Tighter sanctions against North Korea

Bern, 18.05.2016 - On 18 May, the Federal Council decided to impose considerably tighter sanctions on the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea), thereby implementing Resolution 2270 (2016) of the UN Security Council. The new provisions come into force at 6pm on 18 May.

In response to the nuclear and missile testing carried out by North Korea on 6 January and 7 February, the UN Security Council issued Resolution 2270 (2016) on 2 March, thus significantly tightening existing sanctions against North Korea. The resolution covers more extensive restrictions on the trade in goods, financial transactions, maritime and air transport and in the education sector. With its decision of 18 May, the Federal Council is implementing these measures in Switzerland, thus complying with its obligations under international law. As a result of the numerous amendments required, the current ordinance will now be completely revised.

In the financial sector, financial sanctions (the freezing of assets and a ban on the provision of finances) now apply to a wider group of persons. All funds and economic resources connected with North Korea’s nuclear and missile programmes have been blocked. This also applies, subject to one exception, to funds and economic resources owned or controlled by the government or the Korean Workers’ Party. The exception relates to funds required for the activities of diplomatic representations. Swiss banks are prohibited from opening branches, subsidiaries or agencies in North Korea, while existing branches and bank accounts in North Korea must be closed by 2 June. The same applies to branches of North Korean banks in Switzerland.

The ban on exports of luxury goods has been expanded to include additional products. Furthermore, all imports, exports and the transit of consignments of goods will now be checked by customs to ensure that they do not contain any prohibited products. The export and transit of goods bound for North Korea must be authorised in advance by the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO. In a new move, the export of goods that increase the operational capabilities of the North Korean armed forces has been prohibited. Also prohibited are the sale and supply of certain aviation fuels. The purchase of certain raw materials (coal, iron, gold, certain types of ore and rare minerals) from North Korea is prohibited.

In the sectors for maritime and air transport, various restrictions have also been introduced. These include a ban on charter and leasing contracts with North Korea related to aircraft and ships. Take-off, landing and overflight rights for aircraft will not be granted if there is reason to suspect that planes may be carrying cargo in contravention of the provisions of the ordinance.

In the education sector, citizens of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea will not be permitted to take certain courses in subjects such as higher physics, advanced computer simulation or nuclear engineering. Military, paramilitary and police training for instructors, consultants and government officials from North Korea is also prohibited.

The UN Security Council had already imposed sanctions on North Korea in response to the latter’s nuclear programme. On 25 October 2006, the Federal Council approved the Ordinance on Measures against the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, which has since been amended on several occasions so as to tighten sanctions. Switzerland has therefore already implemented resolutions 1718 (2006), 1874 (2009), 2087 (2013) and 2094 (2013) of the UN Security Council.


Address for enquiries

Fabian Maienfisch, Deputy Head of Communications, SECO, Tel. 058 462 40 20



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61749.html

Verschärfung der Sanktionen gegenüber Nordkorea

Bern, 18.05.2016 - Der Bundesrat hat am 18. Mai 2016 die Sanktionen gegenüber der Demokratischen Volksrepublik Korea (Nordkorea) deutlich verschärft. Er setzt damit die Resolution 2270 (2016) des UNO-Sicherheitsrats um. Die neuen Bestimmungen treten am 18. Mai 2016 um 18 Uhr in Kraft.

Aufgrund der Nuklear- und Raketentests Nordkoreas vom 6. Januar und 7. Februar 2016 hat der UNO-Sicherheitsrat am 2. März 2016 die Resolution 2270 (2016) erlassen und damit die Sanktionen gegenüber Nordkorea deutlich verschärft. Die Resolution umfasst weitreichende Verschärfungen im Handel mit Gütern, im Finanzbereich, dem Schiffs- und Luftverkehr und im Ausbildungsbereich. Mit seinem Beschluss vom 18. Mai 2016 setzt der Bundesrat diese völkerrechtlich verbindlichen Massnahmen in der Schweiz um. Aufgrund der zahlreichen Änderungen wurde die bisherige Verordnung einer Totalrevision unterzogen.

Im Finanzbereich gelten die Finanzsanktionen (Einfrieren von Vermögenswerten sowie Bereitstellungsverbot) neu für einen erweiterten Personenkreis. Alle Gelder und wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen, welche einen Bezug zu den Nuklear- und Raketenprogrammen Nordkoreas haben, sind gesperrt. Dies gilt, unter der genannten Voraussetzung, auch für Gelder und wirtschaftliche Ressourcen, welche im Eigentum oder unter Kontrolle der Regierung oder der Partei der Arbeit stehen. Ausgenommen davon sind Gelder, welche für die Tätigkeit diplomatischer Vertretungen erforderlich sind. Die Eröffnung von Niederlassungen, Tochtergesellschaften und Vertretungen von Schweizer Banken in Nordkorea ist verboten, bestehende Niederlassungen und Bankkonten in Nordkorea müssen bis am 2. Juni 2016 geschlossen werden. Das gleiche gilt für Niederlassungen von nordkoreanischen Banken in der Schweiz.

Das im Güterbereich geltende Exportverbot für Luxusgüter wurde um weitere Güter ergänzt. Weiter werden fortan alle Einfuhren, Ausfuhren sowie Durchfuhren von Sendungen aus bzw. nach Nordkorea durch den Zoll kontrolliert, um sicherzustellen, dass diese keine verbotenen Güter enthalten. Ausfuhren und Durchfuhren nach Nordkorea müssen beim Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO vorgängig angemeldet werden. Neu ist der Export von Gütern, welche die operativen Fähigkeiten der Streitkräfte Nordkoreas stärken, verboten. Ebenfalls untersagt sind der Verkauf und die Lieferung bestimmter Flugkraftstoffe. Der Kauf von gewissen Rohstoffen (Kohle, Eisen, Gold, gewisse Erze und Seltenerdmineralien) aus Nordkorea wird verboten.

Im Schiffs- und Flugverkehr werden ebenfalls verschiedene Verbote eingeführt. So ist es unter anderem untersagt, mit Nordkorea Charter- und Leasingverträge für Flugzeuge und Schiffe abzuschliessen. Start-, Lande- und Überflugsrechte für Luftfahrzeuge werden nicht erteilt, wenn Grund zur Annahme besteht, dass Güter an Bord gegen die Bestimmungen der Verordnung verstossen könnten.

Im Ausbildungsbereich ist es Staatsangehörigen der Demokratischen Volksrepublik Korea künftig untersagt, bestimmte Studiengänge, beispielsweise in höherer Physik, fortgeschrittener Computersimulation oder Kerntechnik zu besuchen. Die militärische, paramilitärische und polizeiliche Ausbildung von Ausbildern, Beratern und Behördenmitgliedern Nordkoreas ist ebenfalls verboten.

Der UNO-Sicherheitsrat hatte aufgrund des nordkoreanischen Nuklearprogramms bereits früher Sanktionsmassnahmen gegenüber diesem Staat ergriffen. Der Bundesrat verabschiedete am 25. Oktober 2006 die Verordnung über Massnahmen gegenüber der Demokratischen Volksrepublik Korea, welche seither mehrmals verschärft wurde. Damit setzte die Schweiz bereits bisher die Resolutionen 1718 (2006), 1874 (2009), 2087 (2013) sowie 2094 (2013) des UNO-Sicherheitsrats um.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Fabian Maienfisch, stv. Leiter Kommunikation, SECO, Tel. 058 462 40 20



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61749.html