Switzerland signs European declaration on eGovernment

Bern, 06.10.2017 - On Friday, 6 October 2017, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer signed a declaration on eGovernment jointly drawn up by the EU and EFTA in the context of the Ministerial eGovernment Conference in Estonia. The declaration contains five core principles for eGovernment and is intended to be a guide for further development.

The 32 EU and EFTA countries signed a joint declaration to promote eGovernment in the context of the ministerial meeting on 6 October 2017 in Tallinn. With the Tallinn Declaration on eGovernment, a joint foundation will be laid to advance the digitalisation of administration not just nationally but also internationally. The service processes in the administration among other things should be conducted digitally as far as possible and be available to all. Data entry for citizens and companies should be reliable and secure and should only have to be carried out once. In addition, efforts will be made for IT systems to be compatible nationally and internationally.  

The objectives of the declaration are compatible with the strategies adopted by the Federal Council in this sector. (Digital Switzerland strategy, eGovernment Switzerland strategy, Strategy for information and communication technologies [ICT] in the Confederation and the national strategy for the protection of Switzerland against cyber risks [NCS]). In the case of the upcoming revision of the eGovernment Strategy Switzerland, increased coordination with the principles of the Tallinn Declaration on eGovernment should occur. Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer's signing of the declaration underlines the importance for Switzerland of eGovernment at home but also outside Switzerland. Elements of this declaration also concern intercantonal and international cooperation and the mutual transfer of knowledge and the use of expertise. Mutual benefit can be made from existing solutions and a common approach can be taken for cross-border tasks and processes.

The declaration was drawn up by the EU and EFTA working group, the eGovernment Action Plan Steering Board in which Switzerland is also represented by the Federal IT Steering Unit (FITSU).

Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer used the visit to Tallinn for bilateral talks with Finance Minister Toomas Töniste and the Minister of Entrepreneurship and Information Technology Urve Palo.

Address for enquiries

Roland Meier, Media Spokesperson FDF
Tel. 058 462 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch


Federal Department of Finance