Enforcement initiative breaks with fundamental principles of democracy

Bern, 22.12.2015 - The popular initiative ‘on the enforcement of the expulsion of foreign criminals (the enforcement initiative)’ bypasses the legislator and restricts the powers of the courts. It therefore breaks with the principles of democracy and calls the constitutional state into question. Its provisions conflict with human rights and with the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) with the EU. If accepted, it would create further uncertainty over Switzerland’s bilateral relations with its most important trade partner. The Federal Council and Parliament therefore reject the enforcement initiative.

The Swiss people and cantons will vote on the enforcement initiative on 28 February 2016. The President of the Swiss Confederation, Simonetta Sommaruga, head of the Federal Department of Justice and Police, today outlined the Federal Council's position. The Federal Council and Parliament recommend rejecting the initiative.

The enforcement initiative disregards the proven procedures of democracy. The Federal Constitution states that it is Parliament's task to implement a popular initiative approved by the Swiss people and cantons through amendments to legislation. Following the adoption of the expulsion initiative at the end of 2010, Parliament has since fulfilled this duty and has tightened legislation. Instead of waiting for these laws and, if need be, calling for a referendum, the initiative's authors opted to launch a new popular initiative before Parliament could even begin its legislative work.

Law on the expulsion of foreign criminals already tightened

The enforcement initiative's authors are seeking to impose their interpretation of how the expulsion initiative should be implemented. By calling for even stricter rules on expulsion, the enforcement initiative goes beyond the former initiative. Parliament has already completed its work to implement the expulsion initiative. The legislation on the expulsion of foreign criminals has been toughened up, and provides for mandatory expulsion for serious offences and for crimes of violence and sexual violence.

The new laws, however, allow the courts to take account of hardship cases. This option allows the new provisions to comply more fully with the European Convention on Human Rights and the fundamental principles of our Federal Constitution.

Greater strain on EU relations

The enforcement initiative is not only contrary to the principle of the rule of law laid down in the Federal Constitution but also contravenes international human rights guarantees and the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons with the EU. Adoption of the initiative would create additional uncertainty in bilateral relations between Switzerland and the EU and place a strain on the ongoing negotiations on the implementation of the immigration article (Art. 121a Federal Constitution) adopted by the Swiss people and cantons on 9 February 2014. Such legal uncertainty, which could jeopardise the bilateral approach, would be damaging for Switzerland's economy and interests.


Address for enquiries

FDJP Information Service, T +41 58 462 18 18


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Justice and Police
http://www.ejpd.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60126.html

Durchsetzungsinitiative bricht mit Grundregeln der Demokratie

Bern, 22.12.2015 - Die Volksinitiative "Zur Durchsetzung der Ausschaffung krimineller Ausländer (Durchsetzungsinitiative)" umgeht den Gesetzgeber und schränkt die Gerichte ein. Damit bricht sie mit Grundregeln der Demokratie und stellt den Rechtsstaat in Frage. Zudem stehen die Bestimmungen in Konflikt mit den Menschenrechten und mit dem Abkommen über die Personenfreizügigkeit mit der EU – bei einer Annahme würde dies zu zusätzlichen Unsicherheiten in den bilateralen Beziehungen der Schweiz zu ihrem wichtigsten Handelspartner führen. Bundesrat und Parlament lehnen die Durchsetzungsinitiative deshalb ab.

Am 28. Februar 2016 stimmen Volk und Stände über die Durchsetzungsinitiative ab. Heute hat Bundespräsidentin Simonetta Sommaruga, Vorsteherin des Eidgenössischen Justiz- und Polizeidepartements, die Haltung des Bundesrates dargelegt. Bundesrat und Parlament empfehlen, die Initiative abzulehnen.

Die Durchsetzungsinitiative setzt sich über die bewährten Abläufe der Demokratie hinweg. Laut Bundesverfassung ist es Aufgabe des Parlaments, mit Gesetzesanpassungen eine von Volk und Ständen angenommene Volksinitiative umzusetzen. Nachdem die Ausschaffungsinitiative Ende 2010 angenommen worden war, hat das Parlament diesen Auftrag in der Zwischenzeit erfüllt und die Gesetze verschärft. Ohne diese Gesetze abzuwarten und ohne später das Referendum zu ergreifen, wählten die Initianten den Weg über eine neue Volksinitiative, noch bevor das Parlament mit den Gesetzgebungsarbeiten überhaupt beginnen konnte.

Gesetze zur Ausschaffung krimineller Ausländer bereits verschärft

Mit der Durchsetzungsinitiative wollen die Initianten ihre Vorstellung davon durchsetzen, wie die Ausschaffungsinitiative umzusetzen sei. Indem sie aber noch schärfere Regeln für die Landesverweisung vorsieht, geht die Durchsetzungsinitiative über die damalige Initiative hinaus. Das Parlament hat die Umsetzungsarbeiten nach der Ausschaffungsinitiative bereits abgeschlossen. Die Gesetze zur Ausschaffung krimineller Ausländerinnen und Ausländer wurden verschärft. Sie sind streng und sehen für schwere Taten, für Körperverletzung, Gewaltdelikte und sexuelle Gewalt eine obligatorische Landesverweisung vor.

Dabei ermöglichen es die neuen Gesetze, dass Gerichte Härtefälle berücksichtigen können. Dank dieser Möglichkeit lassen sich die neuen Regelungen besser mit der Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention und mit den grundlegenden Prinzipien unserer Bundesverfassung vereinbaren.

Beziehungen zur EU werden zusätzlich belastet

Die Durchsetzungsinitiative steht nicht nur im Widerspruch zu zentralen rechtsstaatlichen Errungenschaften in unserer Verfassung, sondern sie verletzt neben internationalen Menschenrechtsgarantien auch das Freizügigkeitsabkommen mit der EU. Eine Annahme der Initiative würde zu zusätzlichen Unsicherheiten in den bilateralen Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU führen und die laufenden Gespräche zur Umsetzung des am 9. Februar 2014 von Volk und Ständen angenommenen Zuwanderungsartikels (Art. 121a BV) belasten. Solche Rechtsunsicherheiten, die den bilateralen Weg in Frage stellen können, wären schädlich für die Wirtschaft und für die Interessen der Schweiz.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Informationsdienst EJPD, T +41 58 462 18 18


Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Justiz- und Polizeidepartement
http://www.ejpd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 15.09.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60126.html