Counterterrorism conference in Neuchâtel brings together over 40 states and international organisations

Bern, 03.05.2016 - Neuchâtel is hosting an international counterterrorism conference on 3 and 4 May 2016. The conference, which focuses on criminal justice aspects in particular, brings together representatives of over 40 states, international organisations and other institutions.

The conference is taking place within the framework of the Global Counterterrorism Forum (GCTF), which Switzerland co-founded in 2011.  The GCTF is composed of 29 countries, including the  five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council.  Its main mission is to promote exchanges among experts and to develop standards in the field of counterterrorism and the prevention of violent extremism to support and complement the action taken by the UN in this area.
 
Within the Criminal Justice and the Rule of Law working group, Switzerland has sought to highlight the importance of respecting children's rights and international juvenile justice standards in the fight against terrorism. Switzerland is particularly interested in minors who have committed terrorist acts and who must be held to account in a manner consistent with their age and level of maturity. With this in mind, in April 2015 Switzerland launched an initiative to promote best practice in juvenile justice in the context of the fight against terrorism.
 
Children's rights and criminal justice specialists have met twice in recent months, and have submitted a set of draft recommendations to the conference in Neuchâtel. The recommendations focus in particular on the treatment of children in accordance with applicable provisions of international law and juvenile law standards. They aim to encourage states to establish a criminal justice system that is specifically designed for minors and is based on the obligations stipulated by the Convention on the Rights of the Child. The recommendations place particular emphasis on measures to prevent the radicalisation and recruitment of children and to promote rehabilitation and reintegration programmes. The goal is to give priority to educational measures that enable the children concerned to see a future for themselves in society.

Once they are examined and discussed in the Criminal Justice and the Rule of Law working group, the recommendations will be set out in a 'Neuchâtel memorandum on best practice in juvenile justice in the context of the fight against terrorism', which should be adopted at a GCTF ministerial meeting in September this year.

The conference in Neuchâtel is thus making a decisive contribution to addressing the question of young people and terrorism, and redoubles Switzerland's commitment to protecting human rights and preventing violent extremism.


Address for enquiries

FDFA Information
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Federal Department of Justice and Police
http://www.ejpd.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61592.html

Kampf gegen den Terrorismus: über 40 Staaten und internationale Organisationen treffen sich in Neuenburg zu einer Konferenz

Bern, 03.05.2016 - In Neuenburg findet am 3. und 4. Mai 2016 eine internationale Konferenz zur Terrorismusbekämpfung statt. Im Zentrum der Konferenz, die Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus über 40 Staaten, aus internationalen Organisationen und anderen Institutionen vereint, stehen strafrechtliche Aspekte im Kampf gegen den Terrorismus.

Das Treffen findet im Rahmen des Globalen Forums zur Bekämpfung des Terrorismus (Global Counterterrorism Forum, GCTF) statt. Die Schweiz gehört zu den Mitbegründern dieses 2011 ins Leben gerufenen Forums. Ihm gehören 29 Länder an, darunter auch die fünf ständigen Mitglieder des UNO-Sicherheitsrats. Zu den Kernaufgaben des GCTF zählen die Förderung des Austauschs unter Fachleuten und die Ausarbeitung von Standards im Bereich Terrorismusbekämpfung und Prävention des gewalttätigen Extremismus. Sie sollen die Aktivitäten der UNO auf diesem Gebiet unterstützen und ergänzen.

Im Rahmen der Arbeitsgruppe «Strafjustiz und Rechtsstaatlichkeit» des GCTF möchte die Schweiz darauf hinweisen, wie wichtig die Einhaltung der Rechte der Kinder und der internationalen Standards im Jugendstrafrecht im Kontext der Terrorismusbekämpfung sind. Ihr Interesse gilt den Minderjährigen, die terroristische Taten begangen haben und je nach Alter und Reife dafür zur Rechenschaft gezogen werden. Die von der Schweiz im April 2015 lancierte Initiative ist vor diesem Hintergrund zu sehen: Sie soll gute Praktiken der Jugendstrafjustiz im Kontext der Terrorismusbekämpfung fördern.

Spezialisten im Bereich der Kinderrechte und der Strafjustiz trafen sich in den letzten Monaten bereits zweimal, und ein Entwurf mit Empfehlungen konnte der Konferenz in Neuenburg unterbreitet werden. Diese Empfehlungen befassen sich insbesondere mit der Behandlung von Minderjährigen aufgrund der anwendbaren völkerrechtlichen Bestimmungen und der Normen des Jugendstrafrechts. Die Staaten sollen ein spezifisch für Minderjährige konzipiertes Strafrecht einführen, das sich an den Verpflichtungen der Internationalen Konvention über die Rechte des Kindes orientiert. Ein besonderes Augenmerk gilt dabei den Massnahmen zur Prävention der Radikalisierung und Rekrutierung von Kindern sowie der Förderung von Programmen zur Rehabilitation und Wiedereingliederung. Ziel ist es, Bildungsmassnahmen zu verstärken, um den betroffenen Kindern und Jugendlichen Zukunftsperspektiven in ihren Gesellschaften zu bieten.

Die Empfehlungen werden in der Arbeitsgruppe «Strafjustiz und Rechtsstaatlichkeit» analysiert und diskutiert und danach als «Neuenburger Memorandum über gute Praktiken der Jugendstrafjustiz im Kontext der Terrorismusbekämpfung» dem im September 2016 stattfindenden Ministertreffen des GCTF zur Verabschiedung unterbreitet.

Neuenburg leistet somit einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Frage der Jugendlichen im Kontext der Terrorismusbekämpfung und festigt das Engagement der Schweiz für den Schutz der Menschenrechte und die Prävention des gewalttätigen Extremismus.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE



Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

Eidgenössisches Justiz- und Polizeidepartement
http://www.ejpd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-61592.html