Federal Council approves the 2015 Foreign Policy Report

Bern, 13.01.2016 - The Federal Council approved the 2015 Foreign Policy Report at its meeting on 13 January 2016. The report provides an overview of Swiss foreign policy and gives an account of Switzerland's most important foreign policy activities in 2015. This year's report features a chapter on Switzerland's commitment to human rights and international humanitarian law.

The 2015 Foreign Policy Report outlines the implementation of the priorities of Swiss foreign policy defined in the Swiss Foreign Policy Strategy 2012-2015. In addition to Switzerland's commitment to human rights and international humanitarian law, the report also covers Switzerland's relations with its neighbours and the European Union, stability in Europe and around the world, strategic partnerships with non-European states, and matters relating to global governance.

2015 saw a build-up of crises and conflicts and amplification of their intensity and negative impact. The development of the international context and the twists and turns of current events, however, did not change the principles on which Swiss foreign policy is based. During the year under review, the rule of law, universality and neutrality, as well as solidarity and responsibility continued to provide the line of action that Switzerland adopted in its foreign policy.

Together with the search for viable solutions in its relations with the EU, Switzerland's commitment to peace and security therefore remains a priority of Swiss foreign policy. In this context, the 2015 foreign policy report shows how Switzerland was able to assert its interests to make useful contributions to international efforts to ensure stability and the capacity for multilateral action, as well as to build bridges in a partially polarised international environment.


Address for enquiries

FDFA Information
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60279.html

Der Bundesrat verabschiedet den Aussenpolitischen Bericht 2015

Bern, 13.01.2016 - An seiner Sitzung vom 13. Januar 2016 hat der Bundesrat den Aussenpolitischen Bericht 2015 verabschiedet. Der Bericht gibt einen Gesamtüberblick über die schweizerische Aussenpolitik und legt Rechenschaft ab über die wichtigsten aussenpolitischen Aktivitäten der Schweiz im Jahr 2015. Er umfasst dieses Jahr ein Schwerpunktkapitel zum schweizerischen Engagement für die Menschenrechte und das humanitäre Völkerrecht.

Der Aussenpolitische Bericht 2015 illustriert die Umsetzung der strategischen Schwerpunkte der Aussenpolitik, die in der Aussenpolitischen Strategie 2012–2015 definiert sind. Er befasst sich neben dem Schweizer Engagement für die Menschenrechte und das humanitäre Völkerrecht mit den Beziehungen der Schweiz zu ihren Nachbarstaaten sowie zur Europäischen Union, mit der Stabilität in Europa und weltweit, den strategischen Partnerschaften zu aussereuropäischen Staaten sowie mit Fragen der globalen Gouvernanz.

2015 stand für ein Jahr, in dem sich Krisen und Konflikte gehäuft und ihre Intensität und negativen Effekte zugenommen haben. Die Entwicklungen des internationalen Kontexts und das Tagesgeschehen haben jedoch keinen Einfluss auf die Grundsätze der Schweizer Aussenpolitik. Das aussenpolitische Engagement der Schweiz war auch im Berichtsjahr durch die Grundprinzipien der Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Universalität und Neutralität sowie von Solidarität und Verantwortung geprägt.

Zusammen mit der Suche nach tragfähigen Lösungen in den Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU stellte das Engagement für Frieden und Sicherheit deshalb eine Priorität der Schweizer Aussenpolitik dar. Der Aussenpolitische Bericht 2015 zeigt in diesem Zusammenhang auf, wie die Schweiz mit ihrer Aussenpolitik ihre Interessen geltend zu machen, nützliche Beiträge an die internationalen Bemühungen um Stabilität und multilaterale Handlungsfähigkeit zu leisten und im teilweise polarisierten internationalen Umfeld Brücken zu bauen vermochte.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60279.html