The Federal Chancellor

The Federal Chancellor Corina Casanova in her office.

The Federal Chancellery has been headed by Federal Chancellor Corina Casanova since the beginning of 2008. The Federal Chancellor is elected by Parliament in the same way as the members of the Federal Council for a four-year term, and may stand for re-election. As the Federal Council chief of staff, she is responsible for ensuring the smooth running of government. Along with the two vice chancellors, she attends the meetings of the Federal Council and presents any issues relating to the Federal Chancellor. The Federal Chancellor may table motions concerning Federal Chancellery business, but has no voting rights.

She is supported in her work by vice chancellors André Simonazzi and Thomas Helbling, and around 250 staff. The Political Rights and Planning and Strategy sections report directly to her.

Last modification 21.09.2015

Top of page