Election of Prof. Giorgio Malinverni to replace the current Swiss judge at the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg

Berne, 27.06.2006 - On 27 June 2006, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe in Strasbourg elected Professor Giorgio Malinverni as the Swiss judge at the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR). The judge was elected by the members of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, which includes the six members of the Swiss delegation.

The DFA congratulates Prof. Giorgio Malinverni on his election and wishes him much success in his work.

Prof. Giorgio Malinverni is one of the three candidates put forward by the Federal Council for the election of the judge to replace Prof. Luzius Wildhaber, who has been a judge at the ECHR since 1998 and is currently the president of the Court. Judge Wildhaber retires in January 2007.
 
Giorgio Malinverni, who was born in 1941, studied law in Fribourg and Geneva (doctorate), and since 1980 has been professor of constitutional law, international law and international human rights at the University of Geneva. Among other things, he is member of the European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission).

The European Human Rights Convention (EHRC) provides for a seat for every member of the Council of Europe in the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR). The ECHR monitors compliance with the EHRC by the 46 member States of the Council of Europe, and decides on complaints of violations of the EHRC. Since accession to the EHRC in 1974, some 3000 complaints against Switzerland  have been submitted. In 53 cases, at least one violation of the EHRC was established.

Information: Claude Altermatt, DFA, Political Affairs Division I, Head of the Section for the Council of Europe 031 322 35 38


Address for enquiries

Press and Information Service
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Berne
Tel.: (+41) 031 322 31 53
Fax: (+41) 031 324 90 47 / 48


Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-5849.html

Prof. Giorgio Malinverni wird zum Schweizer Richter beim Europäischen Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte in Strassburg gewählt.

Bern, 27.06.2006 - Die Parlamentarische Versammlung des Europarates in Strassburg wählte am 27. Juni Prof. Giorgio Malinverni zum Richter der Schweiz beim Europäischen Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte (EGMR). Die Wahl des Richters erfolgte durch die Abgeordneten der Parlamentarischen Versammlung des Europarates, wozu die sechs Mitglieder der Schweizer Delegation zählen.

Das EDA beglückwünscht Prof. Giorgio Malinverni zu dieser Wahl und wünscht ihm in seiner Tätigkeit viel Erfolg.

Prof. Giorgio Malinverni ist einer der drei vom Bundesrat vorgeschlagenen Kandidaten für die Ersatzwahl von Prof. Luzius Wildhaber, seit 1998 Richter beim EGMR und gegenwärtiger Gerichtspräsident. Präsident Wildhaber wird aus Altersgründen im Januar 2007 aus seinem Amt ausscheiden.

1941 geboren, studierte Giorgio Malinverni Rechtswissenschaften in Freiburg und in Genf (Dr.) und ist seit 1980 Professor für Verfassungsrecht, Internationales Rechte sowie internationale Menschenrechte an der Universität Genf. Er ist unter anderem auch Mitglied der Europäischen Kommission für Demokratie durch Recht (Venedig-Kommission).

Die Europäische Menschenrechtskonvention (EMRK) räumt jedem Europaratsmitglied einen Sitz im EGMR ein. Der Europäische Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte überwacht die Einhaltung der EMRK durch die 46 Mitgliedstaaten und entscheidet über Beschwerden wegen Verletzungen der EMRK. Seit ihrem Beitritt im Jahre 1974 zur EMRK sind beim Gerichtshof gegen 3000 Beschwerden gegen die Schweiz eingereicht worden, in 53 Fällen wurde mindestens eine Verletzung festgestellt.

Auskunft: Claude Altermatt, EDA, Politische Abteilung I, Sektionschef Europarat, Tel. 031 322 35 38


Adresse für Rückfragen

Presse- und Informationsdienst
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: (+41) 031 322 31 53
Fax: (+41) 031 324 90 47 / 48


Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-5849.html