Federal Council initiates consultation on partial revision of Banking Act

Bern, 08.03.2019 - During its meeting on 8 March 2019, the Federal Council initiated the consultation on the partial revision of the Banking Act (BankA). Revised rules will be proposed for bank restructuring, strengthening deposit insurance and supplementary provisions on the segregation of intermediated securities. The consultation will last until 14 June 2019.

The Banking Act only regulates the main features of the restructuring procedure for banks; details can be found in the FINMA Banking Insolvency Ordinance. In order to strengthen legal certainty, it is above all those instruments such as capital measures (e.g. a bail-in), which interfere with the rights of the bank's owners and creditors that are now to be anchored at the legislative level. An adjustment to the Mortgage Bond Act will also strengthen the functioning of the Swiss mortgage bond system in the event of insolvency or bankruptcy of a member bank.

Moreover, the banks are no longer to secure half of their contribution obligations to deposit insurance in the form of additional liquidity, but by depositing securities or Swiss francs in cash with a custodian. If a bank liable to pay contributions does not meet its payment obligation as applicable, deposit insurance will use these deposited values. It was thus not necessary to revise deposit insurance with a security fund to be set up by the banks. The payout deadline of the funds from deposit insurance to the bankruptcy liquidator will be reduced from twenty to seven days. Upon receipt of the bank client's payment instructions, the secured deposits are to be paid to the client within a further seven days.

An adjustment to the Intermediated Securities Act will then introduce the obligation for all custodians of intermediated securities to separate their own and clients' portfolios. If the custody chain leads abroad, the last Swiss custodian has to take measures to protect the intermediated securities booked with the foreign custodian. Within this scope, the information provided to clients also has to be improved.


Address for enquiries

Frank Wettstein, Co-Head of Communications, State Secretariat for International Finance SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 38 56, frank.wettstein@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-74246.html

Bundesrat eröffnet Vernehmlassung zur Teilrevision des Bankengesetzes

Bern, 08.03.2019 - Der Bundesrat hat in seiner Sitzung vom 8. März 2019 die Vernehmlassung zu einer Teilrevision des Bankengesetzes (BankG) eröffnet. Vorgeschlagen werden überarbeitete Regeln zur Bankensanierung, eine Stärkung der Einlagensicherung und ergänzende Bestimmungen zur Segregierung von Bucheffekten. Die Vernehmlassung dauert bis zum 14. Juni 2019.

Das BankG regelt das Sanierungsverfahren für Banken nur in den Grundzügen; die Details finden sich in der Bankeninsolvenzverordnung-FINMA. Zur Stärkung der Rechtssicherheit sollen vor allem diejenigen Instrumente neu auf Stufe Gesetz verankert werden, die wie etwa die Kapitalmassnahmen (z.B. ein Bail-in) in die Rechte von Eignern und Gläubigern der Bank eingreifen. Mit einer Anpassung des Pfandbriefgesetzes wird zudem die Funktionsfähigkeit des Schweizer Pfandbriefsystems bei Insolvenz oder Konkurs einer Mitgliedbank gestärkt.

Im Weiteren sollen die Banken die Hälfte ihrer Beitragsverpflichtungen gegenüber der Einlagensicherung nicht mehr in Form von zusätzlicher Liquidität absichern, sondern durch eine Hinterlegung von Wertschriften oder Schweizer Franken in bar bei einer Verwahrungsstelle. Kommt eine beitragspflichtige Bank im Anwendungsfall ihrer Zahlungspflicht nicht nach, so verwendet die Einlagensicherung diese hinterlegten Werte. Auf eine Revision des Einlagensicherungssystems mit einem von den Banken zu äufnenden Sicherungsfonds konnte so verzichtet werden. Die Frist zur Auszahlung der Gelder aus der Einlagensicherung an den Konkursliquidator wird von zwanzig auf sieben Tage verkürzt. Nach Eingang der Zahlungsinstruktionen des Bankkunden sind diesem die gesicherten Einlagen innert weiterer sieben Tage auszuzahlen.

Mit einer Anpassung des Bucheffektengesetzes wird sodann für alle Verwahrungsstellen von Bucheffekten die Pflicht zur Trennung von Eigen- und Kundenbeständen eingeführt. Führt die Verwahrungskette ins Ausland, so hat die letzte Schweizer Verwahrstelle Massnahmen zum Schutz der bei der ausländischen Verwahrstelle gebuchten Bucheffekten zu treffen. In diesem Rahmen soll auch die Information der Kundinnen und Kunden verbessert werden.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Frank Wettstein, Co-Leiter Kommunikation Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 38 56, frank.wettstein@sif.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-74246.html