève et quatre à Zurich. L'OFP a en outre chargé les juges d'instruction genevois compétents en cette affaire de recueillir la documentation bancaire correspondante et de procéder à l'audition, en tant que témoins, des représentants des établissements bancaires concernés. Le juge d'instruction a également été chargé de remettre à l'OFP toute information additionnelle recueillie dans le cadre de sa procédure pénale et qui pourrait être utile à l'exécution de la demande d'entraide judiciaire.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Office fédéral de la justice, T +41 31 322 77 88


Auteur

Office fédéral de la justice
http://www.bj.admin.ch

Dernière modification 05.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/fr/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-22828.html