Ukraine: Adoption of further EU sanctions against Russia and Belarus

Bern, 13.04.2022 - On 13 April, the Federal Council took the decision to adopt the new EU sanctions against Russia and Belarus. Amendments to the corresponding ordinances are being prepared. Furthermore, the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) has imposed financial sanctions and travel restrictions on a further 200 individuals.

On 8 April, the EU adopted further sanctions against Russia and certain restrictive measures against Belarus, in light of Russia’s continuing military aggression against Ukraine and reports of atrocities (committed by the Russian armed forces) in Bucha.

This fifth package covers measures in the areas of trade, finance and transport. These include bans on imports of coal and other goods that serve as important sources of revenue for Russia (such as wood, cement, seafood and vodka), and an export ban on kerosene and other goods that could contribute to strengthening Russia’s industrial capacity (including industrial robots and certain chemicals).

The EU also imposed a ban on the participation of Russian companies in public procurement, new financial sanctions, particularly with regard to trusts, and a ban on financial support for Russian public institutions. Furthermore, the EU has imposed a ban on Russian and Belarusian road transport undertakings preventing them from transporting goods by road within the EU, and a ban on access to EU ports for Russian vessels.

On 13 April, the Federal Council took the decision to adopt these new EU measures against Russia and Belarus with the exception of the transport bans, the adoption of which is not necessary for Switzerland due to its geographic location. The relevant amendments to the ordinances on measures in relation to the situation in Ukraine and measures against Belarus are being prepared by the EAER.

In addition, the EAER approved the sanctioning of a further 200 individuals and entities. These concern individuals from the fields of politics, industry, communications/propaganda and the armed forces, as well as key oligarchs and their family members. Two of President Putin’s daughters are among the individuals newly sanctioned. Switzerland’s list of sanctions now fully mirrors that of the EU. The amendments will come into force at 6pm on 13 April 2022.

Address for enquiries

Enquiries from the media: EAER Communications, Tel. 058 462 20 07,

Enquiries from businesses (sanctions):, Tel. 058 464 08 12


The Federal Council

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research

Federal Department of Finance