Sanctions against Côte d’Ivoire lifted

Bern, 25.05.2016 - On the basis of UN Security Council Resolution 2283 (2016) of 28 April 2016, the Federal Council has repealed the Ordinance on Measures against Côte d’Ivoire. The measures involved a partial embargo on armaments, as well as financial and travel sanctions. The Ordinance is repealed as of 6pm on 25 May 2016.

Following the failed putsch against Laurent Gbagbo's government on 19 September 2002 and the subsequent outbreak of civil war in the country, the Federal Council issued the Ordinance on Measures against Côte d’Ivoire, thereby implementing the UN Security Council sanctions. The Ordinance and its annex have been amended several times to take account of political developments. For example, in late 2014 the measures regarding trade in raw diamonds originating in Côte d’Ivoire were repealed. Since then, the Ordinance has covered only a partial embargo on armaments, travel sanctions and the freezing of assets.

As the political situation in the country has become less tense, and with presidential elections correctly conducted on 25 October 2015, the UN Security Council has decided to lift the remaining sanctions against Côte d’Ivoire. On the basis of the corresponding Resolution 2283 (2016), the Federal Council will repeal the Ordinance as of 25 May 2016.


Address for enquiries

Antje Baertschi, Head of Communications, SECO
Tel. 058 463 52 75



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61883.html

Sanktionen gegenüber Côte d’Ivoire werden aufgehoben

Bern, 25.05.2016 - Der Bundesrat hat aufgrund der UNO-Sicherheitsratsresolution 2283 (2016) vom 28. April 2016 die Verordnung über Massnahmen gegenüber Côte d’Ivoire aufgehoben. Die Massnahmen umfassten ein Teilembargo für Rüstungsgüter sowie Finanz- und Reisesanktionen. Die Aufhebung der Verordnung tritt am 25. Mai 2016 um 18.00 in Kraft.

Als Reaktion auf einen missglückten Putschversuch gegen die Regierung von Laurent Gbagbo vom 19. September 2002 und dem anschliessenden   Ausbruch des Bürgerkrieges  erliess der Bundesrat am 19. Januar 2005 die Verordnung über Massnahmen gegenüber Côte d’Ivoire. Damit setzte er die Sanktionen des UNO-Sicherheitsrats um. Die Verordnung und deren Anhang wurden aufgrund der politischen Entwicklungen mehrmals angepasst. So wurden Ende 2014 die Massnahmen betreffend den Handel von Rohdiamanten aus Côte d’Ivoire aufgehoben. Seither sah die Verordnung lediglich noch ein Teilembargo für Rüstungsgüter sowie Reiseverbote und die Sperrung von Geldern vor.

Die politische Entspannung  und der ordnungsgemässe Ablauf der Präsidentschaftswahl vom 25. Oktober 2015 haben den UNO-Sicherheitsrat dazu bewogen, die verbleibenden Sanktionen gegen Côte d’Ivoire mit der Resolution 2283 (2016) aufzuheben. Auf dieser Grundlage beschloss der Bundesrat die Aufhebung der Verordnung per 25. Mai 2016.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Antje Baertschi, Leiterin Kommunikation, SECO
Tel. 058 463 52 75



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61883.html