Coronavirus: Switzerland to reopen its borders with all EU/EFTA states on 15 June

Bern, 05.06.2020 - Federal Councillor Karin Keller-Sutter informed the Federal Council at its meeting on 5 June that the Federal Department of Justice and Police FDJP intends to lift the existing entry restrictions applicable with regard to all EU/EFTA states and the United Kingdom as of 15 June.

The FDJP announced in mid-May that the borders with Austria, Germany and France would be fully reopened on 15 June in agreement with the authorities of those countries. In view of the current epidemiological situation, it will also be possible to lift the existing entry restrictions applicable in respect of other EU/EFTA countries and the United Kingdom on 15 June.

The Federal Council’s approach is in line with that of many European countries. During today’s informal video conference of Schengen-state justice and home affairs ministers, numerous ministers expressed the desire to see a return to normality and advocated the lifting of European internal border controls as of 15 June. Switzerland was represented at the conference by State Secretary Mario Gattiker.

The FDJP will prepare the necessary amendments to COVID-19 Ordinance 2 in cooperation with the Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA, the Federal Department of Finance FDF and the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA, and submit them to the Federal Council for approval.

Entry restrictions between Switzerland, Austria and Germany were relaxed on 16 May. Until 15 June, entry into Switzerland from all other EU/EFTA states is only permitted in exceptional circumstances.

Address for enquiries

Information and Communication SEM,


The Federal Council

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Federal Office for Customs and Border Security

State Secretariat for Migration

Federal Department of Justice and Police