Federal Council adopts dispatch on amending Anti-Money Laundering Act

Bern, 26.06.2019 - During its meeting on 26 June 2019, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the amendment of the Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA). The proposal follows the Federal Council's strategy on financial market policy for a competitive Swiss financial centre and takes account of the main recommendations of the mutual evaluation report of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) on Switzerland.

The proposal will renew Switzerland's defence mechanism for money laundering and terrorist financing by taking account of the latest risk assessments. It also implements the Federal Council's financial market policy. Ensuring international compliance in the area of money laundering has been defined as one of its five key thrusts.

In its fourth mutual evaluation report on Switzerland, the FATF acknowledged the generally good quality of the Swiss system for combating money laundering and terrorist financing. At the same time, it identified weaknesses in certain areas and made recommendations. The Federal Council subsequently instructed the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to prepare a consultation draft. This includes measures for persons providing services in connection with companies or trusts (advisors), for trading in precious metals, precious stones and old precious metal, as well as for financial intermediaries. Moreover, it promotes the transparency of associations.

The consultation ran from 1 June to 21 September 2018. The commentators supported the proposal in principle. Based on the results, the Federal Council nevertheless adjusted two measures. At the same time, it included a new measure in the proposal:

Under the Anti-Money Laundering Act, advisors will not only have to comply with due diligence obligations and a duty to verify, but will additionally have a new reporting duty. In contrast, the measure should only cover services for domiciliary companies or trusts. Furthermore, the right to report is maintained, contrary to the proposal in the consultation draft. The difference between the reporting duty and the right to report will be clarified at ordinance level. In addition, financial intermediaries will now be able to terminate a business relationship if they do not receive any feedback within 40 days of a report being submitted to the Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland (MROS). Finally, the Central Office for Precious Metals Control will take over anti-money laundering supervision for certain financial intermediaries in the area of trading in banking precious metals (trade assayers).

Parliament is expected to begin addressing the measures in the second half of 2019. They are not expected to come into force until the start of 2021 at the earliest.


Address for enquiries

Anne C├ęsard, Co-Head of Communications, State Secretariat for International Finance SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-75603.html

Bundesrat verabschiedet Botschaft zur Änderung des Geldwäschereigesetzes

Bern, 26.06.2019 - Der Bundesrat hat am 26. Juni 2019 die Botschaft zur Änderung des Geldwäschereigesetzes (GwG) verabschiedet. Die Vorlage folgt der Strategie zur Finanzmarktpolitik des Bundesrats für einen wettbewerbsfähigen Finanzplatz Schweiz und trägt den wichtigsten Empfehlungen des Länderberichts der Financial Action Task Force (FATF) über die Schweiz Rechnung.

Die Vorlage erneuert das Abwehrdispositiv der Schweiz zur Geldwäscherei- und Terrorismusfinanzierung, indem sie den neusten Risikoeinschätzungen Rechnung trägt. Darüber hinaus setzt sie die Finanzmarktpolitik des Bundesrats um. Diese hat die Sicherstellung internationaler Konformität im Geldwäschereibereich als eine von fünf Stossrichtungen definiert.

In ihrem vierten Länderbericht zur Schweiz anerkannte die FATF die insgesamt gute Qualität des schweizerischen Dispositivs zur Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und der Terrorismusfinanzierung. Gleichzeitig identifizierte sie in gewissen Bereichen Schwachstellen und gab Empfehlungen ab. In der Folge beauftragte der Bundesrat das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD), eine Vernehmlassungsvorlage auszuarbeiten. Diese umfasst  Massnahmen für Personen, die Dienstleistungen im Zusammenhang mit Gesellschaften oder Trusts erbringen (Beraterinnen und Berater), für den Edelmetall-, Edelstein- und Altedelmetallhandel sowie für Finanzintermediäre. Zudem fördert sie die Transparenz von Vereinen.

Die Vernehmlassung dauerte vom 1. Juni bis zum 21. September 2018. Die Stellungnehmenden unterstützten die Vorlage im Grundsatz. Aufgrund der Ergebnisse passte der Bundesrat jedoch zwei Massnahmen an. Gleichzeitig nahm er eine neue Massnahme in die Vorlage auf:

Beraterinnen und Berater sollen gemäss Geldwäschereigesetz nicht nur Sorgfaltspflichten und eine Prüfpflicht beachten, sondern neu zusätzlich eine Meldepflicht. Im Gegenzug soll die Massnahme nur Dienstleistungen für Sitzgesellschaften oder Trusts erfassen. Des Weiteren wird das Melderecht, entgegen dem Vorschlag in der Vernehmlassungsvorlage, beibehalten. Der Unterschied zwischen Meldepflicht und Melderecht wird auf Verordnungsstufe geklärt. Neu sollen die Finanzintermediäre ausserdem eine Geschäftsbeziehung abbrechen dürfen, wenn sie nach einer Meldung an die Meldestelle für Geldwäscherei (MROS) innerhalb von 40 Tagen keine Rückmeldung erhalten. Schliesslich wird das Zentralamt für Edelmetallkontrolle neu die Geldwäschereiaufsicht für gewisse Finanzintermediäre im Bereich des Handels mit Bankedelmetallen (Handelsprüfer) übernehmen.

Das Parlament wird sich voraussichtlich im zweiten Halbjahr 2019 erstmals mit den Massnahmen befassen. Deren Inkrafttreten ist frühestens Anfang 2021 zu erwarten.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Anne Césard, Co-Leiterin Kommunikation, Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 62 91, anne.cesard@sif.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-75603.html