Welcome to the official website of the Swiss Government

On these pages, you will find information about the Swiss Government and a selection of news in English. For complete information on the government and its administration, please choose:

The members of the Swiss government

Who sits in the Swiss government?

The Federal Council is made up of seven members, each of which heads a government department. Decisions are made jointly. The Federal Chancellor supports the government.

Presidential year 2023

Presidential year 2023

Alain Berset is the current President of the Swiss Confederation. He was elected into office on 7 December 2022.


How government is run

Federal Council – its tasks

How government is run

The Federal Council is the highest executive authority in the country. It comprises seven members, who are elected by the Federal Assembly. The Federal Council’s tasks are set out in the Federal Constitution.

Press conferences


Tweets by the spokesman

Press releases


Java script is required to display press releases.