Coronavirus: Last remaining entry restrictions to be lifted from 2 May

Bern-Wabern, 02.05.2022 - As of 2 May, the FDJP will no longer include any states or regions on its Corona risk list. From then, it will again be possible to enter Switzerland under normal entry regulations. Travellers will no longer have to provide a vaccination or recovery certificate to enter the country, a decision by the FDJP in response to positive epidemiological developments.

The Federal Council first introduced entry restrictions for travellers from outside the Schengen area on 19 March 2020 at the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic in Switzerland. Since then, the entry restrictions have been adjusted several times. Countries and regions were added to the risk list or removed from it again when there were positive developments in the respective countries.

The risk list was updated by the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) in consultation with the Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA) and the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA). The entry restrictions took account of the EU’s recommendation to temporarily restrict non-essential travel to the EU.

Restrictions on entry affected third-country nationals wanting to enter Switzerland from states or regions that were considered risk countries or regions due to the development of the coronavirus there. This particularly affected those entering Switzerland from these areas for tourism or visiting purposes. Exceptions always applied, in principle, for cases of hardship and for vaccinated and – more recently – recovered persons. With the FDJP's latest decision, there are no countries or regions on the risk list.

Address for enquiries

Information and Communication SEM,


State Secretariat for Migration