Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland opens a criminal proceeding

Bern, 19.12.2015 - The Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland, with the support of the Federal Office of Police fedpol, has opened a criminal proceeding against a member of the Board of Directors of the Islamic Central Council of Switzerland (ICCS), as well as against persons unknown, on suspicion of violation of Article 2 of the Federal Law of the prohibition of groups like Al-Qaïda, Islamic State and similar organizations.

The German citizen is accused of having presented his journey to embattled regions of Syria in a video for propaganda purposes, without having explicitly distanced himself from Al-Qaïda activities in Syria. In particular, the accused party is accused of having interviewed a senior member of the jihad umbrella organisation Jaysh al-Fath ("Army of Conquest"), of which the Syrian Al-Qaïda branch Jabhat al-Nusra ("Support Front") is also a member.

The criminal proceeding of the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland was opened on 9 December 2015 on suspicion of violation of Article 2 of the Federal Law of the prohibition of groups like Al-Qaïda, Islamic State and similar organizations.

The opening of the criminal proceeding documents the rigorous prosecution brought against all persons in Switzerland who attempt to take part in jihad-motivated terrorism, or who support this by means of propaganda.

At the present time, the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland leads, with the support of fedpol, 46 criminal proceedings in conjunction with the topic of jihad-motivated terrorism. This relates primarily to the suspected propaganda support of terrorist organisations. On 16 October 2015 the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland also has filed charges  against four Iraqi nationals aged 29 to 34 with the Federal Criminal Court for participating in or supporting a criminal organisation within the meaning of Article 260ter Swiss Criminal Code. They are being accused of preparing a terrorist attack amongst other things. In 2014, on the basis of a charge brought by the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland with the Federal Criminal Court, two persons were also convicted of terms of imprisonment as well as to suspended terms on the grounds of having supported a criminal organisation as well as of having publicly incited violence (spreading propaganda for a terrorist network through the internet). 


Address for enquiries

André Marty, Head of Communications OAG, info@ba.admin.ch


Publisher

Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland
http://www.ba.admin.ch/

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60101.html

Bundesanwaltschaft eröffnet Strafverfahren

Bern, 19.12.2015 - Die Bundesanwaltschaft hat, unterstützt vom Bundesamt für Polizei fedpol, ein Strafverfahren eröffnet gegen ein Vorstandsmitglied des Islamischen Zentralrates der Schweiz (IZRS), sowie gegen unbekannt, wegen des Verstosses gegen das Bundesgesetz über das Verbot der Gruppierungen «Al-Qaïda» und «Islamischer Staat» sowie verwandter Organisationen.

Dem deutschen Staatsbürger wird vorgeworfen, seine Reise in umkämpfte Gebiete in Syrien in einem Video propagandistisch dargestellt zu haben, ohne sich explizit von den Al-Qaïda-Aktivitäten in Syrien zu distanzieren. Insbesondere wird dem Beschuldigten vorgeworfen, ein Führungsmitglied der dschihadistischen Dachorganisation Jaysh al-Fath („Armee der Eroberung“) interviewt zu haben, zu welcher auch der syrische Al-Qaïda-Ableger Jabhat al-Nusra („Hilfsfront“) gehört.

Das Strafverfahren der Bundesanwaltschaft wurde am 9. Dezember 2015 eröffnet wegen des Verdachts des Verstosses gegen Art. 2 des Bundesgesetzes über das Verbot der Gruppierungen «Al-Qaïda» und «Islamischer Staat» sowie verwandter Organisationen.

Die Eröffnung des Strafverfahrens dokumentiert die konsequente Strafverfolgung aller Personen in der Schweiz, die sich am dschihadistisch motivierten Terrorismus zu beteiligen versuchen, oder diesen mit Propagandamitteln unterstützen.

Zurzeit sind bei der Bundesanwaltschaft, unterstützt von fedpol, 46 Strafverfahren im Themenkomplex des dschihadistisch motivierten Terrorismus hängig. Es handelt sich dabei primär um den Verdacht der propagandistischen Unterstützung terroristischer Organisationen. Am 16. Oktober 2015 hatte die Bundesanwaltschaft zudem gegen vier irakische Staatsbürger im Alter von 29 bis 34 Jahren Anklage beim Bundesstrafgericht eingereicht wegen Beteiligung bzw. Unterstützung an einer kriminellen Organisation im Sinne von Art. 260ter StGB. Sie werden unter anderem beschuldigt, einen terroristischen Anschlag vorbereitet zu haben. Bereits 2014 wurden zwei Personen gestützt auf die Anklage der Bundesanwaltschaft vom Bundesstrafgericht wegen der Unterstützung einer kriminellen Organisation sowie öffentlichen Gewaltaufrufen zu unbedingten und bedingten Gefängnisstrafen verurteilt (Verbreitung von Propaganda für ein Terror-Netzwerk durch das Internet). 


Adresse für Rückfragen

André Marty, Informationschef Bundesanwaltschaft, info@ba.admin.ch


Herausgeber

Bundesanwaltschaft
http://www.ba.admin.ch/ba/de/home.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-60101.html