Rosmarie Schlup appointed as Switzerland's Director at the EBRD

Bern, 12.01.2022 - On 12 January 2022, the Federal Council appointed Rosmarie Schlup as Switzerland's Director at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) in London. Ms Schlup is currently head of the Macroeconomic Support Division at the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO. At the same time, the Federal Council conferred on her the title of ambassador. Ms Schlup will take up her appointment on 1 September. She succeeds Remigi Winzap, who has been the director since September 2018.

Rosmarie Schlup was born in 1977 and comes from Lengnau in the canton of Bern. She is currently head of the Macroeconomic Support Division at SECO. From August 2015 to October 2016, she worked as a senior technical assistance officer at the International Monetary Fund in Washington. Before that, she was deputy head of SECO’s Macroeconomic Support Division, from December 2011 to August 2015. In January 2009, she joined the Export and Location Promotion Section in the Promotion Activities Directorate at SECO as a senior officer and as head of delegation of the Paris Club, before being promoted to deputy head of section in August 2010. Rosmarie Schlup studied international relations at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva and gained a Master of Science in International Political Economy from the London School of Economics in 2008.

Switzerland has been a member of the EBRD since 1991. The bank was founded to support the countries of Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union on the path to democratisation and in the transition to a market economy. The EBRD Board of Directors, comprising 23 members, sets the bank’s operational, financial and administrative policy. Besides its own interests, Switzerland represents those of its constituency, which comprises Liechtenstein, Ukraine, Serbia, Uzbekistan, Montenegro and Turkmenistan. 

Address for enquiries

EAER Information Service
+41 58 462 20 07


The Federal Council

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research