Ukraine: Switzerland adopts further sanctions against Russia

Bern, 09.07.2024 - The Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER), in its capacity as the competent body for sanctions, expanded its sanctions listings against Russia on 8 July. Switzerland is thus adopting the additional sanctions listings decided by the EU in response to Russia‚Äôs ongoing military aggression against Ukraine. The changes will take effect at 6pm on 9 July.

In response to Russia's ongoing military aggression against Ukraine and continued acts of destabilisation, which undermine Ukraine's territorial integrity, sovereignty and security, the EU adopted new measures against Russia on 24 June as part of its fourteenth package of sanctions. In turn, the EAER is to impose sanctions within its jurisdiction on a further 69 individuals and 86 entities.

The new sanctions mainly target businesspersons, propagandists, members of the armed forces and judiciary, persons responsible for the deportation of Ukrainian children and members of the Federal Security Service of the Russian Confederation (FSB). The newly sanctioned entities include, in particular, companies operating in the Russian defence sector as well as companies in the financial and trade sectors that are actively involved in circumventing sanctions.

Altogether, more than 2,200 individuals and entities are now subject to the sanctions listings. This is in line with the EU.

The fourteenth package of sanctions adopted by the EU on 24 June provides for a range of additional measures, including measures in the energy sector, the financial sector and the goods sector. The Federal Council is currently examining these additional measures with a view to possibly adopting them.

Finally, the EAER has placed an advertising ban on the four media outlets Voice of Europe, RIA Novosti, Izvestia and Rossiyskaya Gazeta owing to Russia's continuous propaganda and disinformation campaigns. In contrast to the measures in the EU, these media are not subject to a broadcasting ban in Switzerland. Although these channels are used for the targeted dissemination of Russian propaganda and disinformation, the Federal Council still believes that it is more effective to counter false and harmful statements with facts rather than to prohibit them.

The new measures enter into force at 6pm on 9 July 2024.

Address for enquiries

Enquiries from the media:
EAER Communications,, 058 462 20 07

Enquiries from businesses:, 058 464 08 12


Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research