Ukraine: First Swiss aid convoy using rail transport reaches Donetsk

Bern, 25.05.2016 - Two more Swiss Humanitarian Aid convoys have delivered water treatment chemicals and medical goods to the conflict zone in Ukraine. For one of these, Swiss Humanitarian Aid, part of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), used rail transport for the first time.

The train, consisting of eight carriages, reached the city of Donetsk in eastern Ukraine on 24 May 2016. It was carrying a consignment of 473 tonnes of water treatment chemicals, primarily aluminium sulphate, for the Donbas waterworks, a facility supplying drinking water to many municipalities on both sides of the contact line. The train was loaded on the government-controlled side before crossing this line between Kostyantynivka and Yasinovataya, thus providing the first humanitarian aid to be brought into the non-government-controlled area (NGCA) by rail since the conflict began.

Other goods arrived in Donetsk by lorry, namely medical materials such as spare parts for an X ray machine, equipment and medicines for treating cancer and 38 WATA chlorine-production devices. The local authorities in this region can use these devices for the independent, long-term production of a chlorine solution to treat the drinking water for 300,000 people.

A second convoy, consisting of 15 lorries, delivered aid on the government-controlled side. The consignment delivered 245 tonnes of chemicals for the local branch of the Donbas waterworks in the town of Krasnoarmiysk. Another part of the consignment, loaded with medical supplies and medicines, was for the hospital in Kurakhove near the contact line. Nine staff members from Swiss Humanitarian Aid and from the Swiss Humanitarian Aid Unit (SHA) and employees from Switzerland's embassy and cooperation office in Kyiv accompanied and provided logistical support for the convoys.

These latest consignments are the fourth set of aid convoys in a project worth a total of CHF 1.3 million. Swiss Humanitarian Aid with the help of SHA experts has been delivering water treatment chemicals to the Donbas waterworks since spring 2015. So far, the SDC has been the only state actor organising humanitarian convoys which cross the contact line in eastern Ukraine.


Address for enquiries

Information FDFA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
Fax: +41 58 464 90 47
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch


Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61850.html

Ukraine: Erster Schweizer Hilfstransport per Eisenbahn erreicht Donetsk

Bern, 25.05.2016 - Erneut haben zwei Hilfstransporte der Humanitären Hilfe des Bundes (HH) Chemikalien für die Wasseraufbereitung und medizinische Güter ins ukrainische Konfliktgebiet gebracht. Erstmals hat die in der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) angesiedelte HH die Eisenbahn als Transportmittel eingesetzt.

Am 24. Mai erreichte der Zug mit acht Wagen die ostukrainische Grossstadt Donetsk. Er war mit 473 Tonnen Chemikalien für die Wasseraufbereitung, v.a. Aluminiumsulfat, beladen. Die Chemikalien sind für die Wasserwerke Donbas bestimmt, die zahleiche Gemeinden auf beiden Seiten der Kontaktlinie mit Trinkwasser versorgen. Der Zug war auf der regierungskontrollierten Seite beladen worden und überquerte die Kontaktlinie zwischen Kostyantynivka und Yasinovataya. Es handelt sich um den ersten humanitären Transport per Eisenbahn in die NGCA (Nicht von der Regierung kontrolliertes Gebiet) seit Ausbruch des Konflikts.

Weitere Güter wurden per Lastwagen nach Donetsk transportiert. Dabei handelt es sich namentlich um medizinisches Material wie Ersatzteile für ein Röntgengerät und Krebsbehandlungsmittel sowie 38 Apparate zur Chlorproduktion (WATA). Mit diesen Apparaten können die lokalen Behörden vor Ort eine Chlorlösung produzieren, mit der das Trinkwasser für 300‘000 Personen selbständig und auf lange Sicht aufbereitet werden kann.

Ein zweiter Transport, bestehend aus 15 Lastwagen, lieferte Hilfsgüter auf der regierungskontrollierten Seite. Der Konvoi hatte 245 Tonnen Chemikalien für die Zweigstelle der Wasserwerke Donbas in der Stadt Krasnoarmiysk geladen. Eine LKW-Ladung dieses Transports mit medizinischem Material und Medikamenten war für das Spital in Kurakhove nahe der Kontaktlinie bestimmt. Begleitet und unterstützt wurden die Transporte im Osten der Ukraine von neun Angehörigen der HH und des Schweizerischen Korps für Humanitäre Hilfe (SKH) sowie von Mitarbeitern der Schweizer Botschaft und des Kooperationsbüros in Kiew.

Bei den jüngsten Transporten handelt es sich um die vierte Aktion in diesem Rahmen. Die Kosten des Projekts belaufen sich auf 1.3 Mio. Franken. Seit dem Frühjahr 2015 beliefert die HH mit Hilfe von SKH-Fachleuten die Wasserwerke Donbas mit Chemikalien zur Wasseraufbereitung. Die DEZA ist bislang die einzige staatliche Akteurin, die humanitäre Konvois organisiert, welche die Kontaktlinie im Osten der Ukraine überqueren.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Kommunikation EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE


Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61850.html